Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2950725 - 09/30/18 09:13 AM Mildly OT: DMX cables
picker Offline
10k Club

Registered: 06/13/04
Posts: 13510
Loc: Near 12th Street and Vine...
Just managed to pick up some LED lights that will work with a DMX controller. They have XLR ins & outs on the back. Can regular mic cables be used with them, or is there a difference in the cables you have to use?
_________________________
Always remember that youíre unique. Just like everyone else.




Top
GP Island
#2950728 - 09/30/18 09:19 AM Re: Mildly OT: DMX cables [Re: picker]
Scott Fraser Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 03/20/05
Posts: 5221
Loc: Los Angeles
I should know that one, having spent my adult life married to a lighting designer, but I don't. But, I thought DMX used 4 pin XLRs, am I mistaken on that? I'm spending the next week on a big ballet production in San Francisco, so I'll check with the company's LD.
_________________________
Scott Fraser

Top
#2950757 - 09/30/18 03:20 PM Re: Mildly OT: DMX cables [Re: Scott Fraser]
picker Offline
10k Club

Registered: 06/13/04
Posts: 13510
Loc: Near 12th Street and Vine...
Looks like three pin to me.
_________________________
Always remember that youíre unique. Just like everyone else.




Top
#2951439 - 10/04/18 07:11 PM Re: Mildly OT: DMX cables [Re: picker]
Scott Fraser Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 03/20/05
Posts: 5221
Loc: Los Angeles
They explained that pro theater systems use 4 & 5 pin XLR connectors (but only wired to 3 of those pins) while a 3 pin DMX is probably more of a DJ/club kind of system, & they said theoretically it should be a low capacitance RF shielded high bandwidth cable, i.e. suitable for AES digital audio, or other video bandwidth type signals, BUT everybody substitutes mic cables & it works, but isn't spec'ed for that kind of cable. So, I'd go ahead & use your existing mic cables until you experience a problem, probably never. I'm sure a dedicated DMX cable is more expensive.
_________________________
Scott Fraser

Top
#2951475 - 10/04/18 11:33 PM Re: Mildly OT: DMX cables [Re: Scott Fraser]
Scott Fraser Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 03/20/05
Posts: 5221
Loc: Los Angeles
Having said that, & noticing this theatre (Yerba Buena Center) is using 4 pin XLRs in their lighting rig, after the show tonight I saw a small box backstage labeled as a DMX converter, with a 3 pin XLR input & a 3 pin XLR output on it. Just to confuse things.
_________________________
Scott Fraser

Top
#2951756 - 10/06/18 02:15 PM Re: Mildly OT: DMX cables [Re: Scott Fraser]
d Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 03/20/01
Posts: 6992
Loc: no longer lexington, Kenfunky,...
_________________________
d=halfnote

Top
#2951777 - 10/06/18 05:43 PM Re: Mildly OT: DMX cables [Re: d]
picker Offline
10k Club

Registered: 06/13/04
Posts: 13510
Loc: Near 12th Street and Vine...
The guy at Sweetwater told me mic & DMX cables are different, and not interchangeable. I picked some up used, and it took some fiddling around with programming settings to get my controller to see the fixtures, but I finally got it to work. It only seems to work in 3 channel mode, and the lights have a 7 channel mode, so it would seem there is more to learn about them. Thanx for all the asking around y'all did.
_________________________
Always remember that youíre unique. Just like everyone else.




Top


Moderator:  A String, Bluesape, myles_rose