Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2862586 - 06/24/17 02:21 PM What Advice Would You Give Your Younger Self?
BigMoney Offline

Getting pretty deep with this question fellas. I'm a young guy myself at just 22. I'm curious as to what advice you would give yourself if you could go back in time. Can be music or non-music related

Cheers

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCcZ2NCZyxrBJYC5yufPaVAg

GP Island
#2862595 - 06/24/17 03:26 PM Re: What Advice Would You Give Your Younger Self? [Re: BigMoney]
Delta Offline

Loc: Ormond Beach, FL
As far as playing guitar, it would be, don't ever quit playing. I started playing at 12, took a year of lessons at 13, but at 17 I quit playing for 15 years. I didn't even have a guitar. Once in awhile I'd pick one up at a party and play and people would say I was pretty good. I started playing again at 32, shortly after the birth of my son and have been playing ever since. I now have a home recording studio and 6 guitars. Keeps me out of the bars.

#2862631 - 06/25/17 03:58 AM Re: What Advice Would You Give Your Younger Self? [Re: Delta]
whitefang Online   content
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Lincoln Park, MI, UNITED STATE...
As for NON music related, I suppose I could fill THREE threads with that sort of stuff. So I'll just limit it to music.....

Get LESSONS. Mow lawns, shovel snow, scoop dog crap off people's yards, Spend each weekend searching for empties, ANYTHING short of peddling your adolescent ass for money, but use it for LESSONS!

Your buddies wanna got to the movies and ask you to go to?

Tell 'em "Have fun." and wave "bye-bye." Pocket that cash and get LESSONS.

Hey! Wouldn't you look SHARP in that cool looking SHIRT? So, LOOK like a bum and get LESSONS.

OK, you can spare a buck or two for gas in your '60 Ford Falcon, but spend the REST of your car wash pay for LESSONS. (Yes, a buck or two would suffice it was that long ago)