Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! #2950306
09/27/18 03:28 PM
09/27/18 03:28 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,217
Texas
EscapeRocks Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
EscapeRocks  Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,217
Texas
I am bout to download on my backup MAC.
Reading the changelog, these are some good updates.

One big thing for Mainstage: External Storage of the built in sounds!

here's a link to a 9to5Mac article.

Mainstage and Logic Update


David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-5S | Komplete Kontrol S61MK2 |Alesis Vortex Wireless 2 | GigPerformer 3|

KC Island
Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: EscapeRocks] #2950310
09/27/18 04:19 PM
09/27/18 04:19 PM
Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,294
Georgia, US
johnchop Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
johnchop  Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: Oct 2009
Posts: 2,294
Georgia, US
Thanks for the heads up. I hope it's possible to selectively move content to different volumes. I've got Alchemy stuff on an SSD and less frequently used sample libs on a spinning disk. I can use symbolic links and/or aliases, but it's far easier to just say "yo, look here" within the program's settings.

Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: johnchop] #2950318
09/27/18 05:32 PM
09/27/18 05:32 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,217
Texas
EscapeRocks Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
EscapeRocks  Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,217
Texas
I will check that out once I get 3.4 up and running.


David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-5S | Komplete Kontrol S61MK2 |Alesis Vortex Wireless 2 | GigPerformer 3|

Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: johnchop] #2950320
09/27/18 05:33 PM
09/27/18 05:33 PM
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 7,372
New England
JerryA Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
JerryA  Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 7,372
New England
Woohoo!

Thanks Dave. Downloading now!

I had been looking forward to this because of Chromaverb and Vintage EQ, but something else has now caught my eye. They've included a Horn Section with articulations such as falls and doits. I've been using using Kontakt Session Horns with a Phil Collins tribute, but had to turn off multi-processor usage on Kontakt to conserve CPU. Next gig is in a month in NYC. If the Mainstage Horn Section is decent it will allow me to improve the headroom in my rig. Plenty of time to peek under the hood and update the channel strips. Fingers crossed. thu

Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: JerryA] #2950328
09/27/18 06:35 PM
09/27/18 06:35 PM
Joined: May 2010
Posts: 894
Washington DC
B
Bill W Offline
Gold Member
Bill W  Offline
Gold Member
B

Joined: May 2010
Posts: 894
Washington DC
Just updated my MBP...the saxes...wow. smile


Korg Kronos 61 (2); Casio PX-350M; 2015 Macbook Pro and 2012 Mac Mini (Logic Pro X and Mainstage).

My Genesis Tribute Band: www.sellingfairfaxbythepound.com


Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: Bill W] #2950339
09/27/18 08:13 PM
09/27/18 08:13 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,217
Texas
EscapeRocks Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
EscapeRocks  Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,217
Texas
Yep, those horns are NICE!!

Also, more filters in the Retro Synth. Haven't played much with it yet, butt going to dig in tonight to see what we have.

I'm also excited about the Chromaverb and vintage EQ.


David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-5S | Komplete Kontrol S61MK2 |Alesis Vortex Wireless 2 | GigPerformer 3|

Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: EscapeRocks] #2950418
09/28/18 07:17 AM
09/28/18 07:17 AM
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 7,372
New England
JerryA Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
JerryA  Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 7,372
New England
They sure sound nice!

At first try the articulation scripting isn't quite up to snuff though.

The "Studio Horns" instrument interface doesn't give the user a complete handle on all the scripting that is going on. CC's don't seem to trigger articulations. You need to activate "articulation midi remote" and then use the key-switches to control articulations. Furthermore, it seems that the articulations are non-controllable when activating the Studio Horns Instrument at the channel strip level but they are controllable when activating the instrument at the patch level. (Not a huge problem to be sure.) More tinkering needed. Anybody figured this out yet?

Custom wavetables in Retrosynth. It's nice to see the little synth grow up. thu

Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: JerryA] #2950485
09/28/18 02:54 PM
09/28/18 02:54 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 20,456
Heaven, Hell, or Houston
Joe Muscara Offline
Triple Secret Banninated
Joe Muscara  Offline
Triple Secret Banninated
20k Club

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 20,456
Heaven, Hell, or Houston
Are the Studio Strings new as well?

This stuff might be documented if they've pushed the new manuals out. I will take a look.


