Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#2909377 - 02/13/18 04:43 PM How Are You Preserving Your Body of Work?
Jazzooo Offline
Gold Member

Loc: San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
I know that a percentage of responses will be jokes, mostly from people who don't feel it makes any difference if anyone hears their music after they are gone (maybe even now, for that matter).

But as a composer, I don't feel that way and I'm betting that I'm not the only one. I've put a lot of energy into the music that felt important to me, and I love that a handful of human beings have stuck with me throughout the years, buying and/or appreciating the work I felt was my best. In case anything happens to me, I'd like to have a searchable collection of my best work...somewhere. Maybe for my wife, my brother, or anyone they tell about me. Maybe for friends who want to try a cover of a Doug Robinson tune. Maybe (most likely) for no one at all but better to have it than not.

A while back I spent a few weeks weeding through over 1100 songs, demos, soundtrack cuts, corporate music themes, etc to pick my personal 'best of' in different music categories. I compiled the best tracks as iTunes playlists by style and produced CDRs...which of course are going to be useless soon. I'm finding fewer and fewer people who even have CD players these days and by the time I die, who knows how much rarer they will become.

in addition, when I changed computers, iTunes shit all over my playlists, mixing other artists' songs in with mine, replacing dozens of carefully-selected tracks.