Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2918033 - 03/29/18 11:20 AM OT: 32 bit created Sonar files in 64 bit Sonar?
desertbluesman Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/22/07
Posts: 4718
Loc: Near Phoenix Az
I loaded my Sonar 8.5.3 onto my Windows 8.1 computer the other day. I do not have an audio interface on that computer yet as I do not want to spend the money until I see that it will work. The audio drivers are standard with what Dell installs. I loaded a project in Sonar yesterday to try and test if it played, and it did, but fizzy, slower, and an octave lower than the original project did. I am hoping the realtec audio drivers were not sufficient to play the 32 bit files correctly as Sonar requires higher quality interface/drivers (fingers crossed).

My question is; Do any of you think it is the lack of an audio interface and drivers that is hampering the correct playback of my Cakewalk projects. I even opened a new project in Sonar and imported a MP3 file and it played distorted fizzy and slower than it did in Windows Media Player. Although that MP3 played fine in Sound Forge. Should I pull the trigger on a new audio interface? Is that the answer? Or should I have loaded Sonar 8.5.3 in 32 bit mode?
_________________________
dbm
If it sounds good, it is good !!
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=143231&content=music
Harvey Cedars is my stage name on Soundclick

Top
GP Island
#2918592 - 04/01/18 03:19 PM Re: OT: 32 bit created Sonar files in 64 bit Sonar? [Re: desertbluesman]
desertbluesman Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/22/07
Posts: 4718
Loc: Near Phoenix Az
I changed the drivers from WDM/KS to MME, and it works like a charm. Now I can finish loading all of the other apps and also the data from the old DAW Hard Drives. Back up and running.
_________________________
dbm
If it sounds good, it is good !!
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=143231&content=music
Harvey Cedars is my stage name on Soundclick

Top
#2918598 - 04/01/18 03:38 PM Re: OT: 32 bit created Sonar files in 64 bit Sonar? [Re: desertbluesman]
A String Administrator Offline
Admin
10k Club

Registered: 12/18/03
Posts: 12124
Loc: Ontario, Canada
Oh man! Sorry I missed this. Glad you got it sorted out!
_________________________
Craig
The String Network Forums
My Music
My Pics

Top
#2918614 - 04/01/18 05:18 PM Re: OT: 32 bit created Sonar files in 64 bit Sonar? [Re: A String]
Larryz Offline
10k Club

Registered: 06/23/08
Posts: 11359
Loc: Northern California
Sounds like good news and I'm glad to hear you are up and running again DBM! thu
_________________________
Take care, Larryz

Top
#2918777 - 04/02/18 12:48 PM Re: OT: 32 bit created Sonar files in 64 bit Sonar? [Re: Larryz]
desertbluesman Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/22/07
Posts: 4718
Loc: Near Phoenix Az
@ Larryz Still a long way to go amigo, I have to load on 7 more versions of Sonar to get all the plug ins that came with old versions. I still have to get an audio interface ($299 at Sweetwater) and I still have to transfer all the data from the 4 DAW drives onto one or two USB 3 External drives, then if everything works, maybe a real smoking desktop computer with a solid state OS and apps drive and also a one terabyte hard drive as a second drive for data, $1,199 at Dell with an Intel I 7 processor.
_________________________
dbm
If it sounds good, it is good !!
http://www.soundclick.com/bands/default.cfm?bandID=143231&content=music
Harvey Cedars is my stage name on Soundclick

Top
#2918867 - 04/02/18 09:24 PM Re: OT: 32 bit created Sonar files in 64 bit Sonar? [Re: desertbluesman]
Larryz Offline
10k Club

Registered: 06/23/08
Posts: 11359
Loc: Northern California
Keep at it and move at a steady pace. Don't let anything slow you down and you'll be knocking out a new hit tune in no-time DBM! thu
_________________________
Take care, Larryz

Top


Moderator:  A String, Bluesape, myles_rose