Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#2961903 - 12/08/18 01:52 PM IOS multitimbral synth app?
kenheeter Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/02/11
Posts: 253
So, I'm kinda dumb at this stuff. I have an iPad Air and a Focusrite iTrack dock. I'd like to find an app that will allow for various sounds simultaneously in splits and layers, using a dumb controller. Is there something out there that will do it or do I need more than one app? I currently have Korg Module and Ravenscroft 275. Be kind, I'm an old guy........

Top
KC Island
#2961914 - 12/08/18 02:55 PM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: kenheeter]
AnotherScott Offline
10k Club

Registered: 10/19/09
Posts: 13397
I believe these are multi-timbral...
Sampletank
iM1
BS-16i
Roland Sound Canvas
Korg Gadget
Thumbjam
Beathawk

...though that doesn't necessarily mean you can create splits and layers in them to trigger from a dumb controller. I think some do and some don't. If they don't, you can probably add that functionality by using the app in conjunction with another app like iMidiPatchbay or KeyStage.
_________________________
Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!

Top
#2961996 - 12/09/18 07:50 AM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: kenheeter]
drawback Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/11/04
Posts: 3797
Loc: Victoria BC, Canada
Hey Ken, Iím just getting into Audiobus 3 which may be what youíre looking for. Itís basically a mixer for separate apps but is very intelligent and well-designed, and although I havenít gone this far yet, has add-ones that will allow for programming splits. I can attest to prompt support and an easy online manual accessed thru the app.

Rod
_________________________
1977 Kawai KG-2C | SL88 Studio | Mojo61 A/B | iOS ~ AUM | MacOS ~ MainStage | iConnectAudio4+ | Korg PlugKey |

Top
#2961998 - 12/09/18 08:08 AM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: drawback]
kenheeter Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/02/11
Posts: 253
Thanks for the quick feedback guys, I'll explore all of these options.

Top
#2962004 - 12/09/18 09:12 AM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: kenheeter]
Randelph Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 06/30/09
Posts: 622
Loc: San Francisco, CA
Adding to that list:
- Syntronik, great synthesizer app with 4 parts
- Galileo 2 (bi-timbral), exclnt organ app, very tweakable, good for learning the many parameters of organ
- Sampletank, a huge collection of sampled instruments, gives you 8 parts

+1 on Audio Bus 3

The challenge for me, as Iím also pretty new to controlling ipad apps, is getting my controller to independently control the volumes of all these different parts FROM MY KEYBOARD, not just from the ipad screen. And, its very fun to have controllers on your keyboard to play with the cutoff filter, pitch bend, etc.

Randy
_________________________
NS 88 Classic / iRig Keys I/O 49 / iPad Syntronik, Galileo, Neo Soul Keys
Win10 laptop i7 8GB 500GB
Yamaha melodica, alto recorder / Congas
Roland Street Cube EX / QSC K10, K8.2 / SS V.3



Top
#2962009 - 12/09/18 11:28 AM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: Randelph]
Sam CA Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/05/18
Posts: 248
Loc: Los Angeles
Korg Module is a good one as well.
_________________________
www.youtube.com/c/InTheMixReviews

Top
#2962022 - 12/09/18 02:02 PM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: Sam CA]
kenheeter Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/02/11
Posts: 253
Module isn't multitimbral, is it?

Top
#2962028 - 12/09/18 02:26 PM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: drawback]
AnotherScott Offline
10k Club

Registered: 10/19/09
Posts: 13397
Originally Posted By: drawback
Hey Ken, Iím just getting into Audiobus 3 which may be what youíre looking for. Itís basically a mixer for separate apps

I think Audiobus is primarily about routing between apps (though it also has mixing functions), while it is AUM that is primarily (as you put it) a mixer for separate apps (though it also has routing functions). Though I am no expert in this either.

My understanding is that, in general, you would probably look at Audiobus first if your goal was to use the iPad for DAW functions (i.e. the output of your various apps is ultimately directed to a DAW app), whereas you would look at AUM first if your goal was to use the iPad for live performance (i.e. the output of your various apps is ultimately directed to the iPad's audio output). This isn't a hard and fast rule, there is overlap between Audiobus and AUM and also ways they can work together... there are situations where either could work, and your choice could also vary with exactly which other apps you're using and how you're trying to combine them.

But getting back to the OP, if the goal is basically turn the iPad into a multitimbral sound module, in order of complexity, I think these are the approaches:

1. use a single app that can simultaneously generate different sounds on different MIDI channels

2. use multiple apps, each listening on its own channel (or combination of channels)

3. to either of the above, add something like iMidiPatchbay or KeyStage (maybe the forthcoming Camelot Pro?) if needed for more control over the sounds being generated on the different channels (split points, relative volumes, patch changes... more likely needed in scenario 2 than scenario 1, and especially if your controller keyboard lacks multi-zone volume controls and/or multi-zone sending of MIDI Program Changes)

4. and if you need more (and especially if you need to route from one app to another), you can look at AUM, AudioBus 3, and ApeMatrix. I'd be curious myself if anyone could really speak to the differences among those three specifically from the perspective of live performance.
_________________________
Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!

Top
#2962032 - 12/09/18 03:30 PM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: kenheeter]
AnotherScott Offline
10k Club

Registered: 10/19/09
Posts: 13397
Originally Posted By: kenheeter
Module isn't multitimbral, is it?

No... but if you have it, you can load its sounds into Gadget, which is.

There are some shortcomings, though. For one, the Triton and Mellow IAPs load into a Gadget called Glasgow. There are over 200 sounds in there, with no good way to navigate them, you just have to keep scrolling through the little hard-to-read 4-item window. There's no full screen, full text size pop-up menu, or any other method of seeing more than 4 of the 200+ at a time. Unless I missed something?

I wish the individual gadgets' presets could be recalled va MIDI Program Change on whichever channel you've assigned them to. Module is obviously better designed for live performance, but unlike Gadget, you're limited to one sound at a time. Neither gives you a multi-timbral setup optimized for live performance. It looked to me like Gadget can work if you're going to assign 16 sounds to the 16 channels, and just leave them that way (mixing and matching via the MIDI capabilities of your controller, or possibly with something like iMidiPatchbay as I mentioned), and that could be sufficient in some cases, but there's basically no way to easily access more than 16 of its sounds for the gig. Module gives you access to a much wider range of sounds, but only one a a time. Pick your poison...
_________________________
Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!

Top
#2962035 - 12/09/18 03:55 PM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: AnotherScott]
drawback Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/11/04
Posts: 3797
Loc: Victoria BC, Canada
Originally Posted By: AnotherScott
if you need more (and especially if you need to route from one app to another), you can look at AUM, AudioBus 3, and ApeMatrix. I'd be curious myself if anyone could really speak to the differences among those three specifically from the perspective of live performance.


As would I, being late to this party. Thanks, Scott.
_________________________
1977 Kawai KG-2C | SL88 Studio | Mojo61 A/B | iOS ~ AUM | MacOS ~ MainStage | iConnectAudio4+ | Korg PlugKey |

Top
#2962050 - 12/09/18 05:47 PM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: drawback]
kenheeter Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/02/11
Posts: 253
So, I have Ivory piano for Module. Can I access it through Gadget? Would I be able to use something like Audiobus in conjunction with Gadget to set up splits and layers?

Top
#2962128 - 12/10/18 07:50 AM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: kenheeter]
drawback Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/11/04
Posts: 3797
Loc: Victoria BC, Canada
Originally Posted By: kenheeter
So, I have Ivory piano for Module. Can I access it through Gadget? Would I be able to use something like Audiobus in conjunction with Gadget to set up splits and layers?


A bit of research turned up a homemade tutorial on accessibility of Moduleís sounds in Gadget. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=355s7a-KtfI and Iím assuming you ought to be able to do shitsínígiggles in Gadget as well.

Can anyone chime in here?

With Audiobus you need a small companion app called Midispltter - although I havenít gone there yet.
_________________________
1977 Kawai KG-2C | SL88 Studio | Mojo61 A/B | iOS ~ AUM | MacOS ~ MainStage | iConnectAudio4+ | Korg PlugKey |

Top
#2962160 - 12/10/18 11:08 AM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: drawback]
kenheeter Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/02/11
Posts: 253
OK, is it possible to set up a multitimbral, multi zone setup with Gadget? I'm not looking to record, just play live with a dumb controller.

Top
#2962175 - 12/10/18 12:41 PM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: kenheeter]
Sam CA Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/05/18
Posts: 248
Loc: Los Angeles
I'm not familiar with Gadget, but I always thought that's how people use various configurations for Korg Module instruments.

According to the video Drawback posted, it's possible to load different instruments on different tracks and then use a midi controller to trigger them over different channels. In that case, you should be able to create zones on your midi controller, set a different channel to each zone and go from there.
_________________________
www.youtube.com/c/InTheMixReviews

Top
#2962192 - 12/10/18 01:44 PM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: Sam CA]
kenheeter Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/02/11
Posts: 253
Except my controller is dumb so I need to set up zones on the app itself.

Top
#2962678 - 12/13/18 06:54 AM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: kenheeter]
drawback Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/11/04
Posts: 3797
Loc: Victoria BC, Canada
Is Camelot iOS closer to what youíre looking for?
_________________________
1977 Kawai KG-2C | SL88 Studio | Mojo61 A/B | iOS ~ AUM | MacOS ~ MainStage | iConnectAudio4+ | Korg PlugKey |

Top
#2962682 - 12/13/18 07:42 AM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: drawback]
kenheeter Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/02/11
Posts: 253
Wow! Camelot Pro looks really good. Is anyone using it yet? I'd love to hear about it.

Top
#2962683 - 12/13/18 07:45 AM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: drawback]
kenheeter Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/02/11
Posts: 253
Wow! Camelot Pro looks really good. Is anyone using it yet? I'd love to hear about it.

Top
#2962716 - 12/13/18 11:02 AM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: kenheeter]
Sven Golly Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
10k Club

Registered: 11/12/03
Posts: 12855
Loc: Toronto, ON
Originally Posted By: kenheeter
Except my controller is dumb so I need to set up zones on the app itself.


Audiobus 3 or MIDIFlow. Either will do what you want, and give you FAR more flexibility than using a single app.

Edited to include Camelot Pro in that list, although I haven't used it yet, so no idea how mature/stable it is. The pedigree is definitely there, given the fact that AudioModelling.com is involved along with Roli, so I expect great things. twothumbs


Edited by Sven Golly (12/13/18 05:13 PM)
_________________________
"Do you see over yonder, friend Sancho, thirty or forty hulking giants? I intend to do battle with them and slay them."

Top
#2962778 - 12/13/18 06:17 PM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: Sven Golly]
AnotherScott Offline
10k Club

Registered: 10/19/09
Posts: 13397
Originally Posted By: kenheeter
OK, is it possible to set up a multitimbral, multi zone setup with Gadget?

Multitmbral, yes. but (AFAIK) no zoning. But you should be able to add zoning with iMidiPatchbay or KeyStage (since you also don't have that ability in your controller).

Originally Posted By: drawback
Is Camelot iOS closer to what youíre looking for?
Originally Posted By: kenheeter
Wow! Camelot Pro looks really good. Is anyone using it yet? I'd love to hear about it.

It looks like it could do what you want IF you choose iOS sound apps that function as Audio Unit v3 plugins. I believe Module/Gadget do not.

Originally Posted By: Sven Golly
Audiobus 3 or MIDIFlow. Either will do what you want, and give you FAR more flexibility than using a single app.

I think Audiobus 3 requires compatible apps as well, so again, I think that lets out using Module/Gadget as sound sources under its control. But MIDIflow should work for those, if need be.
_________________________
Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!

Top
#2962803 - 12/13/18 11:10 PM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: AnotherScott]
Sven Golly Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
10k Club

Registered: 11/12/03
Posts: 12855
Loc: Toronto, ON
Originally Posted By: AnotherScott

Originally Posted By: Sven Golly
Audiobus 3 or MIDIFlow. Either will do what you want, and give you FAR more flexibility than using a single app.

I think Audiobus 3 requires compatible apps as well, so again, I think that lets out using Module/Gadget as sound sources under its control. But MIDIflow should work for those, if need be.


I'll just leave this here...


AudioBus 3 with Korg Gadget, Korg Module, and NeoSoul Keys by Sven Golly, on Flickr
_________________________
"Do you see over yonder, friend Sancho, thirty or forty hulking giants? I intend to do battle with them and slay them."

Top
#2962914 - 12/14/18 11:30 AM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: Sven Golly]
kenheeter Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/02/11
Posts: 253
Just loaded Audiobus, it's talking to Ravenscroft and Module - cool. How do I zone things?

Top
#2962916 - 12/14/18 11:54 AM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: kenheeter]
AnotherScott Offline
10k Club

Registered: 10/19/09
Posts: 13397
Originally Posted By: Sven Golly
I'll just leave this here...
Originally Posted By: kenheeter
Just loaded Audiobus, it's talking to Ravenscroft and Module

Good to know Module/Gadget are Audiobus compatible. I guess the complaints I saw about the Korg stuff not being compatible with another environment was about AUv3. You still need Gadget if you want to play more than one Module sound at a time, right?
_________________________
Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!

Top
#2962947 - 12/14/18 01:48 PM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: kenheeter]
Sven Golly Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
10k Club

Registered: 11/12/03
Posts: 12855
Loc: Toronto, ON
Originally Posted By: kenheeter
Just loaded Audiobus, it's talking to Ravenscroft and Module - cool. How do I zone things?


Clonk here for Audiobus Website.

Lots of great support here.
_________________________
"Do you see over yonder, friend Sancho, thirty or forty hulking giants? I intend to do battle with them and slay them."

Top
#2962972 - 12/14/18 03:13 PM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: Sven Golly]
drawback Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/11/04
Posts: 3797
Loc: Victoria BC, Canada
Originally Posted By: Sven Golly
Originally Posted By: kenheeter
Just loaded Audiobus, it's talking to Ravenscroft and Module - cool. How do I zone things?


Clonk here for Audiobus Website.

Lots of great support here.


... and the user manual is accessed thru the app thu
_________________________
1977 Kawai KG-2C | SL88 Studio | Mojo61 A/B | iOS ~ AUM | MacOS ~ MainStage | iConnectAudio4+ | Korg PlugKey |

Top
#2962991 - 12/14/18 04:59 PM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: drawback]
Sven Golly Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
10k Club

Registered: 11/12/03
Posts: 12855
Loc: Toronto, ON
Originally Posted By: drawback
Originally Posted By: Sven Golly
Originally Posted By: kenheeter
Just loaded Audiobus, it's talking to Ravenscroft and Module - cool. How do I zone things?


Clonk here for Audiobus Website.

Lots of great support here.


... and the user manual is accessed thru the app thu



Right? snax wink
_________________________
"Do you see over yonder, friend Sancho, thirty or forty hulking giants? I intend to do battle with them and slay them."

Top
#2962996 - 12/14/18 06:00 PM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: Sven Golly]
drawback Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/11/04
Posts: 3797
Loc: Victoria BC, Canada
There is a support function on the web page but thereís no manual I could see. Just faq and forum. Click within the app for the user manual.

Unless itís time to change my contact lenses.
_________________________
1977 Kawai KG-2C | SL88 Studio | Mojo61 A/B | iOS ~ AUM | MacOS ~ MainStage | iConnectAudio4+ | Korg PlugKey |

Top
#2963065 - 12/15/18 08:51 AM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: drawback]
kenheeter Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/02/11
Posts: 253
So, I purchased midiflow as well and still can't seem to set up splits. I wish there was a step by step method available.

Top
#2963068 - 12/15/18 09:10 AM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: kenheeter]
drawback Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/11/04
Posts: 3797
Loc: Victoria BC, Canada
Ken, did you get into the manual? Scroll down to the MIDI section... unless it doesnít work as advertised. Again, I havenít done this myself yet.
_________________________
1977 Kawai KG-2C | SL88 Studio | Mojo61 A/B | iOS ~ AUM | MacOS ~ MainStage | iConnectAudio4+ | Korg PlugKey |

Top
#2963081 - 12/15/18 10:24 AM Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: drawback]
kenheeter Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/02/11
Posts: 253
I can only get full layers of two sounds, no splits. I'm sure it's me.

Top
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >


Moderator:  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner