Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2936648 - 07/07/18 12:35 PM Accompaniment/Comping help for Electric Piano
llatham Offline

I'm going to go ahead and guess that playing EP has some special techniques that are not the same as playing Piano.

Are there things to avoid when playing EP?

Do you use sustain pedal?

I was working up "Jolene" for a Band - I looked at Miley Cyrus's version and it had Piano. IIRC the original does as well but I'm not sure if they're doing the same thing.

Also, I'm mainly a guitarist so the fingerpicking comping seems natural but if I try to do anything that sounds like that on an EP sound it's just too busy, or not full enough, and if I add an extra octave below then it sounds too muddy, and so on.

I've tried going (in Dm) - D-d-a-d like "alberti bass" but with octave and 5th. Moving that around to the proper bass notes and playing triad forms above - Dm, F - C - Dm

I actually can kind of "follow" the melody with the top note of the RH triad and that sounds fine to me - I like that.

But the pattern in the LH sounds too busy for that. But if I play broken octaves it doesn't improve it, now if I half the value of the octaves.

Maybe I'm overplaying?

Assuming the guitar is going to do a fingerpicking kind of thing, should I just play on the chord changes or something?

I feel like a lot of people just sit down an play EP as if they would a Piano, but I kind of feel like you can't ALWAYS do that - it doesn't always translate 1 to 1...

KC Island
#2936679 - 07/07/18 09:30 PM Re: Accompaniment/Comping help for Electric Piano [Re: llatham]
bourniplus Offline
Gold Member

Loc: Québec
IMHO, there are countless possibilities. One would be to just play the triad in the RH -around or right above middle C- and root note in the LH.
If it sounds too "full" or too dull, some tremolo can help to make it sound more airy and light.