Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#2956664 - 11/06/18 07:59 AM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: analogika]
roygBiv Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/04/15
Posts: 424
Loc: Pacific NW
Yamahackers

Top
KC Island
#2956691 - 11/06/18 11:15 AM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: roygBiv]
mate stubb Offline
Grand Poobah of the Trebuchet
10k Club

Registered: 10/26/03
Posts: 16216
My guess is that there will be a next generation dual Mojo with DSP. Makes too much sense not to.

In the meantime, my obsolete Windows CE Mojo dual kicks ass and runs rings around most other clones.

And no, they don't have off the shelf sound cards in them.
_________________________
Moe
---
Kawai Novus: "Please feel surprised even more."

http://www.hotrodmotm.com

Top
#2956695 - 11/06/18 11:24 AM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: analogika]
Gary75 Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 12/04/03
Posts: 1581
Originally Posted By: analogika
Originally Posted By: Gary75
That's ridiculous they are still using Windows embedded. Still using off the shelf PC sound cards inside as well?

My freshly renovated SY77 still runs the same operating system and DACs it used in 1990.

Sounds great, works like a Yamaha.

Why change something that works great and reliably? Hackers?


It's a hardware keyboard with dedicated internal boards not using a third party front end to host the sound generating part.

I'm not interested in what 'runs rings' around other sounds, it was purely an observation.
_________________________
C3/122,Rhodes,D6,Juno6,Wurlitzer 200,MPC1000,KP3,KorgBX3/HX3/145,KorgM1,Roland System1,SL88Grand,Moog LP

Top
#2956699 - 11/06/18 12:03 PM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: analogika]
Al Coda Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 08/31/08
Posts: 4345
Loc: out in the sticks
Originally Posted By: analogika
Originally Posted By: Gary75
That's ridiculous they are still using Windows embedded. Still using off the shelf PC sound cards inside as well?

My freshly renovated SY77 still runs the same operating system and DACs it used in 1990.

Sounds great, works like a Yamaha.

Why change something that works great and reliably? Hackers?


thu


My TG77 (and many others) do(es) that too !

OTOH,- I dunno what it has to do w/ the "Hammond B3 clone" topic.

A.C


Edited by Al Coda (11/06/18 12:17 PM)

Top
#2956714 - 11/06/18 02:54 PM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: Al Coda]
CEB Offline
10k Club

Registered: 06/03/09
Posts: 13025
FTW! DOS 6 rocks!
_________________________
"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!
So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt

Top
#2956716 - 11/06/18 02:57 PM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: CEB]
WesG Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 02/16/13
Posts: 3431
Loc: Inverary, ON, Canada
The disk doubler in MS-DOS 6 was buggy AF. 6.2 was a big improvement.
_________________________
Hammond: L111, M3, BC, CV, Franken CV, A100, B3
Leslie: 710, 760, 51C, 147, 145, 122, 31H
Yamaha: CP4, DGX-620, DX7II-FD-E!, PF85
Roland: VR-09
Band Site: http://DrBombay.ca/

Top
#2956721 - 11/06/18 03:15 PM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: WesG]
Radagast Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/20/18
Posts: 180
DSP is so “last week”. I’m waiting for an organ based on FPGA.

Top
#2956726 - 11/06/18 03:29 PM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: Radagast]
jeffinpghpa Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 05/22/07
Posts: 505
Loc: Charlotte, NC
2001 called. They want their Windows XP license back.
_________________________
Yamaha U1 Upright, Kurzweil Forte 7, Viscount Legend Live, Roland FA-07, Novation SLMKII 49, Lots of iPad Stuff, Pair of QSC K10 Speakers, Allen & Heath Zed 10 Mixer

Top
#2956737 - 11/06/18 04:31 PM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: Radagast]
Kurt W Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 02/02/12
Posts: 253
Originally Posted By: Radagast
DSP is so “last week”. I’m waiting for an organ based on FPGA.

FPGA based organs have been there for several years; MAG and UHL organs based upon the HX3 B3 expander from Keyboardpartner in Germany.

Top
#2956739 - 11/06/18 04:41 PM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: Kurt W]
wd8dky Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 03/06/06
Posts: 987
Loc: Chicagoland
FPGAs are so '90's, when I started designing them. Let's go neural processing, so the clone can adjust its sound in real-time to whatever dream sound the player has in their head at any given moment.

Top
#2956745 - 11/06/18 05:42 PM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: wd8dky]
WesG Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 02/16/13
Posts: 3431
Loc: Inverary, ON, Canada
You people are so four-dimensional.
_________________________
Hammond: L111, M3, BC, CV, Franken CV, A100, B3
Leslie: 710, 760, 51C, 147, 145, 122, 31H
Yamaha: CP4, DGX-620, DX7II-FD-E!, PF85
Roland: VR-09
Band Site: http://DrBombay.ca/

Top
#2956748 - 11/06/18 06:20 PM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: WesG]
wd8dky Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 03/06/06
Posts: 987
Loc: Chicagoland
Originally Posted By: WesG
You people are so four-dimensional.


Like the four basic food groups (sugar, salt, fat. & alcohol)?

smile

Top
#2956753 - 11/06/18 06:50 PM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: wd8dky]
WesG Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 02/16/13
Posts: 3431
Loc: Inverary, ON, Canada
Don't be silly, sugar is only three dimensional. It's a cube, not a tesseract.


Edited by WesG (11/06/18 06:51 PM)
_________________________
Hammond: L111, M3, BC, CV, Franken CV, A100, B3
Leslie: 710, 760, 51C, 147, 145, 122, 31H
Yamaha: CP4, DGX-620, DX7II-FD-E!, PF85
Roland: VR-09
Band Site: http://DrBombay.ca/

Top
#2956771 - 11/07/18 12:49 AM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: Gary75]
Frank Montis Offline
Member

Registered: 10/12/16
Posts: 15
Loc: Netherlands
Originally Posted By: Gary75

So yes, I do find it ridiculous they are still using the same system from ten years ago.


The original Mojo is about 7-8 years old and still is on par with the best out there. And for your information, I have been on the road with it a LOT and it still works and sound fine. You may think it's ridiculous, but some people are still very happy with it. I am one of them. If you want a newer system there's the Mojo 61 and of course eventually there will be a new Mojo.

Calling something ridiculous just based on some biased opinion of an operating system seems kind of unfair to me, while in the end it still sounds better than most and has received free updates for many years.

Top
#2956773 - 11/07/18 01:32 AM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: Gary75]
Losendoskeys Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 12/28/12
Posts: 1332
Loc: West Sussex, UK
Originally Posted By: Gary75
The ATM has been around since 1967, you don't think they are still running the same operating system do you?

I might as well have said I drive a car and a response of "I guess you don't use your legs"

Who wants to have a failure mid gig and wait for it to boot up when the competition has already improved hugely in that respect.

So yes, I do find it ridiculous they are still using the same system from ten years ago.

You're not making sense.
Failure at a gig is unlikely to be due to the operating system, it's likely to be hardware -the old gear I still use has been totally reliable over the last 12 years of gigging.
_________________________
Yamaha CP70B;Roland XP30/AXSynth/Fantom/FA76/XR;Hammond XK3C SK2; Korg Kronos 73;ProSoloist Rack+; ARP ProSoloist; Mellotron M4000D; GEM Promega2; Hohner Pianet N, Roland V-Grand,Voyager XL, RMI

Top
#2956781 - 11/07/18 03:25 AM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: Losendoskeys]
WesG Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 02/16/13
Posts: 3431
Loc: Inverary, ON, Canada
Wait until Gary finds out I use a ten-year-old operating system to process millions of transactions a day, guaranteeing 99.999% up time (that's 43 minutes of maintenance window per year). Those old operating systems, I tell ya, always worrying if they are going to come down with Alzheimer's or something.
_________________________
Hammond: L111, M3, BC, CV, Franken CV, A100, B3
Leslie: 710, 760, 51C, 147, 145, 122, 31H
Yamaha: CP4, DGX-620, DX7II-FD-E!, PF85
Roland: VR-09
Band Site: http://DrBombay.ca/

Top
#2956784 - 11/07/18 04:08 AM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: wd8dky]
Markyboard Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 02/10/01
Posts: 6093
Loc: Springfield, Virginia
Originally Posted By: wd8dky
FPGAs are so '90's, when I started designing them.


Yeah, I'm loving the recent marketing angle..."FPGA powered".
rolleyes facepalm

Top
#2956821 - 11/07/18 10:45 AM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: Markyboard]
Ockeghem Offline
Member

Registered: 08/09/18
Posts: 29
Loc: Virginia
Originally Posted By: Markyboard
Originally Posted By: wd8dky
FPGAs are so '90's, when I started designing them.


Yeah, I'm loving the recent marketing angle..."FPGA powered".
rolleyes facepalm


I still am waiting for the Kyra or Valkyrie or whatever Waldorf are planning to call it.
The demos had me wanting it more than a Moog One. Am I nuts?

Top
#2956825 - 11/07/18 11:16 AM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: Ockeghem]
mate stubb Offline
Grand Poobah of the Trebuchet
10k Club

Registered: 10/26/03
Posts: 16216
Are you nuts for waiting for an announced Waldorf synth?


Why yes. Yes, you are.
_________________________
Moe
---
Kawai Novus: "Please feel surprised even more."

http://www.hotrodmotm.com

Top
#2956878 - 11/07/18 08:52 PM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: mate stubb]
eric Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 01/25/02
Posts: 6357
Loc: Virginia
Nord Lead

Top
#2956879 - 11/07/18 09:29 PM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: Frank Montis]
davedoerfler Offline
KCFF League Champion 2017
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 12/27/12
Posts: 7863
Loc: the swamp
Originally Posted By: Frank Montis
You may think it's ridiculous, but some people are still very happy with it.

I also am one who is still very happy with it (the origional dual manual Mojo). No plans to get anything else as of this writing. smile
_________________________
The lack of insight in musically interesting progress displayed in this thread is ugly and mind numbing.
TV
It's easy to make a bad sound. Sometimes you can make a great sound.
Trent Reznor

Top
#2956918 - 11/08/18 05:57 AM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: davedoerfler]
Al Quinn Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 08/13/14
Posts: 1181
Loc: Center Moriches, NY
Originally Posted By: davedoerfler
Originally Posted By: Frank Montis
You may think it's ridiculous, but some people are still very happy with it.

I also am one who is still very happy with it (the origional dual manual Mojo). No plans to get anything else as of this writing. smile

Another happy dual manual Mojo owner here with no intention of getting anything else. When I find a good instrument I like to keep it for a long time, spare myself from the distraction of gear churn, and focus my efforts on becoming a better musician. My ‘62 A100 is old technology too but I plan on keeping that around as well smile
_________________________
https://soundcloud.com/al-quinn-2

Top
#2956937 - 11/08/18 08:09 AM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: eric]
gg22 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 08/03/14
Posts: 122
Originally Posted By: eric
Nord Lead


This one doesn't have 9 pin Leslie connector.

Top
#2956946 - 11/08/18 08:48 AM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: gg22]
drawback Online   happy
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/11/04
Posts: 3625
Loc: Victoria BC, Canada
Originally Posted By: gg22
Originally Posted By: eric
Nord Lead


This one doesn't have 9 pin Leslie connector.


wink laugh
_________________________
1977 KG-2C | SL88 Studio | Mojo61 + 61B | Mainstage | Ravenscroft VI / iOS | VTines | Canterbury | Korg PlugKey |

Top
#2956968 - 11/08/18 01:24 PM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: eric]
sosho Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/02/08
Posts: 99
Loc: germany
Originally Posted By: eric
Nord Lead

really nice for synth

Top
#2957013 - 11/08/18 08:33 PM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: mate stubb]
Ockeghem Offline
Member

Registered: 08/09/18
Posts: 29
Loc: Virginia
Originally Posted By: mate stubb
Are you nuts for waiting for an announced Waldorf synth?


Why yes. Yes, you are.


Thank you. The only thing worse than being nuts is to be unsure about it.

Top
#2957015 - 11/08/18 09:22 PM Re: Hammond B3 clone [Re: Ockeghem]
davedoerfler Offline
KCFF League Champion 2017
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 12/27/12
Posts: 7863
Loc: the swamp
Originally Posted By: Ockeghem
Originally Posted By: mate stubb
Are you nuts for waiting for an announced Waldorf synth?


Why yes. Yes, you are.


Thank you. The only thing worse than being nuts is to be unsure about it.


and to be discussing this on a Hammond B3 clone thread. hitt
_________________________
The lack of insight in musically interesting progress displayed in this thread is ugly and mind numbing.
TV
It's easy to make a bad sound. Sometimes you can make a great sound.
Trent Reznor

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2


Moderator:  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner