Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Page 1 of 6 1 2 3 4 5 6 >
Topic Options
#2930974 - 06/04/18 07:07 AM Nord Stage Keyboards; The $3400 to $4500 decision
GregC Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Discovery Bay, California
I think Nord keyboard owners are extremely helpful.

I am not in the market for one. I am interested in understanding in why the Nord Stage demands [what I think] a price premium.

If you are wealthy, have an excellent living as a musician, I get it. Price is no problem.

I am interested in objective reasons why the money conscious, scrutinizing musician pays the premium for a Nord Stage.

And why its so much more distinctive/preferable and valuable vs its worthy competitors.

Thank you for sharing this. And if I am way off on my price premium theory, feel free to correct me.

Edited by GregC (06/04/18 09:15 AM)

KC Island
#2930976 - 06/04/18 07:19 AM Re: Nord Stage Keyboards; The $3400 to $4500 decision [Re: GregC]
stoken6 Offline
Platinum Member

One-board solution with piano, clonewheel, VA and (some) rompler. Plenty of functionality beyond minimum-viable (aftertouch, internal PSU, expression pedal/bend/mod, knobs transmit CC, auxiliary outs, 5-pin MIDI and other stuff that gets cut on other keyboards for cost reasons).

Because it's a strong Stage Piano contender, I use mine with cheap controller, which helps hold down total rig costs. Also saves setup time (no mixer etc.)

As I said in a past post, for a stage piano, it's a pretty good clonewheel. And vice versa.

But man I wish the ROMpler was more flexible. (A strings patch and a brass patch I could load into a Piano slot would go a long way for me).

Cheers, Mike.

#2930980 - 06/04/18 07:27 AM Re: Nord Stage Keyboards; The $3400 to $4500 decision [Re: GregC]
Adan Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: San Francisco
I would say four main objective reasons. In no particular order: