Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2843270 - 03/20/17 08:40 PM Feeling compelled to memorize the exact keyboard lines.
Barryjam Offline

Loc: Auburn, Northern CA
In another thread, I revealed that I was a Psychologist in my day gig prior to retirement. Now, I'm the one needing help!

I've got a really good ear for melody lines and chords, and a strong work ethic, but my reading is not great, and my writing notes as cues is worse. So I am the new keyboardist in a 12-piece horn band, doing stuff like Chicago, TOP, etc. These are new old songs for me.

I can certainly get through the tunes, but I'm feeling compelled to not only play the pretty exact solos (which I'm OK with) but also the particular sequence of comping rhythms and chords. For instance, in TOP's "You're Still a Young Man," it is not enough for me to just play Bbb9 arpeggios at the end of verse progressions, I find myself practicing the exact arpeggios or chord inversions from the original recordings, which change from verse to verse. Then I get to rehearsal, and, surprise, surprise, I get through the song correctly but don't have muscle memory of which comping lines go where. But why am I not ecstatic that I can get through the tune without a trainwreck??? I have no such UCD about 3 chord songs, thank goodness.

Is it excellence or sickness to get into 30 songs at this level of perfectionism, and would I be better off spending practice time on general chops rather than song perfection? And actually just trust my own interpretations more. How do you all deal with this in new band learning?

Home: Steinway L, Bob Schleicher A100 chop, 142 Leslie.

Gigs: Yamaha CP4, Crumar Mojo 61, Ventilator II. Lounsbury H&F. A&H QUsb mixer, Crown & QSC amps, JBL SRX-700 series speakers

KC Island
#2843274 - 03/20/17 08:45 PM Re: Feeling compelled to memorize the exact keyboard lines. [Re: Barryjam]
cphollis Online   content
Platinum Member