Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2907515 - 02/06/18 03:34 AM Lots of sharp notes on the first two frets
Brien Offline

For Christmas, my wife bought me an Epiphone ES-335 - my first electric guitar. I am an advanced beginner, maybe just touching being intermediate who has played acoustic only. After tuning, everything at the 12th fret would be sharp and especially at the first two frets. I brought the guitar to the Guitar Center where I informed them of the problem. They fixed the intonation at the 12th fret but most of the notes at the first two frets still play sharp - F, C, Am, etc... and certainly many single notes. I was told on another forum that I may be playing too hard, to use a lighter touch. Ok, I am working on that but it doesn't seem to always be the case but I recognize there have been differences in using a lighter touch. Someone else said the guitar needs to be played a while but that sounded odd to me and when I mentioned it to another friend who's been playing a long time, he gave me an odd look.

I am in the process of finding an experienced person to look into the issue and fix it but thought I would ask here for any insight as well. Thanks.

GP Island
#2907528 - 02/06/18 05:43 AM Re: Lots of sharp notes on the first two frets [Re: Brien]
whitefang Offline
10k Club

Loc: Lincoln Park, MI, UNITED STATE...
First of all, I'd like to WELCOME you to these boards, BRIEN. smile

Now I'll just say I've never run across your particular problem before. At least not with a NEW guitar, but only after my Epi acoustic spent years stored in it's original cheezy case. Could many things be the cause, and I'd have to say there's plenty folks here who can help get to the bottom of the trouble.
Whitefang

#2907569 - 02/06/18 08:10 AM Re: Lots of sharp notes on the first two frets [Re: whitefang]
Larryz Offline
10k Club

Loc: Northern California
WELCOME ABOARD BRIEN!