Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#2839671 - 03/04/17 03:35 PM Les Paul electrical popping sound. What's happening?
bbqbob Offline
Gold Member

Loc: Maine
I have a Les Paul Standard and when I touch the screws on the rear access plates with my hands or torso. I hear a sharp popping sound from the amp. It get the same sound when I first touch any string but does not continues so long as I keep in touch with the strings. I suspect I have a grounding problem somewhere but I am not an expert when it comes to guitar electronics. Does anyone have any ideas what might be going on? Thanks in advanced!

GP Island
#2839700 - 03/04/17 05:56 PM Re: Les Paul electrical popping sound. What's happening? [Re: bbqbob]
Caevan O'Shite Offline
20k Club

Loc: The Great Spirit's Handprint o...
It is very likely a grounding issue; by prcess of elimination with only a cable between your guitar and amp, make sure that it isn't your cable or amp, and try another guitar, too, if you can. Then if it's none of those, open up the control-cavity cover and look for loose or broken wires and connections, and the wiring to the output-jack.

~ Caevan James-Michael Miller-O'Shite ~
_ ___ _ Leprechaun, Esquire _ ___ _

#2839707 - 03/04/17 06:31 PM Re: Les Paul electrical popping sound. What's happening? [Re: Caevan O'Shite]
bbqbob Offline
Gold Member

Originally Posted By: Caevan O'Shite
It is very likely a grounding issue; by prcess of elimination with only a cable between your guitar and amp, make sure that it isn't your cable or amp, and try another guitar, too, if you can. Then if it's none of those, open up the control-cavity cover and look for loose or broken wires and connections, and the wiring to the output-jack.