Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2909334 - 02/13/18 01:20 PM New guy, old questions
MrSquare Offline

Loc: Middle of California
I know that the perennial question from newbies has to be some variation of which keyboard should I buy. This will be yet another, but I'm hoping I can provide some context which will set it apart from the din.

The short story:
40+ year guitar player that has dabbled with keys. Looking for a studio only keyboard for recording at home. Hoping to turn a page and become more involved with keys, primarily piano and EP. Keyboards on my radar are NP3, RD2000, and Kurzweil Forte. Looking for suggestions not on the best keyboard but best for my circumstance. I currently have a Juno DS61 I will be keeping.

Long Story
I have been playing guitar for over 40 years. About four years ago, for about a year, I took piano lessons. I haven't played much since. I want to do some recording (solo) at home. I do not gig and don't expect to. I do intend to take keys more seriously and really learn to play piano. I no longer have an acoustic. I do have a Juno DS61 which I will keep.

I'm currently on the fence between Nord P3, Roland RD2000, and the Kurzweil Forte. I have owned an RD800 which I sold about a year ago. I have played the RD200 at GC and I'm happy with the action. Honestly I haven't played enough to be hooked on any one action. One hammer weighted 88 would be as much new to me as any other. This is good I guess because The Nord and the Kurz are not available locally to try out.

So I'm not looking for someone to tell me which Board is best, but instead draw on your own experience and tell me, based on my situation, which board you feel might better fit.

My main interest id in pianos and EPs, but as time goes on... who knows.

Thnx for taking the time to consider this.

Edited by MrSquare (02/13/18 01:22 PM)

KC Island