Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 1 of 2 1 2
IOS multitimbral synth app? #2961903
12/08/18 06:52 PM
12/08/18 06:52 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 267
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
K
kenheeter Offline OP
Senior Member
kenheeter  Offline OP
Senior Member
K

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 267
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
So, I'm kinda dumb at this stuff. I have an iPad Air and a Focusrite iTrack dock. I'd like to find an app that will allow for various sounds simultaneously in splits and layers, using a dumb controller. Is there something out there that will do it or do I need more than one app? I currently have Korg Module and Ravenscroft 275. Be kind, I'm an old guy........

KC Island
Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: kenheeter] #2961914
12/08/18 07:55 PM
12/08/18 07:55 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,699
AnotherScott Online content
10k Club
AnotherScott  Online Content
10k Club

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,699
I believe these are multi-timbral...
Sampletank
iM1
BS-16i
Roland Sound Canvas
Korg Gadget
Thumbjam
Beathawk

...though that doesn't necessarily mean you can create splits and layers in them to trigger from a dumb controller. I think some do and some don't. If they don't, you can probably add that functionality by using the app in conjunction with another app like iMidiPatchbay or KeyStage.


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: kenheeter] #2961996
12/09/18 12:50 PM
12/09/18 12:50 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 3,921
Victoria, BC
drawback Online happy
MP Hall of Fame Member
drawback  Online Happy
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 3,921
Victoria, BC
Hey Ken, Iím just getting into Audiobus 3 which may be what youíre looking for. Itís basically a mixer for separate apps but is very intelligent and well-designed, and although I havenít gone this far yet, has add-ones that will allow for programming splits. I can attest to prompt support and an easy online manual accessed thru the app.

Rod


1977 Kawai KG-2C | SL88 Studio | Mojo61 A/B | iOS ~ AUM | MacOS ~ MainStage | iConnectAudio4+ | Korg PlugKey |
Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: drawback] #2961998
12/09/18 01:08 PM
12/09/18 01:08 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 267
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
K
kenheeter Offline OP
Senior Member
kenheeter  Offline OP
Senior Member
K

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 267
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Thanks for the quick feedback guys, I'll explore all of these options.

Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: kenheeter] #2962004
12/09/18 02:12 PM
12/09/18 02:12 PM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 760
San Francisco, CA
Randelph Offline
Gold Member
Randelph  Offline
Gold Member

Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 760
San Francisco, CA
Adding to that list:
- Syntronik, great synthesizer app with 4 parts
- Galileo 2 (bi-timbral), exclnt organ app, very tweakable, good for learning the many parameters of organ
- Sampletank, a huge collection of sampled instruments, gives you 8 parts

+1 on Audio Bus 3

The challenge for me, as Iím also pretty new to controlling ipad apps, is getting my controller to independently control the volumes of all these different parts FROM MY KEYBOARD, not just from the ipad screen. And, its very fun to have controllers on your keyboard to play with the cutoff filter, pitch bend, etc.

Randy


NS 88 Classic / iRig Keys I/O 49 / iPad Syntronik, Galileo, Neo Soul Keys
Win10 laptop i7 8GB 500GB
Yamaha melodica, alto recorder / Congas
Roland Street Cube EX / QSC K10, K8.2 / SS V.3
Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: Randelph] #2962009
12/09/18 04:28 PM
12/09/18 04:28 PM
Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 321
Los Angeles
S
Sam CA Offline
Senior Member
Sam CA  Offline
Senior Member
S

Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 321
Los Angeles
Korg Module is a good one as well.

Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: Sam CA] #2962022
12/09/18 07:02 PM
12/09/18 07:02 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 267
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
K
kenheeter Offline OP
Senior Member
kenheeter  Offline OP
Senior Member
K

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 267
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Module isn't multitimbral, is it?

Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: drawback] #2962028
12/09/18 07:26 PM
12/09/18 07:26 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,699
AnotherScott Online content
10k Club
AnotherScott  Online Content
10k Club

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,699
Originally Posted By: drawback
Hey Ken, Iím just getting into Audiobus 3 which may be what youíre looking for. Itís basically a mixer for separate apps

I think Audiobus is primarily about routing between apps (though it also has mixing functions), while it is AUM that is primarily (as you put it) a mixer for separate apps (though it also has routing functions). Though I am no expert in this either.

My understanding is that, in general, you would probably look at Audiobus first if your goal was to use the iPad for DAW functions (i.e. the output of your various apps is ultimately directed to a DAW app), whereas you would look at AUM first if your goal was to use the iPad for live performance (i.e. the output of your various apps is ultimately directed to the iPad's audio output). This isn't a hard and fast rule, there is overlap between Audiobus and AUM and also ways they can work together... there are situations where either could work, and your choice could also vary with exactly which other apps you're using and how you're trying to combine them.

But getting back to the OP, if the goal is basically turn the iPad into a multitimbral sound module, in order of complexity, I think these are the approaches:

1. use a single app that can simultaneously generate different sounds on different MIDI channels

2. use multiple apps, each listening on its own channel (or combination of channels)

3. to either of the above, add something like iMidiPatchbay or KeyStage (maybe the forthcoming Camelot Pro?) if needed for more control over the sounds being generated on the different channels (split points, relative volumes, patch changes... more likely needed in scenario 2 than scenario 1, and especially if your controller keyboard lacks multi-zone volume controls and/or multi-zone sending of MIDI Program Changes)

4. and if you need more (and especially if you need to route from one app to another), you can look at AUM, AudioBus 3, and ApeMatrix. I'd be curious myself if anyone could really speak to the differences among those three specifically from the perspective of live performance.


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: kenheeter] #2962032
12/09/18 08:30 PM
12/09/18 08:30 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,699
AnotherScott Online content
10k Club
AnotherScott  Online Content
10k Club

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,699
Originally Posted By: kenheeter
Module isn't multitimbral, is it?

No... but if you have it, you can load its sounds into Gadget, which is.

There are some shortcomings, though. For one, the Triton and Mellow IAPs load into a Gadget called Glasgow. There are over 200 sounds in there, with no good way to navigate them, you just have to keep scrolling through the little hard-to-read 4-item window. There's no full screen, full text size pop-up menu, or any other method of seeing more than 4 of the 200+ at a time. Unless I missed something?

I wish the individual gadgets' presets could be recalled va MIDI Program Change on whichever channel you've assigned them to. Module is obviously better designed for live performance, but unlike Gadget, you're limited to one sound at a time. Neither gives you a multi-timbral setup optimized for live performance. It looked to me like Gadget can work if you're going to assign 16 sounds to the 16 channels, and just leave them that way (mixing and matching via the MIDI capabilities of your controller, or possibly with something like iMidiPatchbay as I mentioned), and that could be sufficient in some cases, but there's basically no way to easily access more than 16 of its sounds for the gig. Module gives you access to a much wider range of sounds, but only one a a time. Pick your poison...


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: AnotherScott] #2962035
12/09/18 08:55 PM
12/09/18 08:55 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 3,921
Victoria, BC
drawback Online happy
MP Hall of Fame Member
drawback  Online Happy
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 3,921
Victoria, BC
Originally Posted By: AnotherScott
if you need more (and especially if you need to route from one app to another), you can look at AUM, AudioBus 3, and ApeMatrix. I'd be curious myself if anyone could really speak to the differences among those three specifically from the perspective of live performance.


As would I, being late to this party. Thanks, Scott.


1977 Kawai KG-2C | SL88 Studio | Mojo61 A/B | iOS ~ AUM | MacOS ~ MainStage | iConnectAudio4+ | Korg PlugKey |
Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: drawback] #2962050
12/09/18 10:47 PM
12/09/18 10:47 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 267
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
K
kenheeter Offline OP
Senior Member
kenheeter  Offline OP
Senior Member
K

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 267
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
So, I have Ivory piano for Module. Can I access it through Gadget? Would I be able to use something like Audiobus in conjunction with Gadget to set up splits and layers?

Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: kenheeter] #2962128
12/10/18 12:50 PM
12/10/18 12:50 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 3,921
Victoria, BC
drawback Online happy
MP Hall of Fame Member
drawback  Online Happy
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 3,921
Victoria, BC
Originally Posted By: kenheeter
So, I have Ivory piano for Module. Can I access it through Gadget? Would I be able to use something like Audiobus in conjunction with Gadget to set up splits and layers?


A bit of research turned up a homemade tutorial on accessibility of Moduleís sounds in Gadget. https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=355s7a-KtfI and Iím assuming you ought to be able to do shitsínígiggles in Gadget as well.

Can anyone chime in here?

With Audiobus you need a small companion app called Midispltter - although I havenít gone there yet.


1977 Kawai KG-2C | SL88 Studio | Mojo61 A/B | iOS ~ AUM | MacOS ~ MainStage | iConnectAudio4+ | Korg PlugKey |
Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: drawback] #2962160
12/10/18 04:08 PM
12/10/18 04:08 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 267
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
K
kenheeter Offline OP
Senior Member
kenheeter  Offline OP
Senior Member
K

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 267
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
OK, is it possible to set up a multitimbral, multi zone setup with Gadget? I'm not looking to record, just play live with a dumb controller.

Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: kenheeter] #2962175
12/10/18 05:41 PM
12/10/18 05:41 PM
Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 321
Los Angeles
S
Sam CA Offline
Senior Member
Sam CA  Offline
Senior Member
S

Joined: Dec 2018
Posts: 321
Los Angeles
I'm not familiar with Gadget, but I always thought that's how people use various configurations for Korg Module instruments.

According to the video Drawback posted, it's possible to load different instruments on different tracks and then use a midi controller to trigger them over different channels. In that case, you should be able to create zones on your midi controller, set a different channel to each zone and go from there.

Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: Sam CA] #2962192
12/10/18 06:44 PM
12/10/18 06:44 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 267
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
K
kenheeter Offline OP
Senior Member
kenheeter  Offline OP
Senior Member
K

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 267
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Except my controller is dumb so I need to set up zones on the app itself.

Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: kenheeter] #2962678
12/13/18 11:54 AM
12/13/18 11:54 AM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 3,921
Victoria, BC
drawback Online happy
MP Hall of Fame Member
drawback  Online Happy
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 3,921
Victoria, BC
Is Camelot iOS closer to what youíre looking for?


1977 Kawai KG-2C | SL88 Studio | Mojo61 A/B | iOS ~ AUM | MacOS ~ MainStage | iConnectAudio4+ | Korg PlugKey |
Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: drawback] #2962682
12/13/18 12:42 PM
12/13/18 12:42 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 267
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
K
kenheeter Offline OP
Senior Member
kenheeter  Offline OP
Senior Member
K

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 267
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Wow! Camelot Pro looks really good. Is anyone using it yet? I'd love to hear about it.

Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: drawback] #2962683
12/13/18 12:45 PM
12/13/18 12:45 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 267
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
K
kenheeter Offline OP
Senior Member
kenheeter  Offline OP
Senior Member
K

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 267
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Wow! Camelot Pro looks really good. Is anyone using it yet? I'd love to hear about it.

Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: kenheeter] #2962716
12/13/18 04:02 PM
12/13/18 04:02 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 12,918
Toronto, ON
Sven Golly Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
Sven Golly  Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
10k Club

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 12,918
Toronto, ON
Originally Posted By: kenheeter
Except my controller is dumb so I need to set up zones on the app itself.


Audiobus 3 or MIDIFlow. Either will do what you want, and give you FAR more flexibility than using a single app.

Edited to include Camelot Pro in that list, although I haven't used it yet, so no idea how mature/stable it is. The pedigree is definitely there, given the fact that AudioModelling.com is involved along with Roli, so I expect great things. twothumbs

Last edited by Sven Golly; 12/13/18 10:13 PM.

"Do you see over yonder, friend Sancho, thirty or forty hulking giants? I intend to do battle with them and slay them."
Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: Sven Golly] #2962778
12/13/18 11:17 PM
12/13/18 11:17 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,699
AnotherScott Online content
10k Club
AnotherScott  Online Content
10k Club

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,699
Originally Posted By: kenheeter
OK, is it possible to set up a multitimbral, multi zone setup with Gadget?

Multitmbral, yes. but (AFAIK) no zoning. But you should be able to add zoning with iMidiPatchbay or KeyStage (since you also don't have that ability in your controller).

Originally Posted By: drawback
Is Camelot iOS closer to what youíre looking for?
Originally Posted By: kenheeter
Wow! Camelot Pro looks really good. Is anyone using it yet? I'd love to hear about it.

It looks like it could do what you want IF you choose iOS sound apps that function as Audio Unit v3 plugins. I believe Module/Gadget do not.

Originally Posted By: Sven Golly
Audiobus 3 or MIDIFlow. Either will do what you want, and give you FAR more flexibility than using a single app.

I think Audiobus 3 requires compatible apps as well, so again, I think that lets out using Module/Gadget as sound sources under its control. But MIDIflow should work for those, if need be.


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: AnotherScott] #2962803
12/14/18 04:10 AM
12/14/18 04:10 AM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 12,918
Toronto, ON
Sven Golly Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
Sven Golly  Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
10k Club

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 12,918
Toronto, ON
Originally Posted By: AnotherScott

Originally Posted By: Sven Golly
Audiobus 3 or MIDIFlow. Either will do what you want, and give you FAR more flexibility than using a single app.

I think Audiobus 3 requires compatible apps as well, so again, I think that lets out using Module/Gadget as sound sources under its control. But MIDIflow should work for those, if need be.


I'll just leave this here...


AudioBus 3 with Korg Gadget, Korg Module, and NeoSoul Keys by Sven Golly, on Flickr


"Do you see over yonder, friend Sancho, thirty or forty hulking giants? I intend to do battle with them and slay them."
Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: Sven Golly] #2962914
12/14/18 04:30 PM
12/14/18 04:30 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 267
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
K
kenheeter Offline OP
Senior Member
kenheeter  Offline OP
Senior Member
K

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 267
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
Just loaded Audiobus, it's talking to Ravenscroft and Module - cool. How do I zone things?

Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: kenheeter] #2962916
12/14/18 04:54 PM
12/14/18 04:54 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,699
AnotherScott Online content
10k Club
AnotherScott  Online Content
10k Club

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,699
Originally Posted By: Sven Golly
I'll just leave this here...
Originally Posted By: kenheeter
Just loaded Audiobus, it's talking to Ravenscroft and Module

Good to know Module/Gadget are Audiobus compatible. I guess the complaints I saw about the Korg stuff not being compatible with another environment was about AUv3. You still need Gadget if you want to play more than one Module sound at a time, right?


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: kenheeter] #2962947
12/14/18 06:48 PM
12/14/18 06:48 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 12,918
Toronto, ON
Sven Golly Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
Sven Golly  Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
10k Club

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 12,918
Toronto, ON
Originally Posted By: kenheeter
Just loaded Audiobus, it's talking to Ravenscroft and Module - cool. How do I zone things?


Clonk here for Audiobus Website.

Lots of great support here.


"Do you see over yonder, friend Sancho, thirty or forty hulking giants? I intend to do battle with them and slay them."
Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: Sven Golly] #2962972
12/14/18 08:13 PM
12/14/18 08:13 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 3,921
Victoria, BC
drawback Online happy
MP Hall of Fame Member
drawback  Online Happy
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 3,921
Victoria, BC
Originally Posted By: Sven Golly
Originally Posted By: kenheeter
Just loaded Audiobus, it's talking to Ravenscroft and Module - cool. How do I zone things?


Clonk here for Audiobus Website.

Lots of great support here.


... and the user manual is accessed thru the app thu


1977 Kawai KG-2C | SL88 Studio | Mojo61 A/B | iOS ~ AUM | MacOS ~ MainStage | iConnectAudio4+ | Korg PlugKey |
Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: drawback] #2962991
12/14/18 09:59 PM
12/14/18 09:59 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 12,918
Toronto, ON
Sven Golly Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
Sven Golly  Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
10k Club

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 12,918
Toronto, ON
Originally Posted By: drawback
Originally Posted By: Sven Golly
Originally Posted By: kenheeter
Just loaded Audiobus, it's talking to Ravenscroft and Module - cool. How do I zone things?


Clonk here for Audiobus Website.

Lots of great support here.


... and the user manual is accessed thru the app thu



Right? snax wink


"Do you see over yonder, friend Sancho, thirty or forty hulking giants? I intend to do battle with them and slay them."
Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: Sven Golly] #2962996
12/14/18 11:00 PM
12/14/18 11:00 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 3,921
Victoria, BC
drawback Online happy
MP Hall of Fame Member
drawback  Online Happy
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 3,921
Victoria, BC
There is a support function on the web page but thereís no manual I could see. Just faq and forum. Click within the app for the user manual.

Unless itís time to change my contact lenses.


1977 Kawai KG-2C | SL88 Studio | Mojo61 A/B | iOS ~ AUM | MacOS ~ MainStage | iConnectAudio4+ | Korg PlugKey |
Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: drawback] #2963065
12/15/18 01:51 PM
12/15/18 01:51 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 267
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
K
kenheeter Offline OP
Senior Member
kenheeter  Offline OP
Senior Member
K

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 267
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
So, I purchased midiflow as well and still can't seem to set up splits. I wish there was a step by step method available.

Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: kenheeter] #2963068
12/15/18 02:10 PM
12/15/18 02:10 PM
Joined: May 2004
Posts: 3,921
Victoria, BC
drawback Online happy
MP Hall of Fame Member
drawback  Online Happy
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: May 2004
Posts: 3,921
Victoria, BC
Ken, did you get into the manual? Scroll down to the MIDI section... unless it doesnít work as advertised. Again, I havenít done this myself yet.


1977 Kawai KG-2C | SL88 Studio | Mojo61 A/B | iOS ~ AUM | MacOS ~ MainStage | iConnectAudio4+ | Korg PlugKey |
Re: IOS multitimbral synth app? [Re: drawback] #2963081
12/15/18 03:24 PM
12/15/18 03:24 PM
Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 267
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
K
kenheeter Offline OP
Senior Member
kenheeter  Offline OP
Senior Member
K

Joined: Mar 2011
Posts: 267
Kingston, Ontario, Canada
I can only get full layers of two sounds, no splits. I'm sure it's me.

Page 1 of 2 1 2

Moderated by  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner 

 
   
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1