Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2898755 - 12/31/17 02:53 AM Bridge Repair
splitting hare Offline
Gold Member

Loc: The 'Nooga
A family member has asked me to see if I can repair the bridge on her old Gibson C1 nylon string. It really just looks like I need to clean the guitar and bridge surfaces and reglue. Any advice as to a good glue to use in this situation? Other ideas or repair procedures? Thanks in advance for any advice! thu

GP Island
#2898758 - 12/31/17 04:23 AM Re: Bridge Repair [Re: splitting hare]
whitefang Offline
10k Club

Loc: Lincoln Park, MI, UNITED STATE...
Not being a luthier, I'd offhand say Gorilla glue. wink
But I'd be interested in knowing what type of adhesive is actually recommended. I've never seen that type of problem before, nor heard of anyone having that sort of thing happen to them. And I'd have thought it more likely to happen with a steel stringed instrument. Let us know how it gets resolved.
Whitefang

#2898776 - 12/31/17 08:08 AM Re: Bridge Repair [Re: whitefang]
DocPate Offline
Gold Member

Loc: Virginia

#2898791 - 12/31/17 09:05 AM Re: Bridge Repair [Re: DocPate]
Larryz Offline
10k Club

Loc: Northern California
The problem is more than likely someone trying to use steel strings on a nylon string guitar. Too much tension caused the bridge to pop off. There are some good videos on YouTube to review before you start. I would just take it to my guy and have it done right for about $20 bucks as he has the knowledge and the tools. +1 on Doc's Hide glue. Then put on a nice set of nylon strings and you're good to go. If the family member doesn't like nylon stringed guitars, perhaps a trade is in order...good luck and have fun with it... cool

#2898793 - 12/31/17 09:20 AM Re: Bridge Repair [Re: Larryz]
Winston Psmith Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Inside the Beltway