Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#2937003 - 07/09/18 08:19 PM What is the ideal age to start learning the guitar?
Kenji13 Offline

Loc: NY
I have been teaching to play the guitar for about 10 years. My students are from age 3.5 to adults. Although age 3.5 sounds very young, if a parent is involved in lessons and practices, it is possible for them to learn to play the guitar. Of course, his/her progress is much slower comparing to teens and adults. For example, although teens can learn to play a simple tune, like Twinkle, with one or two lessons, for young children it may take a half year. And kids are even not sure if they really like guitar at that point. But I see wonderful results as they grow. Most of them ended up being able to read and learn music by themselves at the age of 8 or 9.

Meanwhile, teens or adults take lessons because they love guitar and like to play music on guitar. They can learn simple tunes much quicker. In fact, I took guitar lessons when I was 13, and it was right timing for me. Nobody supported nor encouraged me to play the guitar, but I did it. I know that I made the choice.

I wanted to ask you guys' opinion about the ideal age to start learning the guitar. My answer, at this moment, is age 3.5, if his/her parents are supportive.

GP Island
#2937035 - 07/10/18 04:14 AM Re: What is the ideal age to start learning the guitar? [Re: Kenji13]
whitefang Offline
10k Club

Loc: Lincoln Park, MI, UNITED STATE...
Wouldn't WHO it is be a major factor? Sure, some(or a few) might be ready at that age, and then maybe more wouldn't get anywhere until much older. Like anything else, I suppose. For example...

My older daughter started to read by 5.5 or so. Her younger sister(by 3 years) started picking it up at 4. Most of their friends never started until the 1st grade, and THEN didn't fully get the hang right off.