Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Yamaha CP4 master keyboard function #2952567
10/11/18 03:33 PM
10/11/18 03:33 PM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 122
S
SteinwayB Offline OP
Senior Member
SteinwayB  Offline OP
Senior Member
S

Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 122
Although I've had my CP4 for several years I have never used the master keyboard function. I just ordered a Behringer Model D and would like a performance that uses the lower half of the CP4 as Rhodes and sends midi to the Model D for the upper half with no sounds from the CP4 for the upper half. I suspect I can do that in split mode or master keyboard with zone 1 native rhodes and zone 2 silent and midi sent on different channel. Any suggestions on the best way to do this? Also, the master keyboard function is confusing; are the master keyboard settings saved in the performance pre-set?

KC Island
Re: Yamaha CP4 master keyboard function [Re: SteinwayB] #2952588
10/11/18 04:46 PM
10/11/18 04:46 PM
Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 265
Loo-uh-vull
J
J Graul Offline
Senior Member
J Graul  Offline
Senior Member
J

Joined: Dec 2009
Posts: 265
Loo-uh-vull
This is the explanation per Bad Mister on the Yamaha Synth forum:


The CP4 Stage is a four Zone Master Keyboard Controller.

Like most keyboards the CP4 Stage normally Outputs MIDI data when you touch the keys.
MAIN - Channel 1
LAYER - Channel 2
SPLIT - Channel 3

Without any special setup, this is the normal MIDI I/O setup for the instrument.

If you are going to be using the CP4 Stage as the main Master Controller in a Stage Setup, it is highly recommended that use the MASTER KEYBOARD Function that allows you to create a four Zone setup that addresses devices connected via MIDI. These setups can be customized per Performance... so that when you recall a stage Performance the internal and external devices that you wish to play are configured as you require.

When you setup and activate the Master Keyboard 4-Zone Setup, it overrides the Normal Channel Output (which is three channels).

Re: Yamaha CP4 master keyboard function [Re: J Graul] #2952590
10/11/18 04:56 PM
10/11/18 04:56 PM
Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 122
S
SteinwayB Offline OP
Senior Member
SteinwayB  Offline OP
Senior Member
S

Joined: Nov 2013
Posts: 122
Thank you, that answers my question. I'll have to check out that forum.


Moderated by  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner 

 
   
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1