The great thing about music is that there's always something to learn. The frustrating thing about music is that there's always something to learn!
Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: Joe Muscara] #2950488
09/28/18 03:11 PM
09/28/18 03:11 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,217
Texas
EscapeRocks Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
EscapeRocks  Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,217
Texas
Joe,
I believe they had come with a Logic update a little while ago, and we were all waiting for them in Mainstage.

I don't use horns that much, so the articulation as is is okay with me. I will say, they really do sound good!

I'm noticing a lot of other nice things in the interface, such as when loading an instrument. A nice bigger and cleaner box to do it.

Also, when on a channel strip, the MIDI workspace now includes a box for MIDI filters and remapping. You don't need to add the modifier plug in anymore.

The Vintage EQs are also very nice.

I have only scratched the surface. I am going to dig into Retro Synth today and check out the new filters.

FYI: MAC OS Mojave, Mainstage 3.4 and Logic 10.4.2 are all working perfectly on my "test" Macbook (2013 13" Retina 4GB 128SSD 2.4GHZ)


David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-5S | Komplete Kontrol S61MK2 |Alesis Vortex Wireless 2 | GigPerformer 3|

Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: johnchop] #2950489
09/28/18 03:19 PM
09/28/18 03:19 PM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 670
Northport, L.I., NY
Bobby Simons Offline
Gold Member
Bobby Simons  Offline
Gold Member

Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 670
Northport, L.I., NY
Originally Posted By: johnchop
Thanks for the heads up. I hope it's possible to selectively move content to different volumes. I've got Alchemy stuff on an SSD and less frequently used sample libs on a spinning disk. I can use symbolic links and/or aliases, but it's far easier to just say "yo, look here" within the program's settings.

Maybe this will answer some questions, this guy as been pretty helpful to me in the past. . .



Yamaha P515, Yamaha KX88, Edirol PCR-800 (2), Korg microKey 61 Air, Mainstage, iOS, assorted other controllers and retired boards.
Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: Joe Muscara] #2950493
09/28/18 04:03 PM
09/28/18 04:03 PM
Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 7,372
New England
JerryA Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
JerryA  Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: Aug 2000
Posts: 7,372
New England
Originally Posted By: Joe Muscara
Are the Studio Strings new as well?

This stuff might be documented if they've pushed the new manuals out. I will take a look.



The online userguide is updated, and the Studio Horns and Studio Strings have similar functionality to the Logic versions, but since Mainstage is a performance application there are understandable differences in the way things are controlled:

https://help.apple.com/mainstage/mac/3.4/#/lgcp2e4761d3

Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: JerryA] #2950505
09/28/18 05:10 PM
09/28/18 05:10 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 20,456
Heaven, Hell, or Houston
Joe Muscara Offline
Triple Secret Banninated
Joe Muscara  Offline
Triple Secret Banninated
20k Club

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 20,456
Heaven, Hell, or Houston
Cool. I've only played with them in Logic so far, and got the new docs for Logic as well. I don't see the MainStage manual updated yet.


The great thing about music is that there's always something to learn. The frustrating thing about music is that there's always something to learn!
Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: JerryA] #2950537
09/28/18 08:44 PM
09/28/18 08:44 PM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 11,323
Geoff Grace Offline
Senior Trade Show Overseer
Geoff Grace  Offline
Senior Trade Show Overseer
10k Club

Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 11,323
The 10.4.2 Logic feature I'm most excited about is the new ability of Smart Tempo to analyze the tempo of MIDI performances recorded without a metronome. If it does that well, I'll probably start using Logic more often again.

Best,

Geoff


Enthusiasm powers the world.

Craig Anderton's Archiving Article
Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: Geoff Grace] #2950553
09/28/18 11:43 PM
09/28/18 11:43 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,217
Texas
EscapeRocks Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
EscapeRocks  Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,217
Texas
Originally Posted By: Geoff Grace
The 10.4.2 Logic feature I'm most excited about is the new ability of Smart Tempo to analyze the tempo of MIDI performances recorded without a metronome. If it does that well, I'll probably start using Logic more often again.

Best,

Geoff


I also like being able to change the channel strip faders to AUX fader, making it much easier to program and mix.


David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-5S | Komplete Kontrol S61MK2 |Alesis Vortex Wireless 2 | GigPerformer 3|

Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: EscapeRocks] #2950620
09/29/18 01:24 PM
09/29/18 01:24 PM
Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 20,456
Heaven, Hell, or Houston
Joe Muscara Offline
Triple Secret Banninated
Joe Muscara  Offline
Triple Secret Banninated
20k Club

Joined: Feb 2005
Posts: 20,456
Heaven, Hell, or Houston
They've been giving us TONS of stuff for free since Logic Pro X shipped. This has been pretty awesome.

This video gives a good overview of some of the new features.



The great thing about music is that there's always something to learn. The frustrating thing about music is that there's always something to learn!
Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: Joe Muscara] #2950747
09/30/18 05:26 PM
09/30/18 05:26 PM
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 126
The Netherlands
erik_nie Offline
Senior Member
erik_nie  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 126
The Netherlands
Any news on stability?

My experience:
I've updated to MacOs Mojave but not Mainstage. Was stable for a rehearsal and one gig. I did not notice any difference.

I want to upgrade Mainstage this week mainly for the Studio Horns.


DMC-122, Macbook Pro 2012, Mainstage 3.3, Motu Audio Express (Backup on stage: Bidule, Gemini board | backup in car: Dr. Synth)
Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: erik_nie] #2950758
09/30/18 07:28 PM
09/30/18 07:28 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,217
Texas
EscapeRocks Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
EscapeRocks  Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,217
Texas
I have run to gigs this weekend with Mojave and MS3.4

No issues at all


David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-5S | Komplete Kontrol S61MK2 |Alesis Vortex Wireless 2 | GigPerformer 3|

Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: EscapeRocks] #2950774
09/30/18 10:31 PM
09/30/18 10:31 PM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 670
Northport, L.I., NY
Bobby Simons Offline
Gold Member
Bobby Simons  Offline
Gold Member

Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 670
Northport, L.I., NY
The Studio Horns are a blast and a welcome improvement - MS's horns have hitherto been curiously weak.


Yamaha P515, Yamaha KX88, Edirol PCR-800 (2), Korg microKey 61 Air, Mainstage, iOS, assorted other controllers and retired boards.
Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: Bobby Simons] #2950778
09/30/18 11:07 PM
09/30/18 11:07 PM
Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 217
Boston/Cambridge
Fleer Offline
Senior Member
Fleer  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Aug 2017
Posts: 217
Boston/Cambridge
Running fine on Sierra.

Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: Fleer] #2950818
10/01/18 08:18 AM
10/01/18 08:18 AM
Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 3,271
Australia
Markay Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Markay  Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: Jan 2012
Posts: 3,271
Australia
Originally Posted By: Fleer
Running fine on Sierra.

Thanks for confirming. On Sierra and have been slack and yet to download. Updated Retro Synth and now Horns and Strings completes the package for me. MS just keeps on giving.


MainStage 3 | Axiom 61 2nd Gen | Pianoteq | B5 | XK3c | EV ZLX 12P
"Music is a journey. We are all at a different stage in that journey." James Morrison, Australian trumpet legend
Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: Markay] #2950827
10/01/18 09:24 AM
10/01/18 09:24 AM
Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 385
U
Ulf Offline
Senior Member
Ulf  Offline
Senior Member
U

Joined: Oct 2014
Posts: 385
Hmm, sounds like it is time to give the old Mac some updates!


Rock bottom bass
Fakebook Pro Sheet Music Reader - at every gig!
Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: Ulf] #2950834
10/01/18 10:08 AM
10/01/18 10:08 AM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 670
Northport, L.I., NY
Bobby Simons Offline
Gold Member
Bobby Simons  Offline
Gold Member

Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 670
Northport, L.I., NY
My previous MBP remains on 10.6.8 and runs Mainstage 2 like a champ. I replaced it last year because the video card was apparently failing - after a couple of minutes I would lose the screen and other issues I can't recall now. Apple wouldn't do the repair, claiming they didn't really stock the part anymore. Annoying, but it was a justifiable expense and was time anyway. So I was late to the MS3 party and it took me a while to adjust but I'm loving it, of course.

Anyway, imagine my surprise when, a couple of months later I fired up the old one to try to grab some files - and found it to be working just fine. I literally cannot get it to falter. So, now I have an entirely unnecessary double MS setup downstairs, and look like a real power user. An embarrassment of riches.


Yamaha P515, Yamaha KX88, Edirol PCR-800 (2), Korg microKey 61 Air, Mainstage, iOS, assorted other controllers and retired boards.
Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: Bobby Simons] #2950908
10/01/18 03:34 PM
10/01/18 03:34 PM
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 101
dreamer65 Offline
Senior Member
dreamer65  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 101
Studio Strings Ensemble patches on 90% permanent CPU load even if I DON’T play. Switching articulations, Mainstage 3.4 crashes. Mid 2015 Mac Book Pro 8 GB RAM i5 CPU. Running Mojave.

I feel there is some room for improvement...

Horns are cool. For 30 EUR, it’s a steal.


One good thing about music, when it hits you, you feel no pain. - Bob Marley
Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: dreamer65] #2952511
10/11/18 12:20 PM
10/11/18 12:20 PM
Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 126
The Netherlands
erik_nie Offline
Senior Member
erik_nie  Offline
Senior Member

Joined: Dec 2013
Posts: 126
The Netherlands
My report on the use of Mainstage 3.4:

Updated Mojave was without any problems, survived a rehearsal and a gig. No noticed changes.
When I updated to 3.4 there are a few problems on my gig last night:

- CPU load from around 20% to 35/40% (same concert, with mainly stock instruments and sforzando), now the fan is working, used to be silent.
- serveral clicks (seems to happen mainly after starting Mainstage, but heard a few during a gig)
- patch changing is slower (around half a second, compared to instant)
- I use a button to cycle though sets, it now misses a set change sometimes if i'm too fast.

Still workable, but overal the performance is a lot slower.
I read similar experiences on the net... ;(

Running on a Macbook Pro 2012 with 16GD and a 256GB SSD.


DMC-122, Macbook Pro 2012, Mainstage 3.3, Motu Audio Express (Backup on stage: Bidule, Gemini board | backup in car: Dr. Synth)
Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: erik_nie] #2952732
10/12/18 02:56 PM
10/12/18 02:56 PM
Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 670
Northport, L.I., NY
Bobby Simons Offline
Gold Member
Bobby Simons  Offline
Gold Member

Joined: Dec 2017
Posts: 670
Northport, L.I., NY
I don't think I've had any clicks, but definitely a delay in patch change just as you describe.


Yamaha P515, Yamaha KX88, Edirol PCR-800 (2), Korg microKey 61 Air, Mainstage, iOS, assorted other controllers and retired boards.
Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: Bobby Simons] #2952741
10/12/18 04:06 PM
10/12/18 04:06 PM
Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
New England
jbriggs Offline
Member
jbriggs  Offline
Member

Joined: Oct 2007
Posts: 5
New England
On my late 2013 MacBook Pro (w Sierra 10.12.3) version 3.4 of MainStage there are problems with aliases.

I use the two foot controllers from a CP-4 for volume so I set up Kontakt and Omnisphere on a ‘left’ or ‘right’ bus. One patch has two instances of Kontakt, another patch has two instances of Omnisphere, L and R. I fill these up with whatever I need and use all the instruments as aliases in other patches, managing the plug in sounds with midi channeling saved in the MainStage Channel Strip Inspector (that would be done on the alias). I can control left hand sounds w my left foot and right hand and foot together. Works great on 3.3.

MainStage 3.4 has broken all aliases. The graphic of the keyboard in the workspace window has disappeared. Patches with ‘alias’ instruments don’t sound, although transpositions and ‘High key’ ‘low key’ remain intact. If I go thru the concert fix all the channel assignments and save, they are gone when I reopen the concert.

I would be very grateful if anyone could point me in the right direction for a fix. I have gone back to 3.3 for now.

Re: Mainstage 3.4 and Logix 10.4.2 released! [Re: jbriggs] #2952751
10/12/18 05:11 PM
10/12/18 05:11 PM
Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,217
Texas
EscapeRocks Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
EscapeRocks  Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member

Joined: Aug 2003
Posts: 5,217
Texas
Originally Posted By: jbriggs


MainStage 3.4 has broken all aliases. The graphic of the keyboard in the workspace window has disappeared. Patches with ‘alias’ instruments don’t sound, although transpositions and ‘High key’ ‘low key’ remain intact. If I go thru the concert fix all the channel assignments and save, they are gone when I reopen the concert.

I would be very grateful if anyone could point me in the right direction for a fix. I have gone back to 3.3 for now.


I have not seen this issue. I am working with Apple directly right now on some 3.4 CPU issues. However, all of my concerts are intact, including aliases, and sound file location for some 3rd party (Syntronik, Kontakt).


David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-5S | Komplete Kontrol S61MK2 |Alesis Vortex Wireless 2 | GigPerformer 3|


Moderated by  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner 

 
   
Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.1