Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2890161 - 11/14/17 01:24 AM Nice version of Chega De Saudade
Floyd Tatum Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Vancouver Island, Canada
I've been playing this tune lately and came upon this video of Chick Corea and Gary Burton playing what must be Chick's arrangement of it. Outstanding.

KC Island
#2890162 - 11/14/17 01:29 AM Re: Nice version of Chega De Saudade [Re: Floyd Tatum]
Rod S Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: São Paulo, Brasil
Great version, thanks for sharing!

#2890163 - 11/14/17 02:35 AM Re: Nice version of Chega De Saudade [Re: Rod S]
Sospiri Offline

Loc: Crete, Greece
I've been listening to this version for a few years and it is without doubt the best IMHO!

Edited by Sospiri (11/14/17 02:36 AM)

#2890224 - 11/14/17 09:56 AM Re: Nice version of Chega De Saudade [Re: Sospiri]
SteinwayB Offline

Amazing playing; surprised Chick looks like he is reading the chart. Thought he would have memorized it decades ago!

#2890234 - 11/14/17 10:32 AM Re: Nice version of Chega De Saudade [Re: SteinwayB]
Dave Ferris Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Glendale, Ca.
I was just about to post, man that Yamaha is bright (actually it sort of hurts my ears) , then I noticed it was a Bosendorfer. The CFX sounds darker and not as thin as that. Not a Bosendorfer fan , at least for Jazz, in case you couldn't tell. wink

Great changes/arrangement and of course playing. And they were blowing over the re-harmed changes. They nailed the unison lines on this very involved arrangement. I love those series of ascending chords before the bridge.

I heard them at the Bowl some years ago on a Chick Tribute night. They had him in various contexts - electric band, the acoustic band with Gadd and Eddie Gomez. The Duo context which led off the concert was my favorite segment of the evening.