Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#2865603 - 07/09/17 09:44 AM salsa band advice
cedar Offline
Gold Member

Loc: New York
I've been asked to sub for a salsa band next weekend. Leader seems to have some very rudimentary charts, which consist mostly of chord changes and occasional lines. I've listened to a few tunes, and notice that they often begin with a piano riff (clave?) that seems pretty specific. My hope is that the rhythmic line is fairly similar from tune to tune, because I'd prefer to avoid transcribing (if possible). I'm guessing that the rhythm is more important (to the band leader) than the precise notes. I'm also told there will be some opportunity for soloing.

Any advice? This is my first time playing in a salsa band but could turn into a regular gig I suppose.

KC Island
#2865607 - 07/09/17 10:09 AM Re: salsa band advice [Re: cedar]
BbAltered Offline

I suggest you ask these same question of the band leader.
Charlie Parker Omnibook
Stevie Wonder Songs in the Key of Life
Weather Report Mr. Gone

#2865608 - 07/09/17 10:16 AM Re: salsa band advice [Re: cedar]
U.Honey Offline

Loc: San Diego, CA, USA
Salsa is all about the rhythm. You kind of have to feel the groove. Some songs have 2-3 clave and some have 3-2 clave. And, for montuno piano the pattern is different depending whether the song has 2-3 clave or 3-2 clave. That's probably the first thing I would try to figure out, which songs are 2-3 and which are 3-2. That's not always obvious. Ask the percussionists if you're not sure.

#2865609 - 07/09/17 10:23 AM Re: salsa band advice [Re: U.Honey]
Jazz+ Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Ear plugs

#2865614 - 07/09/17 11:39 AM Re: salsa band advice [Re: Jazz+]
J. Dan Offline
10k Club

Loc: St. Louis, MO