Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#2893990 - 12/04/17 09:06 PM Help choosing a piano vst plugin
sargentmonkey Offline

Hello I did a quick search but I couldn't find a similar topic. I'm completely new to the world of pianos and digital piano software. What plugin would you guys recommend for me. I play stuff kinda like elton john, queen, and beatles, brian wilson. I want a somewhat similar 70's rock/pop sound to them but I also want to be able to fiddle with some nobs and make a somewhat unique sound. Again, I know NOTHING about pianos or piano software so I can't be anymore specific than that. Any and all help is appreciated. My budget is up to 350$

KC Island
#2893996 - 12/04/17 09:33 PM Re: Help choosing a piano vst plugin [Re: sargentmonkey]
lvercaut Offline

Loc: Antwerp Belgium
Keyscape's Yamaha C7 rocks !
Garritan's CFX is also high quality but i think that pianomodel didn't exist already in the seventies...
Acoustic Samples C7 is another very good library.

#2894001 - 12/04/17 11:25 PM Re: Help choosing a piano vst plugin [Re: lvercaut]
TomKittel Offline

Pianoteq 6 Studio with Bluethner, Steinway B and Grotrian Steinweg. Awesome.

#2894006 - 12/05/17 12:55 AM Re: Help choosing a piano vst plugin [Re: TomKittel]
Mark Schmieder Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: San Francisco Bay Area
For that kind of playing, you could go with a Yamaha sample library (and I have plenty of them), but I am recently finding that for such aggressive playing styles, a Fazioli library cuts through the mix just as well, and without the mid-frequency weirdness. It's like a super-dynamic Steinway in some ways, but they differ a lot as well.

I prefer the one from TrueKeys, which may still be on sale for a day or two if you're lucky. Paired with Steinway and Bechstein. Not my favourite Steinway, but the Bechstein gets a lot of use on Beatles type stuff.