Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2846533 - 04/02/17 08:37 PM An industry trailblazer has passed.
Dannyalcatraz Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Dallas/FW Metroplex, Texas

My FLMS- Murphy's Music in Irving, Tx

http://murphysmusictx.com/

GP Island
#2846534 - 04/02/17 08:43 PM Re: An industry trailblazer has passed. [Re: Dannyalcatraz]
Larryz Online   content
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Northern California
RIP Ikutaro Kakehashi...You built a great company with great products. I still have fond memories of my Roland Juno 60. I use my Roland Cube Street EX4 amp just about every day! Condolences to your friends and family...

#2846571 - 04/03/17 04:33 AM Re: An industry trailblazer has passed. [Re: Larryz]
whitefang Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Lincoln Park, MI, UNITED STATE...
I have no personal experience with any of Roland's products, but only know I've seen that stuff EVEYWHERE for a long long time.

The man certainly WAS an important figure in music, and so his passing is definitely sad news.

RIP sir, your legacy is surely noted.
Whitefang

#2846574 - 04/03/17 05:29 AM Re: An industry trailblazer has passed. [Re: whitefang]
Winston Psmith Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Inside the Beltway
My deepest respects. His work has been a huge part of my sound, for many, many years. Rest In Peace, sir, and many thanks.

http://4-4-2music.bandcamp.com/album/regrets-only

#2846599 - 04/03/17 07:36 AM Re: An industry trailblazer has passed. [Re: Winston Psmith]
DocPate Offline
Gold Member

Loc: Virginia
RIP. The Cube is a nice little amp.

#2846636 - 04/03/17 09:12 AM Re: An industry trailblazer has passed. [Re: DocPate]
Dannyalcatraz Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

I don't know if anyone noticed, but deeper into the obituary, they pointed out:

Quote:
Kakehashi also started another successful music company, Boss, which focused on effects pedals for guitars and bass.