Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Page 4 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >
Topic Options
#2882318 - 09/29/17 07:55 AM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: CEB]
Synthoid Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 12/04/03
Posts: 9595
Loc: Pennsylvania, USA
Looking forward to the hands-on reviews.
_________________________
To stop the flow of music would be like the stopping of time itself, incredible and inconceivable.
-- Aaron Copland

Top
KC Island
#2882557 - 09/30/17 04:42 PM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: Synthoid]
CEB Offline
10k Club

Registered: 06/03/09
Posts: 12490
I haven't been able to overdrive anything yet.
_________________________
"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!
So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt

Top
#2882563 - 09/30/17 05:07 PM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: Synthoid]
Moonglow Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 03/15/03
Posts: 4429
Loc: Northwest Indiana
My D-05 hit the doorstep late afternoon yesterday. Earlier in the day brother Redkey advised that they started shipping, and I checked my email and sure enough it was on its way. Didn't expect it to land until Monday but a very pleasant surprise. Spent a good hour or so playing it today, had a fun trip back to the 1980s. The display is a cool vibe, it looks like the original.

I played all of the programs, and I can confirm they are faithful to the original. Much better than the Synth Legends/Axial programs I loaded into my Jupiter-80 or any other "D-50" replica programs I've heard on other synths. I gigged with a D-550 for many years, and although I haven't played it in a long while, I still feel I had a good reference point. Polyphony was not at all an issue.

Getting nit-picky, I felt perhaps some patches were not quite as fat (not that the D-50 was necessarily a "fat" synth) or as smooth as what I recall on my D-550, and that I may need to tame some of that '80s reverb a bit on some programs. I had to boost the volume on the channel of my amp the D-05 was plugged into, relative to the other the synths I was playing (Nord Stage, Kronos) to make the levels even. I had the volume on the D-05 wide open but didn't notice any distortion. I never really got into programming my D-550 (preset junkie) so I can't comment on those type of issues. I found all of my favorite patches I formerly used and look forward to integrating those into my rig again. Bottom line, it's a keeper. If you would like to have D-50 programs in your rig, you will dig this thing!
_________________________
"We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing."
- George Bernard Shaw

Top
#2882576 - 09/30/17 06:25 PM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: Moonglow]
CEB Offline
10k Club

Registered: 06/03/09
Posts: 12490
I'm on break. I just decided what the hell and I'm winging it. I don't have all the adapters and cabling to set it up the way I want. I'm just running it into the Audio in on the FA-06 and controlling it from the Kronos. It's a keeper.
_________________________
"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!
So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt

Top
#2882580 - 09/30/17 07:23 PM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: CEB]
CorpseGrinder88 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/16/15
Posts: 281
Loc: USA
I forgot it requires the mini stereo output. And I needed to find 4 AA batteries.

Once I scrounged up a stereo mini to dual RCA I was in business.

I'm running the D-05 output into the Montage A/D inputs and it sounds incredible. Montage into Radial JDI Duplex into the PA.

Brings back some great memories and having fun imitating some of the old Grusin sounds mixing with FM and piano.
_________________________
J a z z P i a n o 8 8

Yamaha C7D | Montage8 | CP300 | CP4
Hammond SK1-73

Top
#2882672 - 10/01/17 01:27 PM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: CorpseGrinder88]
RABid Offline
10k Club

Registered: 11/01/01
Posts: 12092
Batteries should be in the box. They are recessed in the foam so look carefully.
_________________________
Skate to where the puck was 5 years ago.

Top
#2882685 - 10/01/17 03:19 PM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: RABid]
CorpseGrinder88 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/16/15
Posts: 281
Loc: USA
Originally Posted By: RABid
Batteries should be in the box. They are recessed in the foam so look carefully.


You are correct, Sir! I found them. Thanks!!
_________________________
J a z z P i a n o 8 8

Yamaha C7D | Montage8 | CP300 | CP4
Hammond SK1-73

Top
#2883381 - 10/04/17 08:39 PM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: CorpseGrinder88]
burningbusch Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 10/22/00
Posts: 7586
Loc: Ghost Planet
People on the Boutique FB page are complaining the D-05 is much quieter than the other Boutiques. Could be Roland addressed the issue I posted above. They see it as a flaw, I don't.

Busch.

Top
#2883532 - 10/05/17 06:04 PM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: burningbusch]
hardware Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 03/04/14
Posts: 1059
Loc: Nashville, TN.
Quiet?
They need a 3.5mm Stereo to Y Insert cable.
My D-05 sounds big and fat or I would have ditched it.

Each Boutique has its own glass tempered blue light USB Hub/Monitor stand.
Same exact width of an ATA Case.

_________________________
Magnus C350 + FMR RNP + Realistic Unisphere Mic

Top
#2883552 - 10/05/17 09:11 PM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: hardware]
burningbusch Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 10/22/00
Posts: 7586
Loc: Ghost Planet
Originally Posted By: hardware
Quiet?
They need a 3.5mm Stereo to Y Insert cable.
My D-05 sounds big and fat or I would have ditched it.

Each Boutique has its own glass tempered blue light USB Hub/Monitor stand.
Same exact width of an ATA Case.



They aren't talking big and fat, only output gain relative to other Boutiques.

Busch.

Top
#2883575 - 10/06/17 05:32 AM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: CEB]
Synthoid Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 12/04/03
Posts: 9595
Loc: Pennsylvania, USA
That's disappointing. My old D-50 had some serious power. w00t
_________________________
To stop the flow of music would be like the stopping of time itself, incredible and inconceivable.
-- Aaron Copland

Top
#2883577 - 10/06/17 05:41 AM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: Synthoid]
CEB Offline
10k Club

Registered: 06/03/09
Posts: 12490
This is true but it is on par with all the other pieces in my rig.

I've been running it in clean mode, it seems to sit better in my Combis in clean mode.
_________________________
"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!
So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt

Top
#2883603 - 10/06/17 08:06 AM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: CEB]
GhostlySilver Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 03/22/06
Posts: 5440
Loc: Washington DC
Ah, so nobody is using the classic/vintage mode
_________________________
https://soundcloud.com/governorsilver

Top
#2883608 - 10/06/17 08:18 AM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: CEB]
Moonglow Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 03/15/03
Posts: 4429
Loc: Northwest Indiana
Originally Posted By: CEB
This is true but it is on par with all the other pieces in my rig....

Hmm. I had to crank my D-05 about 25-30% more relative to the other keyboards in my rig. I did not have to do this with my JU-06.
_________________________
"We don't stop playing because we grow old; we grow old because we stop playing."
- George Bernard Shaw

Top
#2883618 - 10/06/17 08:47 AM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: Moonglow]
CEB Offline
10k Club

Registered: 06/03/09
Posts: 12490
I was referring to the keyboard sub-mix.

In the submix it is balanced. I run the D-05 wide open. The other boards are around 50%. Headroom on the rack mixer is fine. If I need more volume from the D-05 I can get it from the rack mixer.

Maybe this was the fix for the distortion issue in other boutiques. smile


Edited by CEB (10/06/17 08:49 AM)
_________________________
"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!
So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt

Top
#2883873 - 10/08/17 09:42 AM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: CEB]
hardware Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 03/04/14
Posts: 1059
Loc: Nashville, TN.
I wouldn't even use Batteries, and I have a dozen of each size in Lithium I carry for pedals, mics, etc.
USB power works great.

Would love to hear from someone who successfully upgraded to 1.03 System from the Roland site.
I'm on 8.1 so I tried it first, then 7 and even their W10 drivers.
It freezes on the last page of the wizard installer.

This doesn't keep me from using the unit, but it does keep me from buying an editor, or an expensive hardware PG1000.
Wish Roland was more forthcoming on their plans for an editor.
Rumor is the SE-02 will have one, but D-05 MIDI is nowhere near as well designed as SE-02, hence the need for modifications.
Unless you're a factory brass kind of guy.
_________________________
Magnus C350 + FMR RNP + Realistic Unisphere Mic

Top
#2883892 - 10/08/17 11:57 AM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: hardware]
CEB Offline
10k Club

Registered: 06/03/09
Posts: 12490
I never put batteries in mine. I plug it into a 2.5A USB charger.
_________________________
"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!
So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt

Top
#2883914 - 10/08/17 02:11 PM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: CEB]
hardware Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 03/04/14
Posts: 1059
Loc: Nashville, TN.
So nobody here yet found time to install the 1.03 System update or Roland Driver Folder?

Didn't want to have to keep asking, just curious about the freeze on the last page of the installer.
Others have experienced this too.

Also who is recalling presets using MSB and LSB?
Or do you just create a user bank and avoid Bank recall.
_________________________
Magnus C350 + FMR RNP + Realistic Unisphere Mic

Top
#2883923 - 10/08/17 03:20 PM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: hardware]
CorpseGrinder88 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 11/16/15
Posts: 281
Loc: USA
Originally Posted By: hardware
So nobody here yet found time to install the 1.03 System update or Roland Driver Folder?

Didn't want to have to keep asking, just curious about the freeze on the last page of the installer.
Others have experienced this too.

Also who is recalling presets using MSB and LSB?
Or do you just create a user bank and avoid Bank recall.


I was able to install both the driver and the 1.03 System update but I'm using a PowerMac.

Which part of the system update failed? Because on either Windows or Mac it's just a matter of plugging the D-05 USB into the computer, powering up holding Patch8, and it shows up as a drive and you drag and drop the System file onto the drive. Final install pressing Patch 8.


Edited by JazzPiano88 (10/08/17 03:21 PM)
_________________________
J a z z P i a n o 8 8

Yamaha C7D | Montage8 | CP300 | CP4
Hammond SK1-73

Top
#2883976 - 10/08/17 08:36 PM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: CorpseGrinder88]
hardware Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 03/04/14
Posts: 1059
Loc: Nashville, TN.
Thanks for answering.
It's the Drive Folder Installation that doesn't complete.

Most exe files when loading data have back/next buttons grayed out until the "next" button becomes highlighted.
If I hit cancel after waiting several minutes it automatically uninstalls the folder and reboots.
I can see the drive Folder in C:/Program Files, open it up, but it just never finishes loading the data.
After reboot the Folder is gone, and is uninstalled in Control Panel/Programs too.

I ordered specific high quality USB Cables as a last resort.
It has to be because I possibly have a Phone Charging Cable instead of a USB 2 w/ Micro connector.
I bought these from Amazon because I wanted 6 inch cables to use with my USB/LCD Hub.

I'll post back later to verify what's up.

Cheers
_________________________
Magnus C350 + FMR RNP + Realistic Unisphere Mic

Top
#2883986 - 10/08/17 10:30 PM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: hardware]
DicemLabs.com Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 04/21/13
Posts: 4884
Loc: Orlando, Florida
I've been having a lot of fun with mine. It's funny, my D-50 was been out-of-service for quite some time. I just got it up and running a couple months ago.. good thing it only cost me $20. This module is pretty dead on. A little noisy maybe?? (or could just be my signal chain that day).

Top
#2884020 - 10/09/17 05:57 AM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: hardware]
CEB Offline
10k Club

Registered: 06/03/09
Posts: 12490
Originally Posted By: hardware
...

Also who is recalling presets using MSB and LSB?
Or do you just create a user bank and avoid Bank recall.



Not yet. That is the plan. I won't get around to it for a couple of weeks because I'm playing too much. The plan was to put it on a rack shelf and call everything from the Kronos.

On the D-05 Facebook group someone gave a positive report on interfacing the D-05 with editors librarian. Evidently "The Shift key is your friend." It seems it was not straight forward at first and caused this particular gentleman some frustration.


Edited by CEB (10/09/17 05:58 AM)
_________________________
"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!
So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt

Top
#2884215 - 10/10/17 08:31 AM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: CEB]
GhostlySilver Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 03/22/06
Posts: 5440
Loc: Washington DC
Originally Posted By: CEB


On the D-05 Facebook group someone gave a positive report on interfacing the D-05 with editors librarian.


Is this an editor/librarian supplied by Roland with the D-05?
_________________________
https://soundcloud.com/governorsilver

Top
#2884288 - 10/10/17 01:10 PM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: GhostlySilver]
hardware Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 03/04/14
Posts: 1059
Loc: Nashville, TN.
Bought a quality USB 2 micro Male and everything installed fine.
Time for a hardware PG1000.
_________________________
Magnus C350 + FMR RNP + Realistic Unisphere Mic

Top
#2884292 - 10/10/17 01:29 PM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: hardware]
Al Coda Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 08/31/08
Posts: 3899
Loc: out in the sticks
Originally Posted By: hardware
Bought a quality USB 2 micro Male and everything installed fine.
Time for a hardware PG1000.


I had one and sold it quickly even I own a D550 ītil today.
IIRC, it didnīt work realtime as we expect "realtime" to be.
You at least run SCOPE on a Windows PC when gigging, so why not using VPG 1000 and the librarian ...
Itīs free, performs realtime editing and runs on Win XP and higher and Linux as well.

Found a quote from another webpage confirming it doesnīt work "realtime" really.
PG1000

quote:

"PROGRAMMER pretty straightforward to use and all functions are clear and labeled: surely this little box can help you to access deeply hidden parameters transforming the D-50 in a kind of Roland JD-800. Sadly sliders cannot be really used for real-time tricks (like common cutoff) : first of all we are talking Midi Sysex, so the internal memory buffer goes quickly out of space, then, the sliders edits affect only the following triggered note."

A.C.

Top
#2884351 - 10/11/17 03:19 AM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: GhostlySilver]
CEB Offline
10k Club

Registered: 06/03/09
Posts: 12490
Originally Posted By: GhostlySilver
Originally Posted By: CEB


On the D-05 Facebook group someone gave a positive report on interfacing the D-05 with editors librarian.


Is this an editor/librarian supplied by Roland with the D-05?


Joe does this:
I had a devil of a time figuring this out.

I am on a Mac, OS 10.13 High Sierra, using a Focusrite Scarlet 2i4, and hooked the D-05 via MIDI and directly. This method works both ways. You need to start the bulk load operation, first by turning off INT MEM PROTECT, and then while you are about to hit the function button for BULK LOAD, hit SHIFT. This makes the screen say BULK LOAD (One Way)...

Then you use whichever software (I am using SysEx Librarian) to dump the sysex to the D-05.


Jamie is running this setup
Took me awhile to figure this out too using the shift "one way" mode.

Been doing a little testing with my Midi Quest D-50 (Windows) editor and it works, mostly. Has a few little odd quirks with getting banks and program change, but nothing you can't work around. Hopefully they will make a D-05 friendly version/update.

iPG-800 app works great for editing only. No issues with it so far.


Edited by CEB (10/11/17 06:59 AM)
_________________________
"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!
So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt

Top
#2884352 - 10/11/17 03:41 AM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: CEB]
CEB Offline
10k Club

Registered: 06/03/09
Posts: 12490
Woke up at 2:00 AM again. Read the parameter guide.

MSB=087. LSB=000-013. The user banks are first 000-007. Preset banks are 008-013. I hopefully will get some time to set this up Sunday. I kind of wish I had a mini keyboard with 5 pin DIN around the house. I would just setup shop on my bed.





Edited by CEB (10/11/17 06:58 AM)
_________________________
"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!
So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt

Top
#2884375 - 10/11/17 06:48 AM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: CEB]
GhostlySilver Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 03/22/06
Posts: 5440
Loc: Washington DC
Originally Posted By: CEB
Originally Posted By: GhostlySilver
Originally Posted By: CEB


On the D-05 Facebook group someone gave a positive report on interfacing the D-05 with editors librarian.


Is this an editor/librarian supplied by Roland with the D-05?


Joe does this:
I had a devil of a time figuring this out.

I am on a Mac, OS 10.13 High Sierra, using a Focusrite Scarlet 2i4, and hooked the D-05 via MIDI and directly. This method works both ways. You need to start the bulk load operation, first by turning off INT MEM PROTECT, and then while you are about to hit the function button for BULK LOAD, hit SHIFT. This makes the screen say BULK LOAD (One Way)...

Then you use whichever software (I am using SysEx Librarian) to dump the sysex to the D-05.


Jamie is running this setup
Took me awhile to figure this out too using the shift "one way" mode.

Been doing a little testing with my Midi Quest D-50 (Windows) editor and it works, mostly. Has a few little odd quirks with getting banks and program change, but nothing you can't work around. Hopefully they will make a D-05 friendly version/update.

iPG-800 app works great for editing only. No issues with it so far.


So it's 3rd party software. Not software provided by Roland.
_________________________
https://soundcloud.com/governorsilver

Top
#2884378 - 10/11/17 06:57 AM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: GhostlySilver]
CEB Offline
10k Club

Registered: 06/03/09
Posts: 12490
Correct. I use D50 Libarian that I provided the link to in this thread .... or maybe the other thread ... or maybe both threads.

I bought the D-05 with the hopes of using it with my existing D-50 resources. It looks like it should work based on the successes others are having.


Edited by CEB (10/11/17 06:57 AM)
_________________________
"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!
So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt

Top
#2884590 - 10/12/17 07:08 AM Re: D-05 is announced [Re: CEB]
CEB Offline
10k Club

Registered: 06/03/09
Posts: 12490
_________________________
"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!
So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt

Top
Page 4 of 5 < 1 2 3 4 5 >


Moderator:  Grave Bryce, Stephen Fortner