Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#2906531 - 02/02/18 05:15 AM Re: V3 Grand 3GB Piano Module [Re: The Piano Man]
TomKittel Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 07/09/13
Posts: 595
Originally Posted By: The Piano Man

Can you create layers/splits with adjustable key range and route to separate outputs?


There are a couple of hard-wired layers and splits, mainly bass/piano stuff. If more layers/splits are needed they must be programmed in the masterkeyboard I believe. I haven't tried that because I don't need the V3 for splits and such. Here's a link to the manual download:

http://www.v3sound.com/manuals/V3SOUND-USER-MANUAL-V3GRANDPIANO-3GB-A5-english1.0b.pdf
_________________________
Home: Yamaha N2, Kurzweil PC3, Roland SE02 & JX8P, Nord A1R, Oberheim Matrix 1000, DAW Studio One, Pianoteq, VB3-II, Arturia Mini V and other VSTi
Live: Forte 7, Uhl X3, Roland VR09, KP500S, RCF TT08

Top
KC Island
#2906545 - 02/02/18 06:25 AM Re: V3 Grand 3GB Piano Module [Re: Moonglow]
Moonglow Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 03/15/03
Posts: 4634
Loc: Northwest Indiana
Originally Posted By: Moonglow
Originally Posted By: TomKittel
The two main piano samples are a Boesendorfer Imperial and a Steinway D.

Does the V3 contain any "bright" piano programs that would be good for rock? Also, how does it sound in mono?

Bumpity-bump. What say ye Tom?
_________________________
"We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing."
- George Bernard Shaw

Top
#2906548 - 02/02/18 06:33 AM Re: V3 Grand 3GB Piano Module [Re: Moonglow]
Polkahero Offline
KCFF League Champ '15
Platinum Member

Registered: 05/07/10
Posts: 1227
Loc: Michigan
In the program list of the manual there are two "Rock Versions" of each piano sample.
_________________________
'57 Hammond B-3, '60 Hammond A100, '64 Leslie 251, '77 Leslie 330, '80 Leslie 770, '64 Hammond PR-40
Trek II UC-1A
Hammond SK1 + HX3 organ module
Kawai MP7
Alesis QSR





Top
#2911270 - 02/22/18 08:16 AM Re: V3 Grand 3GB Piano Module [Re: bill bosco]
rwe Offline
Member

Registered: 09/19/07
Posts: 4
Loc: Norway
I bought a used one from Austria. I love it. It play well with my Kurzweil PC3LE8 and looking forward to use it on stage.
I have earlier owned pro yamaha and roland stagepianoes, used pianoteq, but found at last Kurzweill as my favorite board. (sorry, never liked Nord) The pianosound in the kurz are as mentioned other playces a little bit old, but still playable. This module has some of the same warm/fat kurzweill pianosounds and are more up to date. I can recomand it.

Top
#2927336 - 05/16/18 09:49 AM Re: V3 Grand 3GB Piano Module [Re: rwe]
Moonglow Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 03/15/03
Posts: 4634
Loc: Northwest Indiana
Reviving this thread. I'm looking for an alternate piano for my Korg Kronos 88 to use live in my classic rock band. I'm reasonably happy with the Epic Grand I have installed but looking for some more variety. Any more experiences with this thing out there? How does it sound in mono? Any other third-party suggestions? I'm open to using an iPad.
_________________________
"We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing."
- George Bernard Shaw

Top
#2927342 - 05/16/18 10:17 AM Re: V3 Grand 3GB Piano Module [Re: Moonglow]
drawback Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/11/04
Posts: 3576
Loc: Victoria BC, Canada
I've been keeping an eye on this too. Looks like an easy plug & play solution to a few things without too many workarounds.
_________________________
SL88 Studio | MainStage | Ravenscroft 275 | Canterbury Rhodes | UVI Tines Anthology | Mojo61 + Lower | Korg Module + Scarbee | Kawai KG-2C

Top
#2927350 - 05/16/18 11:11 AM Re: V3 Grand 3GB Piano Module [Re: drawback]
Rod S Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 12/12/00
Posts: 3092
Loc: São Paulo, Brasil
For live use I'd think of going the iPad route.

Moonglow, since you have the kronos, have you looked at 3rd party piano libraries?

I'm always hoping Kurzweil will do an updated PC2R with new sounds. The sounds were not fancy, but they just sat well in a mix.
_________________________
Korg Kronos X73 / ARP Odyssey / Yamaha CS6x / P140 / Motif ES Rack / Akai MPK249 / Roland D-05 / JP-08 / Novation Mininova / NL2X / Waldorf Pulse II
MBP-LOGIC
American Deluxe P-Bass, Yamaha RBX760

Top
#2927361 - 05/16/18 12:28 PM Re: V3 Grand 3GB Piano Module [Re: Rod S]
Polkahero Offline
KCFF League Champ '15
Platinum Member

Registered: 05/07/10
Posts: 1227
Loc: Michigan
I just received the V3 piano module last week and I really like it. Both samples (Bosendorfer Imperial and Hamburg Steinway) sound great. It does have a limited user interface (volume and reverb only) so you do need to send MIDI command messages from your controller to change programs, volume, etc. Works for me because I only need one or two piano sounds and it's light enough to velcro to the end of my board which reduces the schlep factor.
_________________________
'57 Hammond B-3, '60 Hammond A100, '64 Leslie 251, '77 Leslie 330, '80 Leslie 770, '64 Hammond PR-40
Trek II UC-1A
Hammond SK1 + HX3 organ module
Kawai MP7
Alesis QSR





Top
#2927381 - 05/16/18 03:07 PM Re: V3 Grand 3GB Piano Module [Re: Polkahero]
drawback Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/11/04
Posts: 3576
Loc: Victoria BC, Canada
I'd velcro it to the side of a Mojo61. And it's got me wondering if a lower Mojo 61 keyboard could trigger it, while using the upper manual for everything Mojo-esque. Or just run it simultaneously with the Mojo61 sounds from the one keyboard, volume up/down as needed.

_________________________
SL88 Studio | MainStage | Ravenscroft 275 | Canterbury Rhodes | UVI Tines Anthology | Mojo61 + Lower | Korg Module + Scarbee | Kawai KG-2C

Top
#2927384 - 05/16/18 03:41 PM Re: V3 Grand 3GB Piano Module [Re: drawback]
Adan Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 01/14/10
Posts: 2629
Loc: San Francisco
Originally Posted By: drawback
I'd velcro it to the side of a Mojo61. And it's got me wondering if a lower Mojo 61 keyboard could trigger it, while using the upper manual for everything Mojo-esque. Or just run it simultaneously with the Mojo61 sounds from the one keyboard, volume up/down as needed.



I've got the Mojo 61 lower manual and have been wondering whether it could function this way. My first rather hurried attempt at it didn't work, but I'm going to experiment some more.
_________________________
Petrof upright, Crumar Seven, Crumar Mojo 61, Korg Vox Continental, Korg Prologue.

roccoromanucci.com

Top
#2927420 - 05/16/18 09:04 PM Re: V3 Grand 3GB Piano Module [Re: Adan]
Josh Paxton Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 06/16/10
Posts: 2047
I too was wondering about using one with a Mojo 61. I checked the manual to see if it would be possible to use split mode to trigger a module from the "lower manual" half of the keyboard, and have it send velocity, but I couldn't tell from a quick glance. If anyone has an answer, it would be much appreciated.
_________________________
The Artist Formerly Known as FunkKeyStuff

Top
#2927501 - 05/17/18 09:26 AM Re: V3 Grand 3GB Piano Module [Re: Josh Paxton]
Adan Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 01/14/10
Posts: 2629
Loc: San Francisco
I tried it, will post about it in the Mojo 61 thread.
_________________________
Petrof upright, Crumar Seven, Crumar Mojo 61, Korg Vox Continental, Korg Prologue.

roccoromanucci.com

Top
#2927634 - 05/18/18 04:14 AM Re: V3 Grand 3GB Piano Module [Re: Adan]
TomKittel Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 07/09/13
Posts: 595
I found CC74 (Cutoff) useful to brighten the V3's piano sounds if needed.

Top
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2


Moderator:  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner