Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2842887 - 03/19/17 02:16 PM So.. I have to mic a leslie (in the studio)
drockfresh Offline

Finally! The 147 is up and running! laugh

I want to put a permanent mic setup on it and I'm no tracking engineer.

* will have to be close-miced (don't have the space to pull it back in the room)

* would prefer to use *two mics and *not three because of available preamp channels. *one mic would be even better.

The back is open (no covers on the top and bottom vents) and I can't really turn it around in the room because I need access to the volume control (and custom "stop switch!" on the preamp).

I have a few dynamics: SM57(x2), SM7B, MD421

And an AT4050 Condenser

I'm willing to sell some or all of my mics to get ones that work the best. Smaller mics would be even better (small diaphram condenser).

This is a permanent setup for my little production studio

Where do I get started? shocked

Edited by drockfresh (03/19/17 10:03 PM)

KC Island
#2842889 - 03/19/17 02:41 PM Re: So.. I have to mic a leslie (in the studio) [Re: drockfresh]
timwat Offline
Quite wealthy...spiritually
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Concord,CA,UNITED STATES
Might be worth taking a look at this article.

#2842891 - 03/19/17 02:47 PM Re: So.. I have to mic a leslie (in the studio) [Re: timwat]
ABECK Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Framingham,MA,UNITED STATES
For a close sound, 2x57 in an xy pattern (90 degrees) centered on the middle of the upper rotor. 421 on the bass baffle.

OR, if you don't really need stereo, point the AT at the Center of the cab...move up or down, depending on how loud you want the bass.

#2842894 - 03/19/17 02:54 PM Re: So.. I have to mic a leslie (in the studio) [Re: ABECK]
drockfresh Offline

Originally Posted By: ABECK
For a close sound, 2x57 in an xy pattern (90 degrees) centered on the middle of the upper rotor. 421 on the bass baffle.