Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2756897 - 02/18/16 05:24 PM Optimizing Basement Acoustics - Balancing Treatment Usage
Furious G Offline

Loc: Ohio
Hello Ethan (and members),

First post here. Special thanks in advance to Ethan your forum and for choosing to share your wealth of experience as well as for all detailed / useful information shared in public forum. Extremely helpful in the planning and use of materials for my music basement workspace.

My main questions center around specifying and optimizing the choice of materials in the ceiling and floor for the usage goals within the given space, my basement.

Space usage / purpose:
I'm a full-time musician (performer / teacher). The uses of this basement space will be four fold:
1. Recording / Mixing - most of this will be direct or close-microphone recording (vocals, guitar / bass DI, sequenced drums, keys), so it's more important for this space to act like a control room than have the dynamics of a tracking room. Acoustic accuracy, neutrality and a strong, uncolored stereo is really important, especially in the mixing chair. (I may however evolve from this to additionally wanting to do live bands at some point.)
2. As an environment for teaching. I teach guitar, voice, bass and uke to students young and old. Soundwise for this, I want it to function similar to a control room (accuracy is important), so 1 and 2 are very similar, but this is where the aesthetics additionally come into play. I want it to be a warm welcoming environment that feels like another room of the house and not a 'basement' (what it is now). I also use recording as a teaching tool, so again emphasizing the tracking room mentality.