Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2844047 - 03/23/17 11:27 AM My Brand New CD!
Jazzooo Offline
Gold Member

Loc: San Miguel de Allende, Mexico
https://duotunes.hearnow.com

If you didn't already know of and appreciate my friend, the late guitarist Ken Basman who had called San Miguel de Allende his home for a couple of decades, let me tell you about him.

His musical gifts were deep--he was an incendiary and swinging improviser; any guitarist who heard him even once would tell you that Ken was a true master of jazz, funk and blues guitar. He was also the most sensitive and empathetic musical partner I'll probably ever know. For me, Ken was the single most motivating source of inspiration I'd met since I studied with bebop trombone legend Frank Rehak in my 20s. He definitely left me better than he found me.

Ken and I did lots of concerts and gigs with great bands, but our favorite musical activity was DUOTUNES, where we played improvised piano/guitar duets, a skill set we stumbled upon by accident almost 13 years ago. We talked about feeling a little guilty when someone hired us as a duo, because we worried that we got more from the music than anyone else.

With the idea of one day releasing a CD, we started casually recording our improvisations (usually based on standards or originals) a few years ago--we weren't in a hurry and in fact we would sometimes re-record songs just for the fun of doing them differently from time to time. Our final conversation in the hospital was about two new tunes to try out.

Throughout the CD, I'm playing my Kawai grand and on a couple of tracks, a Roland VR organ.