Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2935252 - 06/29/18 06:50 AM Use of modes
DocPate Offline
Gold Member

Loc: Virginia

I don't believe we have had a good discussion on the use of modes.

I know I used modes for a long time without realizing what it was. Using the modes over a major scale to create harmony or to add an emotional feeling just came naturally. But I must admit, I'm no theory expert so I can't explain their use.

Perhaps we have some experts among us?

Edited by DocPate (06/29/18 06:51 AM)

GP Island
#2935258 - 06/29/18 07:08 AM Re: Use of modes [Re: DocPate]
CEB Offline
10k Club

IMO, The thing that makes Ecclesiastical Modes so important to many guitarist is they play and learn a lot of stuff that is pattern based. I'm a pianist. I and anyone who is a player uses modes. It is just a means of mentally organizing the way you think about notes. Often I will alternate play between Dorian and Aeolian minor modes.... But more often than not it is easier to think about as playing accidentals on the 6th. Dorian is simply Aeolian with a major 6th. We all play modes but thinking in terms of modes doesn't always help.

Guitarist often focus on modes because that is all they have. They often don't have the theoretical education of a trained pianist. Another thing is I think the guitar lends itself to pattern based learning because certain things are hard on guitar. Positions complicate things. On piano I can play middle C in exactly one place. On a Stratocaster I can play middle C in 5 places. grin

Edited by CEB (06/29/18 11:00 AM)

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!
So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt

#2935268 - 06/29/18 07:59 AM Re: Use of modes [Re: CEB]
DocPate Offline
Gold Member

Excellent post CEB. Your comments on the use of patterns is absolutely correct. Just reminded me of an article I read in Guitar World