Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2867499 - 07/17/17 02:44 PM OT: Photographer
misterdregs Offline
Platinum Member

My girlfriend's daughter is a good amateur photographer with decent gear. She shot pics at a recent gig and they turned out pretty good. Not professional level (although she did come up with some pretty creative shots), but a hellava lot better than iPhone pics.

I don't know how many hours she spent editing, but what's a reasonable hourly amount to pay her for her time and expertise?

KC Island
#2867515 - 07/17/17 04:12 PM Re: OT: Photographer [Re: misterdregs]
Bottom End Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: VA
Well, it's a hard call. I'm no pro photographer, but from what I've read, they receive so much $ for x number of pictures you like. It's up to them to make the best use of their time and talent.

How many usable/creative pix did she offer you? Consider a flat rate of $50 for the shots you use/like, assuming she had between 5 and 10 shots. This encourages the photographer to do more shots that are good, and gives here some cash. If you use her shot (with her permission) on social media or flyers, give her a credit, too. Some other band might like her work and contact her.

Guitar solos last 30 seconds, the bass line lasts for the whole song.

#2867539 - 07/17/17 06:54 PM Re: OT: Photographer [Re: Bottom End]
drawback Online   content
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Victoria, BC Canada
Originally Posted By: misterdregs
My girlfriend's daughter is a good amateur photographer with decent gear. She shot pics at a recent gig and they turned out pretty good. Not professional level (although she did come up with some pretty creative shots), but a hellava lot better than iPhone pics.

I don't know how many hours she spent editing, but what's a reasonable hourly amount to pay her for her time and expertise?