Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#2910340 - 02/17/18 02:04 PM Ultra light strings.
picker Offline
10k Club

Loc: Near 12th Street and Vine...
I just got a set of Rev Willy's Mexican Lottery Strings, gauges 7-38. I have never used strings lower than 9-42 before, but I saw a video on You Tube about them, and I weas curious. I figured "Hey, you only live once, go for the gusto!", and spent a few bux I didn't have. I'm not sure what kind of guitar to put them on, single coils or 'buckers.

Oh, the trials of being overprivileged....

GP Island
#2910348 - 02/17/18 03:42 PM Re: Ultra light strings. [Re: picker]
Larryz Offline
10k Club

Loc: Northern California
I remember Bluesape liking those super light gauges...probably running 8's...let us know how those 7's work out? I quit running 9's and now I like 10's on electrics. I do not bend a lot so the lighter strings don't appeal to me...keep us posted once you try those 7's on for size! cool

#2910354 - 02/17/18 03:56 PM Re: Ultra light strings. [Re: Larryz]
whitefang Online   content
10k Club

Loc: Lincoln Park, MI, UNITED STATE...
Wow, that is light.

So, if you don't like how they sound, you can always use them for thread. wink
Whitefang

#2910367 - 02/17/18 05:24 PM Re: Ultra light strings. [Re: picker]
hurricane hugo Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Originally Posted By: picker
I just got a set of Rev Willy's Mexican Lottery Strings, gauges 7-38. I have never used strings lower than 9-42 before, but I saw a video on You Tube about them, and I weas curious. I figured "Hey, you only live once, go for the gusto!", and spent a few bux I didn't have. I'm not sure what kind of guitar to put them on, single coils or 'buckers.

Oh, the trials of being overprivileged....

From what I remember, Brian May's always used an .007-.039 set with Queen. Got a Burns guitar lying around?