Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#2862886 - 06/26/17 09:55 AM Ravenscroft 275 for iOS
Sven Golly Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
10k Club

Registered: 11/12/03
Posts: 12772
Loc: Toronto, ON
Okay, all you budding iPad rig players... just announced, Ravenscroft 275 for iOS.

https://www.uvi.net/ravenscroft-275-piano.html

Pertinent details:

SYSTEM REQUIREMENTS

Supported Operating System: iOS 9.3+
Works on:
- iPad 4 or newer
- iPhone 5 or newer (iPhone 6 or newer recommended)
- iPod Touch 6 or newer
883 MB of disk space

THIRD-PARTY SUPPORT

Inter-App Audio, Audio Unit v3 Plugin and Audiobus
External keyboard and MIDI-over-LAN support via CoreMIDI
Bluetooth MIDI Keyboard Compatible

$35.99 USD / $49.99 CAD
_________________________
"Do you see over yonder, friend Sancho, thirty or forty hulking giants? I intend to do battle with them and slay them."

Top
KC Island
#2862887 - 06/26/17 09:57 AM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: Sven Golly]
Sven Golly Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
10k Club

Registered: 11/12/03
Posts: 12772
Loc: Toronto, ON
_________________________
"Do you see over yonder, friend Sancho, thirty or forty hulking giants? I intend to do battle with them and slay them."

Top
#2862891 - 06/26/17 10:31 AM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: Sven Golly]
miden Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 2308
Loc: Australia
thanks for the heads up SG smile
_________________________
People are just no damn good!

Top
#2862900 - 06/26/17 10:57 AM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: miden]
tfort Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/06/16
Posts: 282
Appreciate the heads up. Mobile devices' move into music takes another (maybe big) step.

Top
#2862902 - 06/26/17 11:13 AM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: tfort]
Randelph Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 06/30/09
Posts: 509
Loc: San Francisco, CA
So, you Ravenscroft 275 users out there- whaddayatink?

I wonder if my iPad mini 2 will play it. Surprised they only need 833 MBs of space for so many samples. Looking forward to iOS reviews.
_________________________
NS 88 Classic / Casio MZ-X500 / iPad Syntronik, Galileo, Neo Soul Keys.
Yamaha melodica, soprano recorders / Congas
Roland Street Cube EX / QSC K10, K8.2 / SS V.3
Blue Encore 300, EV ND76



Top
#2862909 - 06/26/17 11:52 AM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: Randelph]
PianoMan51 Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 02/02/10
Posts: 1023
Loc: Cabin In The Woods
Ravenscroft compressed their files a few years ago. On my Mac it's 5.72Gb.

Perhaps they've left out a bunch of the mic positions, each with their own set of samples. Even with that, it's an amazing feat.

Top
#2862911 - 06/26/17 12:06 PM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: PianoMan51]
Stokely Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 12/15/12
Posts: 2019
Loc: Florida
The phrase "My God, it's full of stars" comes to my head for some reason.

I'm inching ever closer to a partial ipad rig, possibly for guitar as well--which complicates matters as then I'd need an audio in, so many interfaces won't do it. Anyway though, this is really interesting.

Top
#2862912 - 06/26/17 12:08 PM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: PianoMan51]
ElmerJFudd Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 11/30/14
Posts: 6510
Loc: USA, greater NY area
Well alright then. iPad 4 or better is a decent starting point. Can't wait for what follows with the older iOS devices being phased out. This new iPad Pro is said to benchmark like last year's MacBook Pros on some tasks. As storage and RAM goes up too devs will take advantage quickly.
https://www.google.com/amp/s/9to5mac.com/2017/06/14/ipad-pro-versus-macbook-pro-speed-tests/amp/

I wonder if we'll ever see Apple allow AU or plugin architecture on iOS? They still don't permit AU/VST on the macOS app store.
_________________________
Live: Yamaha S90ES, Roland VR-700
Home: Rebuilt 1910 Chickering 5'2", Fender Rhodes MKI 88k

Top
#2862920 - 06/26/17 12:56 PM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: ElmerJFudd]
miden Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 2308
Loc: Australia
Being an owner of a current iPad Pro 12" model, I can attest that it is handling all my iOS synths with ease. Albeit they are not as intensive as Ravenscroft (yet to buy this one). It handles four instruments in Sampletank as well as either iGrand or iLectric concurrently without a glitch and really good latency (well none, really that I can notice).

The only thing I do notice is occasional note dropout (have to listen REALLY closely hahaha) but I suspect that is more to do with the polyphony of the app rather than the iPad OS and architecture.
_________________________
People are just no damn good!

Top
#2862926 - 06/26/17 01:28 PM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: miden]
Roland_Guy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 04/19/13
Posts: 54
Loc: South Africa
Very nice! Now we just need a Mainstage or Gig performer type App to run all these synths. I am currently using AUM mixer and it's great, but does not have the customization that Mainstage has. It's clear Apple is phasing out the older iPads and soon only the 64 bit devices will be supported now that ios11 is on its way. So it will be interesting to see if the iPad gets desktop quality synths in the near future as I am sure the new iPad pros could handle easily.
_________________________
Nektar LX61+, iPad 9.7 Inch, Mainstage, Korg Kronos 2

Top
#2862931 - 06/26/17 01:37 PM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: Roland_Guy]
miden Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 2308
Loc: Australia
^^^^ +1 for adding Mainstage as an iOS app!
_________________________
People are just no damn good!

Top
#2862934 - 06/26/17 01:51 PM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: miden]
jeffinpghpa Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 05/22/07
Posts: 550
Loc: Charlotte, NC
What amount of polyphony could a current model iPad (not iPad Pro) support?
_________________________
Yamaha U1 Upright, Kurzweil Forte 7, Viscount Legend Live, Roland FA-07, Arturia Keylab Mk2, Native Instruments Komplete Kontrol S61 Mk2, Lots of iPad Stuff, Pair of QSC K10 Speakers

Top
#2862936 - 06/26/17 01:54 PM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: miden]
Reezekeys Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 02/07/11
Posts: 2977
Loc: NYC area
Don't software developers usually try to maximize whatever processing power is available to them? Or are they more interested in providing apps that run on the widest range of available devices? The iPad Pro has been out for a while now but we haven't seen a Mainstage-like app yet. Either the tech is not quite there yet or devs are waiting for a larger installed base of devices that can handle the load. Something tells me it's gonna be a while, but I'm sure we'll get there.

Top
#2862939 - 06/26/17 02:12 PM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: Reezekeys]
EscapeRocks Online   content
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 08/12/03
Posts: 4940
Loc: Texas
Those look like mini keys

I'll pass.


grin
_________________________
David
Gig Rig: Casio PX-5S | Arturia Keylab 61 | Alesis Vortex Wireless 2 | Mainstage |


Top
#2862941 - 06/26/17 02:23 PM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: EscapeRocks]
fjzingo Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 01/26/04
Posts: 1159
Loc: Gothenburg, Sweden
Sounds great, interestng they mention loseless flac engine which hints to the compression...
_________________________
/Fred

Cantaloop
Soulfetch
Soulbox

Top
#2863078 - 06/27/17 07:02 AM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: Roland_Guy]
Sven Golly Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
10k Club

Registered: 11/12/03
Posts: 12772
Loc: Toronto, ON
Originally Posted By: Roland_Guy
Very nice! Now we just need a Mainstage or Gig performer type App to run all these synths.


It already exists, with Audiobus 3 and the MIDIflow modules.
_________________________
"Do you see over yonder, friend Sancho, thirty or forty hulking giants? I intend to do battle with them and slay them."

Top
#2863085 - 06/27/17 07:36 AM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: Reezekeys]
ElmerJFudd Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 11/30/14
Posts: 6510
Loc: USA, greater NY area
Originally Posted By: Reezekeys
Don't software developers usually try to maximize whatever processing power is available to them? Or are they more interested in providing apps that run on the widest range of available devices? The iPad Pro has been out for a while now but we haven't seen a Mainstage-like app yet. Either the tech is not quite there yet or devs are waiting for a larger installed base of devices that can handle the load. Something tells me it's gonna be a while, but I'm sure we'll get there.


Apple makes it a little hard for developers to take advantage of the newest hardware only, as they frown upon apps being device specific. But Apple does always recommend latest version of iOS and they do cut off iOS updates to older hardware. App developers have been very clever in the way they they've dealt with weak CPU, minuscule RAM, and limited storage. Unfortunately not always with the answers we want to hear like running the audio engine at lower sample rate, raising buffer/latency, keeping samples small and stretching, limiting voices of polyphony, etc. Either with active sensing of performance or by allowing users to alter settings whet things don't run well. But app purchasers can be scathing in their reviews on the app store when things don't run to their expectations... 0 stars Fail! can wreck sales and reputation fast and this can make small developers hesitant to put out a hardware intensive app.

Thankfully, every generation of the tablets has seen improvements to the hardware. So we have great things yet to come! Who knows what these creative minds will dream up for us! Audiobus and audio copy/paste midiFlow etc. were answers to shortcomings great devs came up with!
_________________________
Live: Yamaha S90ES, Roland VR-700
Home: Rebuilt 1910 Chickering 5'2", Fender Rhodes MKI 88k

Top
#2863088 - 06/27/17 07:43 AM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: Randelph]
AnotherScott Offline
10k Club

Registered: 10/19/09
Posts: 12985
Originally Posted By: Randelph
Surprised they only need 833 MBs of space for so many samples.

Just because it has the same name, that doesn't mean it's the same thing. I suspect it's as much the full Ravensoft as IOS Ivory (for Korg Module) is the full Ivory. I would not expect anything like the same experience as on their full Mac/Win implementation. It will be some subset, with a smaller sample set. (Of course, it can still be good... 833 mb for piano is still a whole lot more sample data than most hardware pianos have.)
_________________________
Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!

Top
#2863105 - 06/27/17 08:51 AM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: AnotherScott]
Sven Golly Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
10k Club

Registered: 11/12/03
Posts: 12772
Loc: Toronto, ON
Originally Posted By: AnotherScott
Originally Posted By: Randelph
Surprised they only need 833 MBs of space for so many samples.

Just because it has the same name, that doesn't mean it's the same thing.


Well, duh. snax

(I know you know, Scott, and are only stating the painfully obvious... wink )
_________________________
"Do you see over yonder, friend Sancho, thirty or forty hulking giants? I intend to do battle with them and slay them."

Top
#2863132 - 06/27/17 10:38 AM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: Sven Golly]
Ashville.Guru Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 10/29/07
Posts: 1849
Loc: India
Originally Posted By: Sven Golly
Originally Posted By: Roland_Guy
Very nice! Now we just need a Mainstage or Gig performer type App to run all these synths.

It already exists, with Audiobus 3 and the MIDIflow modules.

SG, When you save a patch on MS and the like, internal state ("preset", but not quite) of each softsynth/plugin is saved as well - along with splits/layers. Is there an equivalent operation with Audiobus 3/MIDIflow?

I'm aware you can do it like old-school MIDI - via sending a bunch of PC/CC messages. MS and other hosts take it to the next level, where the musician doesn't even have to bother about all that. Heck, you don't even have to save presets on individual softsynths! Host patches remember the position of every control on every softsynth in the setup.

That's what I'm really intrigued about.

- Guru


Edited by Ashville.Guru (06/27/17 11:53 AM)
_________________________
“This is really what MIDI was originally about — encouraging cooperation between companies that make the world a more creative place." - Dave Smith

Top
#2863225 - 06/27/17 06:43 PM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: Ashville.Guru]
Sven Golly Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
10k Club

Registered: 11/12/03
Posts: 12772
Loc: Toronto, ON
Originally Posted By: Ashville.Guru

SG, When you save a patch on MS and the like, internal state ("preset", but not quite) of each softsynth/plugin is saved as well - along with splits/layers. Is there an equivalent operation with Audiobus 3/MIDIflow?

I'm aware you can do it like old-school MIDI - via sending a bunch of PC/CC messages. MS and other hosts take it to the next level, where the musician doesn't even have to bother about all that. Heck, you don't even have to save presets on individual softsynths! Host patches remember the position of every control on every softsynth in the setup.

That's what I'm really intrigued about.

- Guru


Yes, AB3 can save the state of the apps within it. Of course, there may be situations where this MAY not work, depending on which apps you're running, but I'm not aware of any.

_________________________
"Do you see over yonder, friend Sancho, thirty or forty hulking giants? I intend to do battle with them and slay them."

Top
#2863238 - 06/27/17 08:46 PM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: AnotherScott]
ElmerJFudd Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 11/30/14
Posts: 6510
Loc: USA, greater NY area
Originally Posted By: AnotherScott
Originally Posted By: Randelph
Surprised they only need 833 MBs of space for so many samples.

Just because it has the same name, that doesn't mean it's the same thing. I suspect it's as much the full Ravensoft as IOS Ivory (for Korg Module) is the full Ivory. I would not expect anything like the same experience as on their full Mac/Win implementation. It will be some subset, with a smaller sample set. (Of course, it can still be good... 833 mb for piano is still a whole lot more sample data than most hardware pianos have.)


We can get a good idea of what's here from the product page. It's 833mb however it's compressed to FLAC - so perhaps more here than the size suggests with regard to how much stretching/thinning done or velocity layers removed. But, only one perspective (close) is included.
No Unacorda
No Half Pedal
No Mute Strikes
No Keys, pedal, sympathetic resonances volumes control
The convolution reverb has been replaced by a more CPU friendly SparkVerb from UVI
No precise tuning
Limited MIDI curve control

And even so, as already mentioned, iPad 4 is minimum spec.
_________________________
Live: Yamaha S90ES, Roland VR-700
Home: Rebuilt 1910 Chickering 5'2", Fender Rhodes MKI 88k

Top
#2863259 - 06/27/17 11:58 PM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: Sven Golly]
Ashville.Guru Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 10/29/07
Posts: 1849
Loc: India
Originally Posted By: Sven Golly
Yes, AB3 can save the state of the apps within it. Of course, there may be situations where this MAY not work, depending on which apps you're running, but I'm not aware of any.

Thanks for the heads up. I just checked out some of the videos and documentation on the State Saving feature of AB3. It does seem to bring things on par with laptop hosts - so long as apps comply with AB3 standard.

This is one more of the many reasons to celebrate being a keyboard player in this day and age. thu

- Guru
_________________________
“This is really what MIDI was originally about — encouraging cooperation between companies that make the world a more creative place." - Dave Smith

Top
#2863269 - 06/28/17 02:05 AM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: Ashville.Guru]
Roland_Guy Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 04/19/13
Posts: 54
Loc: South Africa
A User Review. He runs it on iPad Air 2.

https://youtu.be/zDHVgEr9R0g
_________________________
Nektar LX61+, iPad 9.7 Inch, Mainstage, Korg Kronos 2

Top
#2863346 - 06/28/17 09:08 AM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: Roland_Guy]
miden Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 2308
Loc: Australia
$56 out here in Oz grin makes it probs one of the most expensive apps in the store!!

Be nice if they gave some sort of free note/time limited demo, especially a that price (for an iOS app). But it does look nice though wink
_________________________
People are just no damn good!

Top
#2863352 - 06/28/17 09:23 AM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: miden]
ahutnick Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 08/14/05
Posts: 102
Loc: san francisco bay area
I noticed the user review person had the audio setting on 1028!Not good for normal piano playing

Top
#2863355 - 06/28/17 09:35 AM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: Roland_Guy]
tfort Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/06/16
Posts: 282
Thanks for the link to the review.

Youtube suggested other reviews of the Ravenscroft for iOS:
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pSna00noinw
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SIDC-uJduXc

Top
#2863357 - 06/28/17 09:40 AM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: miden]
Sven Golly Offline
KC Ambassador of Goodwill
10k Club

Registered: 11/12/03
Posts: 12772
Loc: Toronto, ON
Originally Posted By: miden
$56 out here in Oz grin makes it probs one of the most expensive apps in the store!!


Not even close.

Look up Yamaha's Professional Piano Tuning Application PT-A1.

You might want to be sitting down before you do so. snax

_________________________
"Do you see over yonder, friend Sancho, thirty or forty hulking giants? I intend to do battle with them and slay them."

Top
#2863386 - 06/28/17 10:49 AM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: Sven Golly]
Randelph Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 06/30/09
Posts: 509
Loc: San Francisco, CA
To answer my own question about whether it'll run on the iPad mini 2: it doesn't specify on app page, all it says is ipad 4 and up. The ipad 4 has the 6x chipset running a dual core at 1.4 hz , the iPad mini 2 has the apple 7 chipset running a dual core at 1.3 hz, they both have 1 GB of RAM.

So it appears it'll probably run, though someone who responded on the You Tube commments section said he had some hiccups with the iPad mini 2.
_________________________
NS 88 Classic / Casio MZ-X500 / iPad Syntronik, Galileo, Neo Soul Keys.
Yamaha melodica, soprano recorders / Congas
Roland Street Cube EX / QSC K10, K8.2 / SS V.3
Blue Encore 300, EV ND76



Top
#2863395 - 06/28/17 11:18 AM Re: Ravenscroft 275 for iOS [Re: Sven Golly]
miden Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 01/30/06
Posts: 2308
Loc: Australia
Originally Posted By: Sven Golly
Originally Posted By: miden
$56 out here in Oz grin makes it probs one of the most expensive apps in the store!!


Not even close.

Look up Yamaha's Professional Piano Tuning Application PT-A1.

You might want to be sitting down before you do so. snax



HeadPop OMG!! i stand corrected - $700!!!
_________________________
People are just no damn good!

Top
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >


Moderator:  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner