Please note: You can easily log in to MPN using your Facebook account!

Heads-up: SpaceStation keyboard amp is apparently back

Dan L, great suggestion. I will infer from your usage, that the SSv3's desirable room-filling properties doesn't "bleed" into the keyboard player's vocal mic any more than a traditional monitor (or even PA). I.e., a keyboardist's vocal mic doesn't feedback more when an SSv3 is the monitor (or combined monitor-PA on intimate gigs) as compared to traditional speaker. Sound right?

Aspen, could you give the exact specs for the SS fuse? Thanks, Ray
I'm very confused about the fuse too. Elsewhere in the thread, Aspen has recommended "changing the 1.6 amp fuse for a 2 amp" in 230v models. If I recall correctly, he's also recommended slo-blo fuses. But the back of the amp is clearly marked "3.15 Amp Fuse" The fuse itself (as far as these old eyes can see) is marked "T3.15A250V" I can't find "slo-blo" anywhere on the amp or the fuse. I'm no engineer, but when it comes to fuses, I'd think there's a pretty big difference between a 1.6 Slo-blo and 3.15 fast acting type.

OK - the 1.6 amp slo-blo fuse is recommended ONLY for 220 volt use - most of the world electrical grid is 220 volt, the US uses 110, Japan uses 100 (unless they have changed recently) for normal outlets. the 3.15 amp fuse is used ONLY in the 110 volt instances. By electrical theory, Power (watts) is equal to the product of voltage (volts) times current (amperes).

A 3.15 amp fuse at 110 volts can carry a load of 346.5 watts. A 1.6 amp fuse at 220 volts can carry a load of 352 watts. These figures are quite close to each other in power.