Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Page 29 of 29 < 1 2 ... 27 28 29
Topic Options
#2724563 - 09/29/15 03:07 PM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: tucktronix]
Brandon A Offline
Member

Registered: 09/27/15
Posts: 1
Hi all,

First time posting on the forums. I have a FA-08 that I use for both pads and organ sounds in the church band.

My question is this: What is the most ergonomic way to switch between the fast and slow Leslie effect?

Currently, I've set up the effect to latch on the S1 key, but it is a bit of a stretch at the end of the keyboard, and I have to take one hand off the keys. I would like to use a pedal to switch on/off the effect, but most keyboard-specific pedals are momentary. Is there a way to configure a momentary pedal to switch between fast and slow Leslie, or do I need to buy a more expensive latching pedal?

I'm open to other solutions if you've got them*, and I apologize if there is a simple method to do this that I couldn't figure out!

Thanks,

Brandon

*Note: I'd prefer not to buy a nice but pricey Leslie-simulator like the RT-20.

Top
KC Island
#2744711 - 01/04/16 06:29 AM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: Mr T, Sweden]
konaboy Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 09/23/02
Posts: 954
Hi chaps, sorry to bump an old thread but it was an excellent resource when I bought my FA08, and now I wanted to add a link to my video review series.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=i8ef11m8YS4&list=PL06yWTzEzyoJT3xX5BaQuZH7TFZOONyJz

Apologies for my terrible presentation skills, perhaps this will improve with time and practice... smile To compensate, the playing is not too shabby and I made an effort to capture a good quality audio recording of the instrument.

If you are considering the FA for it's acoustic or electric pianos then these vids might be informative and worth a watch. In upcoming episodes I will dig into the clavs, organs and synth tones.

cheers!


Edited by konaboy (01/04/16 06:42 AM)
_________________________
hang out with me at woody piano shack

Top
#2745961 - 01/10/16 08:57 AM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: konaboy]
konaboy Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 09/23/02
Posts: 954
My review of the tonewheel organs is up, the FA is as far as I am aware the only workstation in this price range to include a clonewheel organ. I believe it's basically the same old Roland VK emulation rebranded as "SuperNATURAL". It does a pretty decent job and I think this is captured in the video. I know a lot of guys are passionate about tonewheel emulations on this board so hopefully you will find it interesting!

https://youtu.be/iWno_8kJw4k
_________________________
hang out with me at woody piano shack

Top
#2745991 - 01/10/16 10:45 AM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: konaboy]
Nadroj Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 08/19/13
Posts: 1104
Loc: Edinburgh, Scotland
Thanks for the helpful vids Konaboy! I've had mines for over a year but I know from experience that vids like that are very handy for folks GASing all over Youtube over something they think they want...
_________________________
Nord E4 SW73 | Roland FA-06

Top
#2779173 - 05/15/16 08:20 PM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: Nadroj]
bill555 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 06/27/15
Posts: 76
Just a heads up to those not familiar, the FA-06 has the "cheapie" spring-action keys vs the weighted keys the FA-08 has. Night and day diff.

Top
#2785106 - 06/14/16 11:57 PM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: bill555]
bob_sd Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/24/14
Posts: 51
Loc: CA
So after a crappy experience with the VR09 I traded it in for an FA06 (approx 14 months ago)

I've gigged with the FA on several occasions as my upper synth/organs board (I've got an SV-1 on the bottom covering stage piano, electric piano, and clavs). Previously I used an Alesis Ion for my top board and while its organs certainly couldn't compare to the "not quite clone wheel" quality of the FA, the Ion allowed me to effectively map any parameter I wanted to the pitch wheel or two modulation wheels - resulting in Nord morph "like" affects.

Then steps in the FA. It's got decent organs (apart from some jaw dropping functionality omissions), but all in all for my purposes which includes performing live, I am unimpressed with the Supernatural synths. Not necessarily the sound quality, but rather I am unimpressed with the inability to assign synth parameters via cc to pitch/mod paddle, buttons, and knobs when used in a performance setting.

Obviously we all know that there is no good quality cost effective available solution for adding drawbar controllers to the supernatural organ, but also, unless I am completely missing the boat, it is not possible to assign controllers to any destinations in the supernatural synths - rather can only assign controllers to destinations of the current MFX effect.

So for instance, if I want use the pitch/mod joystick to change filter cutoff/resonance, etc on a Supernatural synth patch, I am out of luck. Not going to happen. Likewise I can't assign a knob to a CC to control key tracking on the filter.

