Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2921480 - 04/14/18 08:54 PM Sample Robot
Synthaholic Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 04/18/05
Posts: 1755
Loc: Proud Resister of 2nd helpings
I just ran across this. Has anyone ever heard of it or used it? It will automatically auto-sample your MIDI instrument.

http://www.samplerobot.com/was.htm

SampleRobot is able to digitize any kind of instrument. When cloning MIDI gear, SampleRobot even works completely on its own. Just connect your instrument via MIDI and audio with your computer. SampleRobot will then "suck out" the sounds from the unit. If you like you can clone a whole synthesizer sound bank in one go. The good thing is that you can export your hardware instrument as various software sampler formats after the sampling process. You can play your new virtual instrument as if you would play your real instrument. Of course, you can clone the attack velocity characteristics of your original instrument as well. SampleRobot also enables you to transfer acoustic instruments and other instruments without MIDI very easily to the digital domain. User friendly, speedy and high quality - that's SampleRobot.

Fully automated "Cloning" of MIDI instruments
Fully automated "Cloning" of virtual instruments
Semi-automated "Cloning" of instruments without MIDI
Instant access to all instrumental sounds via software samplers
Work in other studios or on stage without carrying equipment
Mobile composing on a laptop computer with all original "hardware sounds"
Instant play: no wiring, no repairs, no loss of sounds
Perfect "Total Recall" for every session
Play monophonic instruments polyphonically
Convert audio sampling CDs into directly playable software instruments
Professional loop editing and Auto-Loop processing with WaveRobot
Including powerful premium Multi-Samples from famous synthesizers
Best value for money
Very easy to use
Big time saver
_________________________
The fact there's a Highway To Hell and only a Stairway To Heaven says a lot about anticipated traffic numbers

People only say "It's a free country" when they're doing something shitty-Demetri Martin

Top
KC Island
#2921485 - 04/14/18 10:38 PM Re: Sample Robot [Re: Synthaholic]
Nathanael_I Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/11/15
Posts: 204
I have it - it works as advertised. Auto looping mostly works - which is all that can be expected. Some sounds loop easily, some hardly at all - even with lots of manual work. I mostly don't loop. Hard drive space is cheap - even on SSD's. I just run samples longer than I would ever use and be done with it.

This is the best thing currently commercially available. Apple bought Keymatica many years ago, and they had the best program like this at that time. If you only need to sample for a Kronos, you can buy a Korg only version.

It saves a lot of time and does what it says. If you want to capture hardware synths in a format playable on Kontakt or a Kronos or something - this is your tool.

Top
#2921496 - 04/15/18 03:22 AM Re: Sample Robot [Re: Nathanael_I]
mcgoo Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 11/03/07
Posts: 2455
Loc: Indianapolis
Originally Posted By: Nathanael_I
I have it - it works as advertised....


Glad to read this. I've been eyeing this the last few weeks since I bought a Kronos to replace my Laptop rig. There are a handful of things in Omnisphere, Kontakt and even my jv-2080 that I just can't get out of the Kronos.
_________________________
Somehow I manage to con people into paying me to play with toys that make noise.

Top
#2921515 - 04/15/18 07:18 AM Re: Sample Robot [Re: mcgoo]
Dr88s Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 05/12/13
Posts: 1294
Loc: Montreal, Canada
Extreme Sample Converter also does the same thing, though it is quite fiddly and I find it difficult to use. I have used it to autosample programs I've created in various VSTs to bring into my Nord.
_________________________
NS2EX Compact, Kronos2LS, MX88

Top
#2921527 - 04/15/18 09:04 AM Re: Sample Robot [Re: Dr88s]
ElmerJFudd Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 11/30/14
Posts: 6507
Loc: USA, greater NY area
_________________________
Live: Yamaha S90ES, Roland VR-700
Home: Rebuilt 1910 Chickering 5'2", Fender Rhodes MKI 88k

Top
#2921536 - 04/15/18 09:36 AM Re: Sample Robot [Re: Nathanael_I]
AnotherScott Offline
10k Club

Registered: 10/19/09
Posts: 12977
Originally Posted By: Nathanael_I
Apple bought Keymatica many years ago, and they had the best program like this at that time.

Redmatica, and I believe that functionality is now included with Logic.

ETA: Another program of this type is Sampllt.


Edited by AnotherScott (04/15/18 09:41 AM)
_________________________
Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!

Top
#2921574 - 04/15/18 02:16 PM Re: Sample Robot [Re: AnotherScott]
Nathanael_I Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/11/15
Posts: 204
Yes! Redmatica. Thanks for catching that. I had their automapping program on my list and just never pulled the trigger. And then one day it was gone. There are still media composers who keep a computer around just to run that program.

Top
#2921583 - 04/15/18 03:30 PM Re: Sample Robot [Re: AnotherScott]
Sven Golly Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
10k Club

Registered: 11/12/03
Posts: 12764
Loc: Toronto, ON
Originally Posted By: AnotherScott
Originally Posted By: Nathanael_I
Apple bought Keymatica many years ago, and they had the best program like this at that time.

