Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2966496 - 01/03/19 07:42 AM Gigging with an all-Yamaha rig?
MorayM Offline
Platinum Member

Loc: Wilts, UK
I've got a very cool gig coming up at the end of the month, doing a little showcase with That Joe Payne at Yamaha UK. The twist is that we turn up and play the gig just using Yamaha equipment they have in stock. I think they're going for a similar to Anderton's Sound Like series?

There's one downside to this: I've never used any Yamaha keys before (I have two FC-4 pedals though that are 10 years old and lovely though) and I'll have minimal time to program anything.

So, Yamaha-heads, what should I be making a beeline for? The majority of the music is orchestral so I need lots of really nice strings, preferably ones I can shape easily. On my PC3 I have the sliders mapped to different elements and techniques so I can fade in, say, doubling everything up the octave, or switching the left hand to pizzicato while keeping the right arco. There's also a bit of synth on the records, which in the studio was FM8 so Yammy gear should be perfect for this.

The way I see it is either the Montage or MODX would be the best replacement for my PC3, and I like the idea of having a Reface or two for synth sounds. The Genos looks really awesome for this but it also looks utterly terrifying!

KC Island
#2966504 - 01/03/19 08:23 AM Re: Gigging with an all-Yamaha rig? [Re: MorayM]
Aidan Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Stoke-on-Trent, UK
Moray, most of the things you are mentioning on the Kurz are sort of do-able with the Montage/MODX but to get the sort of precise control you are talking about is only possible with quite a bit of pre-programming time, which you probably won't have the luxury of.