Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2921198 - 04/13/18 07:27 AM Recycling guitars
Sharkman Offline
Gold Member

Back around 1977, some guy at school gave my friend Bob an electric guitar in hopes that Bob would learn how to play it, then they could form a band and become rock stars. That plan fell apart, like most of them do, and several years later, Bob gave me that guitar after I started learning how to play. About eight years or so later, my friend George was interested in learning how to play, so I gave him the guitar. George never did learn how to play, and I sometimes wonder what he did with that guitar. I hope he passed it on to another aspiring guitarist.

Anyways, I was wondering, do any of you have a similar story of some guitar that was passed along from one friend to another? This could bring up some interesting stories.

GP Island
#2921210 - 04/13/18 08:02 AM Re: Recycling guitars [Re: Sharkman]
Larryz Offline
10k Club

Loc: Northern California
Told these stories before, but my uncles passed down their old guitars to me when I showed an interest in playing. I played that 1st acoustic with two of my 7th grade buddies in front of our history class. We thought we were going to grow up to be like The Beatles but that plan never happened LOL! Later in High School I was in a band and had graduated to my 1st pawn shop guitar. This was all happening around '61 and up through '69. Later in life my deceased Brother's son was visiting us somewhere around 2015. I gave him an American Deluxe Stratocaster after reflecting back on my two uncles giving me their guitars. My dad just dropped his jaw and fell out of his chair when I did that LOL! cool

Edited by Larryz (04/13/18 10:58 AM)

#2921213 - 04/13/18 08:11 AM Re: Recycling guitars [Re: Sharkman]
skipclone 1 Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Japan