Music Player Network

Previous Thread
Next Thread
Print Thread
What do you guys use for vocodor mic? #2569521 02/05/14 11:08 AM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,013
M
Mogut Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
M
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,013
I use the vocodor out of my motif for a couple songs for my coverband(funkytown, getlucky). But I basically setup a full size second sm58, and it looks silly, at least I think so to have 2 mics. I would like to use a more slimmed down mic thats more covert. Any ideas?

At first I thought just add a clip to my vocal mic and use a small mic of sort, but I cant have my voice leak into the vocal mic


-Greg
Motif XS8, MOXF8, Hammond XK1c, Vent
Rhodes Mark II 88 suitcase, Yamaha P255
KC Island
Re: What do you guys use for vocodor mic? [Re: Mogut] #2569531 02/05/14 11:26 AM
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,258
Analogaddict Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Aug 2002
Posts: 3,258
How about an A/B box with a switch..? Using one mic for both purposes would be beneficial. I use an SM57 on a separate stand, tilted downwards. I bring it back up when I need it...

Re: What do you guys use for vocodor mic? [Re: Analogaddict] #2569533 02/05/14 11:34 AM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,331
DanL Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,331
I use a headset mic for the vocoder. Put it on between songs and take it off when done.


Live: Korg Kronos 2 88, Nord Electro 5d Nord Lead A1
Toys: Roland FA08, Novation Ultranova, Moog LP, Roland SP-404SX, Roland JX10,Emu MK6
www.bksband.com
www.echoesrocks.com
Re: What do you guys use for vocodor mic? [Re: DanL] #2569537 02/05/14 11:48 AM
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,637
CEB Offline
10k Club
Offline
10k Club
Joined: Jun 2009
Posts: 13,637
Those are good ideas. I run either a CO4 or SM57 for the vocoder and it is awkward. Juggling the two boom stands is like a monkey trying to @@@@ a football.


"It doesn't have to be difficult to be cool" - Mitch Towne

"A great musician can bring tears to your eyes!!!
So can a auto Mechanic." - Stokes Hunt
Re: What do you guys use for vocodor mic? [Re: CEB] #2569543 02/05/14 12:08 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,331
DanL Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,331
The a/b thing wouldn't work for me because I have to do both vocoder and sing backups during the songs I use the vocoder in. I've been borrowing a headset from a drummer friend, I bought one but it had the wrong end on it (for a wireless pack) and when I rewired it for xlr, it had a really low output. I'm looking at an Audio Technica that Guitar Center has for around 90 bucks.


Live: Korg Kronos 2 88, Nord Electro 5d Nord Lead A1
Toys: Roland FA08, Novation Ultranova, Moog LP, Roland SP-404SX, Roland JX10,Emu MK6
www.bksband.com
www.echoesrocks.com
Re: What do you guys use for vocodor mic? [Re: DanL] #2569546 02/05/14 12:11 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 634
W
wineandkeyz Offline
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
W
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 634
I can't remember the brand or model, but I use a hypercardioid mic to reduce the risk of feedback from my keyboard monitor. I mount it and the SM58 I use for vocals on one of these:



I'm looking at using an A/B switch, though, so I won't have to set up both mics.


LIVE: Yamaha S70XS; Roland Jupiter-80; Nord Electro 6D-61; IEMs, SSV3 or Traynor K4
HOME: Yamaha S90ES; Hammond XK3C & Vent; Roland Fantom X7; DSI Prophet Rev2-16
QUIK-LOK X STANDS!
Re: What do you guys use for vocodor mic? [Re: DanL] #2569552 02/05/14 12:14 PM
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 634
W
wineandkeyz Offline
Gold Member
Offline
Gold Member
W
Joined: Feb 2006
Posts: 634
Originally Posted By: DanL
The a/b thing wouldn't work for me because I have to do both vocoder and sing backups during the songs I use the vocoder in.


At the same time?
If not, you could use an A/B footswitch to go back and forth quickly.


LIVE: Yamaha S70XS; Roland Jupiter-80; Nord Electro 6D-61; IEMs, SSV3 or Traynor K4
HOME: Yamaha S90ES; Hammond XK3C & Vent; Roland Fantom X7; DSI Prophet Rev2-16
QUIK-LOK X STANDS!
Re: What do you guys use for vocodor mic? [Re: wineandkeyz] #2569553 02/05/14 12:18 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,331
DanL Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,331
on one song, yes. on the other, it'd be a real headache to deal with a footswitch between vocal and vocoder phrases.


Live: Korg Kronos 2 88, Nord Electro 5d Nord Lead A1
Toys: Roland FA08, Novation Ultranova, Moog LP, Roland SP-404SX, Roland JX10,Emu MK6
www.bksband.com
www.echoesrocks.com
Re: What do you guys use for vocodor mic? [Re: DanL] #2569626 02/05/14 03:48 PM
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 13,606
J. Dead Offline
Bannination Free Since '08
10k Club
Offline
Bannination Free Since '08
10k Club
Joined: Jul 2008
Posts: 13,606
For my duo, I sing leads on some songs, backups on others, and have some vocoder parts. My vocal mic is a Beyerdynamic Opus 89. I use an XLR to TRS cable into input 1 of my Kronos. Global default routes it directly out Aux 1, dry, and it's treated normally. Internally, it can alternately be routed into the vocoder, who's output is mixed with keys in the main out. Aux 1 can be muted or not. So I can have it go vocoder, direct, or both, on a per patch basis. Side benefit is I can add additional insert effects before the Aux out, so in a sequence, I can have it put a tempo matched delay on a specific word, for instance.


Dan

Acoustic/Electric stringed instruments ranging from 4 to 230 strings, hammered, picked, fingered, slapped, and plucked. Analog and Digital Electronic instruments, reeds, and throat/mouth.
Re: What do you guys use for vocodor mic? [Re: J. Dead] #2569630 02/05/14 04:05 PM
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,013
M
Mogut Offline OP
MP Hall of Fame Member
OP Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
M
Joined: Mar 2005
Posts: 2,013
awesome! Thanks guys, didnt even think of a headset mic


Probably do that...


-Greg
Motif XS8, MOXF8, Hammond XK1c, Vent
Rhodes Mark II 88 suitcase, Yamaha P255
Re: What do you guys use for vocodor mic? [Re: Mogut] #2569635 02/05/14 04:25 PM
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,725
Toano88 Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Apr 2010
Posts: 2,725


Boards: Kurzweil SP-6, Roland FA-08, VR-09, DeepMind 12
Modules: Korg Radias, Roland D-05, Bk7-m & Sonic Cell
Re: What do you guys use for vocodor mic? [Re: Toano88] #2569835 02/06/14 01:40 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,203
HAM&EGZ Offline
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,203


SpaceStation V3,
MoxF6,PX5S,Hammond-SK2,Artis7,Stage2-73,
KronosX-73,MS Pro145,Ventilator,OB DB1,Lester K
Toys: RIP died in the flood of 8/16 1930 Hammond AV, 1970s Leslie 145, 1974 Rhodes Stage
Re: What do you guys use for vocodor mic? [Re: HAM&EGZ] #2569836 02/06/14 01:41 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,203
HAM&EGZ Offline
Platinum Member
Offline
Platinum Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 1,203


SpaceStation V3,
MoxF6,PX5S,Hammond-SK2,Artis7,Stage2-73,
KronosX-73,MS Pro145,Ventilator,OB DB1,Lester K
Toys: RIP died in the flood of 8/16 1930 Hammond AV, 1970s Leslie 145, 1974 Rhodes Stage
Re: What do you guys use for vocodor mic? [Re: HAM&EGZ] #2569893 02/06/14 03:57 PM
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,411
S
Stokely Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
S
Joined: Dec 2012
Posts: 2,411
Dumb question perhaps, as I haven't used a vocoder much (but I have on my Virus that I was thinking of using): the mic doesn't have to be great, correct? It's just modulating the synth sound so why couldn't you use a little computer headset mic (I happen to have one sitting around!).

Re: What do you guys use for vocodor mic? [Re: Stokely] #2569898 02/06/14 04:13 PM
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,331
DanL Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member
Joined: Sep 2005
Posts: 4,331
it depends on how loud the environment is, for live you want a unidirectional mic that won't pic up a bunch of garbage from the background. but yeah, if it's got a decent pickup pattern, it'd work. That's why I'm not spending a fortune on a high end headset.

The one I use now that I'm borrowing is a shure sm10a.


Live: Korg Kronos 2 88, Nord Electro 5d Nord Lead A1
Toys: Roland FA08, Novation Ultranova, Moog LP, Roland SP-404SX, Roland JX10,Emu MK6
www.bksband.com
www.echoesrocks.com
Re: What do you guys use for vocodor mic? [Re: Mogut] #2569914 02/06/14 04:54 PM
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 11,465
Synthoid Offline
10k Club
Offline
10k Club
Joined: Dec 2003
Posts: 11,465
Originally Posted By: Greg Gallant
awesome! Thanks guys, didnt even think of a headset mic


Definitely. A headset mic came with my Radias, although for the life of me... I cant' find it.

frown


When an eel hits your eye like a big pizza pie, that's a Moray.

Moderated by  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner 

Powered by UBB.threads™ PHP Forum Software 7.7.3