Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2968278 - 01/10/19 08:37 PM Roland AX Edge and Synth for Newbies
MrMoo Offline

Hey folks,

I'm pretty new to synth and keyboarding in general. I've been playing keyboard for a while, but, I want to get in to some sound manipulation and playing some of my favorite synthwave stuff. It's... Deep. Getting in to the programming for my new AX Edge, I'm pretty overwhelmed by options, and I'm having trouble finding some good learning resources.

Can anyone recommend a good source of information or tutorials for new players? Alternately, does anyone have an AX Edge that could answer some questions?

Thanks in advance!

KC Island
#2968288 - 01/10/19 11:00 PM Re: Roland AX Edge and Synth for Newbies [Re: MrMoo]
timwat Offline
Quite wealthy...spiritually
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Concord,CA,UNITED STATES
Hey MrMoo,

Welcome to the forum! I hope you enjoy your time here - there are lots of helpful members here.

I don't own an AX Edge, but own an AX Synth (the earlier version).

Roland has released a free editor app which allows easier, more user-friendly edit of patches, librarian functions and such. If you haven't yet taken a look, you might benefit from taking a look at the series of Roland instructional videos on YouTube which appear to start with THIS VIDEO.

#2968359 - 01/11/19 11:00 AM Re: Roland AX Edge and Synth for Newbies [Re: timwat]
MrMoo Offline

Hey there! Thanks for the info!

I've actually been playing around with the editor app, and I'm slowly working my way through it. It's a little clunky and doesn't always work 100%, but, it's definitely a good intro. I've worked my way through the videos that Roland provided, and I'm actually able to edit and load up custom patches now. I think my issue now is actually creating sounds for the patches.