Redmatica, and I believe that functionality is now included with Logic.


Close; it's bundled into Mainstage, not Logic. twothumbs
_________________________
"Do you see over yonder, friend Sancho, thirty or forty hulking giants? I intend to do battle with them and slay them."

Top
#2921758 - 04/16/18 02:35 PM Re: Sample Robot [Re: Sven Golly]
Synthaholic Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 04/18/05
Posts: 1755
Loc: Proud Resister of 2nd helpings
Thanks for the replies. I think itís remarkable. There are a lot of old keyboards and racks I would love to have that arenít worth the time to do traditionally. Itís nice to know it actually works.
_________________________
The fact there's a Highway To Hell and only a Stairway To Heaven says a lot about anticipated traffic numbers

People only say "It's a free country" when they're doing something shitty-Demetri Martin

Top
#2921764 - 04/16/18 02:45 PM Re: Sample Robot [Re: Nathanael_I]
Synthaholic Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 04/18/05
Posts: 1755
Loc: Proud Resister of 2nd helpings
Originally Posted By: Nathanael_I
I mostly don't loop. Hard drive space is cheap - even on SSD's. I just run samples longer than I would ever use and be done with it.


Seems like this would be ideal with old drum machines. I have an Alesis DMPro that has some beautiful drums but the unit drives me batty so I never use it.
_________________________
The fact there's a Highway To Hell and only a Stairway To Heaven says a lot about anticipated traffic numbers

People only say "It's a free country" when they're doing something shitty-Demetri Martin

Top
#2949896 - 09/24/18 07:03 PM Re: Sample Robot [Re: Synthaholic]
ElmerJFudd Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 11/30/14
Posts: 6507
Loc: USA, greater NY area
SampleRobot 6 Pro has been redesigned from the ground up to offer users a new sampling experience. The loop and transient editor WaveRobot has become the central part of the new modular graphical user interface. Sections can be pulled out of the dock and placed anywhere on the working screen(s). For the first time in the history of SampleRobot the new version 6 comes as a native macOS application in addition to the Windows 10 build. A lot of the improvements realized in SampleRobot 6 Pro are based on feedback from professional users and sound library developers.

New features of SampleRobot 6 Pro

Modular graphical user interface.
Integrated central WaveRobot loop and transient editor.
Native MacOS and Windows 10 support.
Large-scale Midi monitor.
Floating Peak Meter.
Context-sensitive Project hierarchy.
Sample list for easy browsing and searching.
Library and user bank export for Yamaha Montage.
Optimized activation process.

https://samplerobot.com/collections/samplerobot-product-lineup/products/samplerobot-pro

There's also a Montage Edition they partnered with Yamaha on:
_________________________
Live: Yamaha S90ES, Roland VR-700
Home: Rebuilt 1910 Chickering 5'2", Fender Rhodes MKI 88k

Top
#2949941 - 09/25/18 05:31 AM Re: Sample Robot [Re: ElmerJFudd]
Rod S Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 12/12/00
Posts: 3135
Loc: S„o Paulo, Brasil
Thanks for bumping this tread. I went to dowload the free montage version yesterday and I was thinking - "Where have I seen this being discussed?".
_________________________
Korg Kronos X73 / ARP Odyssey / Yamaha CS6x / P140 / Motif ES Rack / Akai MPK249 / Roland D-05 / JP-08 / Novation Mininova / NL2X / Waldorf Pulse II
MBP-LOGIC
American Deluxe P-Bass, Yamaha RBX760

Top
#2950052 - 09/25/18 03:53 PM Re: Sample Robot [Re: Synthaholic]
David Emm Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 09/14/12
Posts: 1274
Loc: Solder Huffer's Gulch
Sample Robot has always gotten good marks here, so I'd go for it if I was not on a Mac. You get a very trustworthy level of observable reality in KC user reviews. Not from all of the members personally, but in their reviews, yeah. thu laugh

I made good use of Autosampler for Logic during a frenzied period a while back. It became a slight uphill trek after a while, but I sampled the heck out of 2 Korg workstations, an E-mu Planet Earth and a couple of my softsynths. You must be patient with the more detailed conversions; a 5-velocity-layer deep session across 5+ octaves takes... a while! You must also check for bad takes that require resampling, as some sounds "want" a modified approach. Its not always a one-take process. I also became a bit distracted by building Big Patches with 2-4 synths at once. It can become addicting as great sound design fun. Point being, I now have a major sampler library full of useful single favorites and arena-sized combis at a click. It was well worth the effort, so I encourage you to consider it. Plan ahead, because its not a single-Saturday-afternoon venture. Start with your meat-&-potatoes sounds and then work on the layered or special FX patches. I employed a more haphazard "plan" because I got caught up in playing with the process, so get your housekeeping right. Its been a major help to what I have that passes for a work flow.
_________________________
Did you know that every person who ever composed a piece of whimsical background music for videos of unlikely animal friends has been murdered?
~ Andy Richter

https://soundcloud.com/david-emm-1

Top


Moderator:  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner