Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

OT: Garageband alternative for Windows 10 in 2018?

It's 2018. Is there something yet on the PC comparable in ease of use to Garageband on the Mac? This is for my 10 year old kid by the way who is a complete beginner.

I had a Mac up until 2012 and loved Garageband and iMovie. Switched to PC and haven't looked back until now. My kid is 10 and wants to do some movie editing and compose some sound tracks for his movies. I've tracked down a good iMovie alternative. But the Garageband is trickier.

He's going to want the loops and virtual instruments like Garageband playing them over a MIDI controller. He's not going to need external VST support or anything. Just some play some music over drum tracks, bring in audio files, record narrations. That sort of thing.

I saw some threads from years back but there was no conclusion. Right now it seems like MixCraft 8 might do the trick. What are your thoughts?

The other option is just to bite the bullet and get him an iMac (maybe a refurb 21.5 with Fusion Drive) since it looks like I'll be spending about $300 just for the PC software and my PC is due for replacement in the next year or so (3.4GHz i7-3770).

Just looking for real easy stuff to get my kid started, something like Cubase LE would traumatize him for sure.

• Replies 13
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Top Posters In This Topic

Top Posters In This Topic

Microsoft shut down Windows Movie Maker On Windows 10 and Youtube shut down their Editor. Help! I need something, not just anything, Help! I need something, Help!

Find 660 of my jazz piano arrangements of standards for educational purposes and tutorials at www.Patreon.com/HarryLikas Harry was the Technical Editor of Mark Levine's "The Jazz Theory Book" and helped develop "The Jazz Piano Book."