Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Page 4 of 4 1 2 3 4
Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: AnotherScott] #2943509
08/16/18 02:39 PM
08/16/18 02:39 PM
Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 46
AZ
K
Kevin Sage Offline
Senior Member
Kevin Sage  Offline
Senior Member
K

Joined: Aug 2015
Posts: 46
AZ
Are you speaking of going with Main Stage and a controller keyboard as the preferred travel option?


Keys: Korg KronosX 88, M Audio Code 61, Novation Launchkey, Mainstage, Keyscape, Omnisphere
Guitars: Charvels, Jacksons, Gibsons, Martins, Ovations
Amps: Krank, Peavey, Mesa Boogie, Marshall
KC Island
Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: Kevin Sage] #2943550
08/16/18 05:54 PM
08/16/18 05:54 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,699
AnotherScott Offline OP
10k Club
AnotherScott  Offline OP
10k Club

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,699
Originally Posted By: Kevin Sage
Are you speaking of going with Main Stage and a controller keyboard as the preferred travel option?

No, the premise was traveling with no keyboard ("a board that: Is readily available at most destinations as a rental"). So then all you need to travel with is your laptop running Maintstage or whatever, and you can plug it into whatever.


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: AnotherScott] #2943554
08/16/18 06:15 PM
08/16/18 06:15 PM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 670
Northport, L.I., NY
Bobby Simons Offline
Gold Member
Bobby Simons  Offline
Gold Member

Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 670
Northport, L.I., NY
I would add a compact control surface, like a Korg nanokontrol 2, to that. Map your controls in advance to something you can bring along. Then you just need an 88 (or the size of your choice) with working wheels and a couple of pedal inputs. Mainstage is the best - but it wants you to do your due diligence ahead of time


Yamaha P515, Yamaha KX88, Edirol PCR-800 (2), Korg microKey 61 Air, Mainstage, iOS, assorted other controllers and retired boards.
Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: Bobby Simons] #2943566
08/16/18 07:59 PM
08/16/18 07:59 PM
Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,036
L
LX88 Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
LX88  Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
L

Joined: Oct 2010
Posts: 2,036
One board, but I cheat a little bit.

My board is still a Roland RD300GX. After all these years.... killer Rhodes and still the Superior Grand acoustic sounds good.

My organ sound comes from the HX3 module. Easy to use with presets. Just about my favorite on board leslie sim.

So not quite " one board" but not bad....

Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: LX88] #2943574
08/16/18 09:47 PM
08/16/18 09:47 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,699
AnotherScott Offline OP
10k Club
AnotherScott  Offline OP
10k Club

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,699
Personally, I count it as one board if you can leave any other pieces velcro'd in place so you can still move it as one unit.


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: AnotherScott] #2944180
08/20/18 09:45 PM
08/20/18 09:45 PM
Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 624
Las Vegas NV
H
HSS Offline
Gold Member
HSS  Offline
Gold Member
H

Joined: Jan 2006
Posts: 624
Las Vegas NV
If I have to do a quick gig with one board, I'll use my Kurz SP4-7 if it's more AP/ EP focused. If more organ with a moderate amount of AP / EP is required, I'll use my NE 5d 73. If a heavily focus on organ is required, I'll use my Hammond Sk1 61.

I now tend to gig with small-footprint, lightweight boards due to a bad knee and the fact that most stages I play on as a weekend warrior are small and cramped.



Live gear: Nord 5D 73, Hammond SK1 61, Kurzweil SP4-7, Yamaha MX88, Casio PX330, Roland RD300gx, QSC K12, Yamaha DBR10, JBL EON515xt(2), JBL EON15 G2(2)

Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: Bobby Simons] #2944182
08/20/18 10:23 PM
08/20/18 10:23 PM
Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 3,202
NYC area
R
Reezekeys Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Reezekeys  Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
R

Joined: Feb 2011
Posts: 3,202
NYC area
Originally Posted By: Bobby Simons
I would add a compact control surface, like a Korg nanokontrol 2, to that. Map your controls in advance to something you can bring along. Then you just need an 88 (or the size of your choice) with working wheels and a couple of pedal inputs. Mainstage is the best - but it wants you to do your due diligence ahead of time

+1. This is what I did before I had status on United and could fly with my Roland A800. I still carry my NanoKontrol in case the Roland has issues. I agree with you 100% - who wants to have to program a rental keyboard's sliders, knobs & buttons before a show (assuming it even has the controls you require)? I also pack this along Ė quick, easy, cheap and safe for any surface, it attaches the NanoKontrol on any keyboard:


Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: Reezekeys] #2944206
08/21/18 06:33 AM
08/21/18 06:33 AM
Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,540
athens, greece
Y
yannis D Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
yannis D  Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Y

Joined: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,540
athens, greece
I gig with one board - NE 5D
I just add Mainstage (running on the same keyboard), when i need more options and i do splits, layers etc, depending on the group
Most of the times though, it's just the Electro. Easy to use, nice sounds, easy to transport in a crowdy city.


Be grateful for what you've got - a Nord, a laptop and two hands
Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: yannis D] #2944223
08/21/18 10:23 AM
08/21/18 10:23 AM
Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,088
Huntington Sta., New York (LI)
Legatoboy Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Legatoboy  Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: Aug 2006
Posts: 4,088
Huntington Sta., New York (LI)
sp6


SP6, CP-50, FP-80, PX5-S, NE-5d61, XK-3, CX-3, Yamaha YUX Upright, '66 B3/Leslie 145/122
Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: Legatoboy] #2944231
08/21/18 10:57 AM
08/21/18 10:57 AM
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,641
Toano, Virginia, USA
T
Toano88 Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Toano88  Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
T

Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,641
Toano, Virginia, USA
Lately all I have been hauling is my SP6. I've loaded it with a whole bunch of Forte SE and PC3 sounds and I tweaked a bunch of these in the editor. And I have several multis setup. So I have pretty much stopped taking my VR-09 for now.


Boards: Kurzweil SP-6, Roland FA-08, VR-09, DeepMind 12
Modules: Korg Radias, Roland D-05, Bk7-m & Sonic Cell
Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: Toano88] #2944238
08/21/18 11:37 AM
08/21/18 11:37 AM
Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 210
Pennsylvania
B
BEMcCut Offline
Senior Member
BEMcCut  Offline
Senior Member
B

Joined: Jul 2011
Posts: 210
Pennsylvania
I did a fill-in job Saturday with just my Kurzweil PC361. No back up. It worked well and covered the job. Monday I turned it on and nothing, just blue screen and no sound. It took about 10 times of turning it off and back on before it worked. It is still working fine but my VR-09 will be in the car from now on just in case.

Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: BEMcCut] #2952412
10/10/18 06:23 PM
10/10/18 06:23 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,699
AnotherScott Offline OP
10k Club
AnotherScott  Offline OP
10k Club

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,699
Some updates...

...a mistake in the OP, Casio MZ-X300/MZ-X500 doesn't run on batteries.

...and a clarification, Artis 7 limitations on patch remain with organ sounds affects only switching *away* from an organ sound, not *to* one (as I recently mentioned in another thread)

Meanwhile, there's now a 76-key version of the Juno DS61 (15.25 lbs), which would have all the benefits of the DS61 plus the wider keyspan. So there's a nice 76 that's about half the price of the Artis 7, and 12 lbs lighter, too. Mostly what you lose is the clonewheel engine and a lot of MIDI functionality. Kurz also has advantages in patch selection, better facilities for 3 and 4 sound splits/layers (DS is really optimized for up to 2 sounds at a time), and probably better action.

I'm also looking forward to trying out the Yamaha MODX7 (16.3 lbs).


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: Toano88] #2952422
10/10/18 09:21 PM
10/10/18 09:21 PM
Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 12,766
R
RABid Offline
10k Club
RABid  Offline
10k Club
R

Joined: Nov 2001
Posts: 12,766
Because of the lack of a key pad to quickly enter patch numbers the Roland FA-06 has fallen off of the list for me. Back to just the Kronos. I would also consider the Montage if the job did not call for much organ.

Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: RABid] #2952426
10/10/18 09:41 PM
10/10/18 09:41 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 12,918
Toronto, ON
Sven Golly Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
Sven Golly  Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
10k Club

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 12,918
Toronto, ON
Originally Posted By: RABid
Because of the lack of a key pad to quickly enter patch numbers the Roland FA-06 has fallen off of the list for me. Back to just the Kronos. I would also consider the Montage if the job did not call for much organ.


I'm late to this thread, so... TL;DR.

I just bought a MODX7, and that coupled with my iPad and Galileo 2, I'm covered for the pop gigs where I don't have the room or the need for the Mojo61 + Lower rig. Might just pick up a Crumar drawbar unit to use with Galileo to put the icing on the cake. wink


"Do you see over yonder, friend Sancho, thirty or forty hulking giants? I intend to do battle with them and slay them."
Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: RABid] #2952427
10/10/18 09:42 PM
10/10/18 09:42 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,699
AnotherScott Offline OP
10k Club
AnotherScott  Offline OP
10k Club

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,699
Originally Posted By: RABid
Because of the lack of a key pad to quickly enter patch numbers the Roland FA-06 has fallen off of the list for me...I would also consider the Montage if the job did not call for much organ.
As you probably know, you can use the trigger pads on the FA as a keypad, but it's not so practical because you probably want the pads available for other things. The DS has a better arrangement, you can quickly toggle the Favorite buttons to act as a keypad. But the DS is weak for organ. That would lead me back to the Artis 7 which has a decent drawbar organ with real-time drawbar control. It doesn't use a number pad, but you can have quick 2-button access to any of 256 favorite sounds/combinations, among other quick access sets.


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: Sven Golly] #2952428
10/10/18 09:44 PM
10/10/18 09:44 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,699
AnotherScott Offline OP
10k Club
AnotherScott  Offline OP
10k Club

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 13,699
Originally Posted By: Sven Golly
I just bought a MODX7, and that coupled with my iPad and Galileo 2, I'm covered for the pop gigs where I don't have the room or the need for the Mojo61 + Lower rig. Might just pick up a Crumar drawbar unit to use with Galileo to put the icing on the cake. wink

Go all the way and replace Galileo with a Gemini module!


Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!
Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: AnotherScott] #2952436
10/10/18 10:21 PM
10/10/18 10:21 PM
Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 12,918
Toronto, ON
Sven Golly Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
Sven Golly  Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
10k Club

Joined: Nov 2003
Posts: 12,918
Toronto, ON
Originally Posted By: AnotherScott
Originally Posted By: Sven Golly
I just bought a MODX7, and that coupled with my iPad and Galileo 2, I'm covered for the pop gigs where I don't have the room or the need for the Mojo61 + Lower rig. Might just pick up a Crumar drawbar unit to use with Galileo to put the icing on the cake. wink

Go all the way and replace Galileo with a Gemini module!


Budget must be observed... and that's overkill for just organ. wink

(that being said, though, the Gemini Rack would definitely be a kickass addition. wink )


"Do you see over yonder, friend Sancho, thirty or forty hulking giants? I intend to do battle with them and slay them."
Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: Sven Golly] #2952439
10/10/18 10:43 PM
10/10/18 10:43 PM
Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 803
Northeastern MN, U.S.
Mighty Motif Max Offline
Gold Member
Mighty Motif Max  Offline
Gold Member

Joined: Dec 2016
Posts: 803
Northeastern MN, U.S.
Motif XF8 for me. Or Montage actually, since it would be a single-board rig with no MIDI used. Or Kronos (LS?).

Last edited by Murky Musty Moth; 10/10/18 10:44 PM.

Yamaha: Motif XF8/YS200/CVP-305/CLP-130/YPG-235/PSR-295/PSS-470
Korg: Krome 61
Roland: JV-1000
Casio: CT-370
Kimball Valencia/Broadway/Conn 465 w/144 spkrs/WCOC Reed Organ/Titano Virtuoso Converter
Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: RABid] #2952445
10/10/18 11:34 PM
10/10/18 11:34 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,328
DE
DanL Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
DanL  Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,328
DE
Originally Posted By: RABid
Because of the lack of a key pad to quickly enter patch numbers the Roland FA-06 has fallen off of the list for me. Back to just the Kronos. I would also consider the Montage if the job did not call for much organ.


Are you using the pads for something else, like triggering samples? Because you can definitely set the keypad to enter patch numbers, I used mine that way all the time.


Live: Korg Kronos 2 88, Nord Electro 5d Nord Lead A1
Toys: Roland FA08, Novation Ultranova, Moog LP, Roland SP-404SX, Roland JX10,Emu MK6
www.bksband.com
www.echoesrocks.com
Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: DanL] #2952446
10/10/18 11:38 PM
10/10/18 11:38 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,328
DE
DanL Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
DanL  Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,328
DE
I did my 1st single board gig with the Kronos last weekend, with my dance/party band. (I do a lot of blues type gigs with my Electro 5 by itself, this was new territory) I had to replicate a lot of patches from my FA08 and I'm also using the CX3 engine for organ, so I had to do some other creative splits to work that in. The gig went well. I had to tweak some things that were not quite right, in how they sat in the mix etc., so i went thru everything tonight and made some adjustments.


Live: Korg Kronos 2 88, Nord Electro 5d Nord Lead A1
Toys: Roland FA08, Novation Ultranova, Moog LP, Roland SP-404SX, Roland JX10,Emu MK6
www.bksband.com
www.echoesrocks.com
Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: DanL] #2952448
10/11/18 12:45 AM
10/11/18 12:45 AM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,744
Nevada
H
hardware Online content
Platinum Member
hardware  Online Content
Platinum Member
H

Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,744
Nevada
Iím using one now.
Took a while to replace all the patches Solaris, Omnisphere and Zebra2 were doing but Code 8 split into 2 x 4 Voice polysynths gets the job done.
The SE-02, HX -3, Strymon Big Sky, Timeline and Deco do a good job of replacing the Scope DSP FX, and the Key Largo sounds really loud and clean.

I can always go back to the expensive Solaris/Scope DSP Rig.
Itís chall ngoni covering all of the parts on 1 Controller, but with performance that contain 4 scenes, 8 zones each really helps.



Magnus C350 + FMR RNP + Realistic Unisphere Mic
Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: hardware] #2952552
10/11/18 02:22 PM
10/11/18 02:22 PM
Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,852
Albuquerque, NM
Tonysounds Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Tonysounds  Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: Aug 2005
Posts: 8,852
Albuquerque, NM
One board rigs for me are an SK1 88 with my Integra.


Hitting "Play" does NOT constitute live performance. -Me.
Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: Tonysounds] #2952643
10/11/18 08:40 PM
10/11/18 08:40 PM
Joined: May 2007
Posts: 632
Charlotte, NC
J
jeffinpghpa Offline
Gold Member
jeffinpghpa  Offline
Gold Member
J

Joined: May 2007
Posts: 632
Charlotte, NC
Depends on the gig for me.

If primarily pianos & EPs, Forte 7.
If I don't want to carry that weight, FA-07, but I might use an iPad running Ravenscroft, Neo Soul Keys, Korg Module, etc., or not.
If primarily, organ, Viscount Legend Live, but with the iPad apps above (and synth apps)

Just depends.


Yamaha U1 Upright, Kurzweil Forte 7, Viscount Legend Live, Roland FA-07, Native Instruments Komplete Kontrol S61 Mk2, Arturia V Collection 6, Komplete 12, Lots of iPad Stuff, Pair of QSC K10 Speakers
Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: Tonysounds] #2952644
10/11/18 08:48 PM
10/11/18 08:48 PM
Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,744
Nevada
H
hardware Online content
Platinum Member
hardware  Online Content
Platinum Member
H

Joined: Mar 2014
Posts: 1,744
Nevada
Originally Posted By: Tonysounds
One board rigs for me are an SK1 88 with my Integra.


Thatís what Iím trying to do for local gigs.
Plus the i7 would be a great spare/back up if a PC breaks down.
i7 has the best Brass Shakes around.
And Iíve got BBB, NI Session Pro, Screaming Trumpet and CHein Horns 2.


Magnus C350 + FMR RNP + Realistic Unisphere Mic
Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: hardware] #2952647
10/11/18 08:59 PM
10/11/18 08:59 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 217
Boston/Cambridge
Fleer Offline
Senior Member
Fleer  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 217
Boston/Cambridge
Iím thinking the new Yamaha MODX range should be perfect.
Also thinking to let go of my Roland FA in the process.

Re: If you must gig with just one board... [Re: AnotherScott] #2952653
10/11/18 10:08 PM
10/11/18 10:08 PM
Joined: Jul 2018
Posts: 395
EricBarker Offline
Senior Member
EricBarker  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Jul 2018
Posts: 395
Originally Posted By: AnotherScott
Personally, I count it as one board if you can leave any other pieces velcro'd in place so you can still move it as one unit.


I leave my Roli Seaboard 49 velcro'd to my Mojo... but I don't think that quite counts.


"All's fair in love, war, and the recording studio."

MacBook Pro running MainStage and various plugins (NI and other)
Arturia Keylab88, Mojo61, Seaboard Rise49, Vortex Keytar (RIP), Trumpet
Page 4 of 4 1 2 3 4

Moderated by  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner 

 
   
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1