I've found that really any of the cool performance options provided by the FA06 are only available if I'm willing to utilize the dated sound gen tech employed in Roland's earlier boards - which totally bums me out. Don't get me wrong, many of these still rock - it just puzzles me to no end that Roland releases a new product which much improve sounds but forgot to give us even 30% of the control we previously had to modify the old synth parameters in a live setting.

Hopefully one of you will tell me I have no idea what I'm talking about and all is indeed possible on the FA (without using the touchscreen - using that in a live situation to control parameters is a nonstarter and accident waiting to happen). But I'm not holding my breath. But it would sure be cool...

Top
#2785121 - 06/15/16 04:50 AM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: bob_sd]
DanL Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 09/22/05
Posts: 4244
Loc: DE
actually you can assign anything to the knobs, there is one setting in that matrix that is user parameters. You have to go into the studio set setup and assign them there.

Page 39 and 99 of the manual.
_________________________
Live: Roland FA-08, Nord Electro 5d Nord Lead A1
Toys: Novation Ultranova, Moog LP, Roland SP-404SX, Roland JX10,Emu MK6
www.bksband.com
www.echoesrocks.com

Top
#2785165 - 06/15/16 08:15 AM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: DanL]
BenWaB3 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/06/08
Posts: 160
Loc: Lancaster, PA
I just watched the Youtube video of the organ function. One thing that was missing was the C/V effect. Is that missing on the synth entirely? They abandoned the 76 note version on this one too, which seems to be a feature many keyboard players desire but manufacturers are ignoring lately.


Edited by BenWaB3 (06/15/16 08:16 AM)

Top
#2785184 - 06/15/16 10:22 AM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: BenWaB3]
MotiDave Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 12/04/12
Posts: 1820
Loc: San Diego, CA USA
Originally Posted By: BenWaB3
I just watched the Youtube video of the organ function. One thing that was missing was the C/V effect. Is that missing on the synth entirely? They abandoned the 76 note version on this one too, which seems to be a feature many keyboard players desire but manufacturers are ignoring lately.


Here Here, I echo your 73/76 Trumpet! the only option for far too many models is a 61 or an 88 fully weighted.

Only top of line boards seem to bother with the mid-board. perhaps ironic as lower priced boards sell alot more units (to amortize development/tooling costs). I'm sure someone in the business development team does math on this, what do I know.
_________________________
The baiting I do is purely for entertainment value. Please feel free to ignore it.

Top
#2785186 - 06/15/16 10:31 AM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: BenWaB3]
ABECK Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 01/22/01
Posts: 2687
Loc: Framingham,MA,UNITED STATES
Originally Posted By: BenWaB3
I just watched the Youtube video of the organ function. One thing that was missing was the C/V effect. Is that missing on the synth entirely?

I've never understood why this was omitted. Even the Jupiter's left it out. Frustrating. I add some tremolo and that works better than nothing. I compared it against my M3 and the rate and depth are close to the C3 setting. I also use the sub out for organs and route the sounds through a ventilator pedal (bypassing the internal sim). Sounds real nice.

Top
#2785674 - 06/17/16 06:20 PM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: DanL]
bob_sd Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 09/24/14
Posts: 51
Loc: CA
Originally Posted By: DanL
actually you can assign anything to the knobs, there is one setting in that matrix that is user parameters. You have to go into the studio set setup and assign them there.

Page 39 and 99 of the manual.


I wish this were the case. The problem is that the matrix is only available for the PCM sounds - not supernatural (synth and/or instrument). Realtime performance control assignments for the supernatural synths are virtually nonexistent - such a huge step back from the older PCM technology.

Re c/v - would love to know what Roland was thinking - something like - "hey guys, we absolutely cannot under any scenario cannibalize sales of the VR-09, so lets remove all physical realtime clone wheel controls. While we are at it, lets make sure that they can't assign any clone wheel controls. But we can't stop there, let's just remove a core piece of the clone wheel functionality altogether. Should we remove c/v or high trigger point? Why not both?"

Top
#2785848 - 06/19/16 12:22 AM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: bob_sd]
Bachus Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/14/15
Posts: 437
Originally Posted By: bob_sd
Originally Posted By: DanL
actually you can assign anything to the knobs, there is one setting in that matrix that is user parameters. You have to go into the studio set setup and assign them there.

Page 39 and 99 of the manual.


I wish this were the case. The problem is that the matrix is only available for the PCM sounds - not supernatural (synth and/or instrument). Realtime performance control assignments for the supernatural synths are virtually nonexistent - such a huge step back from the older PCM technology.

Re c/v - would love to know what Roland was thinking - something like - "hey guys, we absolutely cannot under any scenario cannibalize sales of the VR-09, so lets remove all physical realtime clone wheel controls. While we are at it, lets make sure that they can't assign any clone wheel controls. But we can't stop there, let's just remove a core piece of the clone wheel functionality altogether. Should we remove c/v or high trigger point? Why not both?"


Its not only Roland that does these things, yamaha is also a champ at these things, even in their top of the line products...
_________________________
Korg Kronos 88, Yamaha Tyros5 (76), Integra 7, macbook pro/mainstage

Top
#2786163 - 06/20/16 11:40 AM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: Bachus]
iluvchiclets Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/10/13
Posts: 329
Loc: Ontario, Canada
As a note regarding Chorus Vibrato, if you download the EXP-02 Keys Collection from the Roland Axial site there are a few patches that feature Hammond organ with C/V.

I found them to be a very useful addition to my FA06!
_________________________
Nord Electro 3, Roland System 1, NI Kontrol S49, Bass Station II, Komplete, Arturia V-Collection, Yamaha MX49, Kurz PC3, Korg Minilogue, drums, tons of guitars, amps, and pedals...

Top
#2786178 - 06/20/16 01:11 PM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: iluvchiclets]
ABECK Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 01/22/01
Posts: 2687
Loc: Framingham,MA,UNITED STATES
Ohh - I'm gonna give that a try. Thanks.

Top
#2819108 - 12/04/16 08:32 AM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: DanL]
AnotherScott Offline
10k Club

Registered: 10/19/09
Posts: 12582
Originally Posted By: DanL
Rik, yes, you can send program changes from the FA to the PC3. The limitation is that on the FA, there is no mapping of program numbers. Studio set 1 transmits to patch 1 of the external keyboard, 2 to 2, etc. You'll need to rearrange your PC3 sounds so when you send the program change from the FA, the right patch comes up on the PC3.

Could you get around that by using Songs on the FA?
_________________________
Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!

Top
#2819200 - 12/04/16 07:07 PM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: AnotherScott]
JimboKeys Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/25/11
Posts: 95
Loc: Raleigh NC
Quote:
Could you get around that by using Songs on the FA?
No -- in fact (IIRC), selecting a song (unlike selecting a Studio Set) sends out no MIDI data at all.

- Jimbo


Edited by JimboKeys (12/04/16 07:08 PM)
_________________________
"Itís called an expression pedal for a reason: Itís not a volume pedal." -- Dr. Lonnie Smith

Top
#2842463 - 03/17/17 10:53 AM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: JimboKeys]
Joe P Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 01/24/05
Posts: 2479
Loc: Long Valley, NJ
Over on the Roland Clan forum a guy posted an idea for running an effects pedal. You send the part to the sub out and send the pedal out to the audio in. This could be a good way to use a Vent.

Link

Top
#2842469 - 03/17/17 11:09 AM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: JimboKeys]
AnotherScott Offline
10k Club

Registered: 10/19/09
Posts: 12582
Originally Posted By: JimboKeys
Quote:
Could you get around that by using Songs on the FA?
No -- in fact (IIRC), selecting a song (unlike selecting a Studio Set) sends out no MIDI data at all.

According to the FA ref manual, you can embed MIDI Program Change messages as part of the Performance data in a track of a song. So in theory, I think you could create Songs that had no notes in them, but merely sent whatever Program Change you wanted to send. (You can also specify, for each track, whether MIDI data should be sent to the internal sound engine, an external sound module, both, or neither.) If anyone is up for trying this, I'd be curious to know how it works out.
_________________________
Maybe this is the best place for a shameless plug! Our new video at https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=3ZRC3b4p4EI is a 40 minute adaptation of T. S. Eliot's "Prufrock" - check it out!

Top
#2884347 - 10/10/17 11:59 PM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: Aidan]
Mighty Motif Max Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/14/16
Posts: 311
Loc: Northeastern MN, U.S.
Hey, I don't know if anyone has mentioned this previously, but I found a YouTube Tutorial that show how you can load Integra synth soundsets into the FA-series workstations.

_________________________
Yamaha: Motif XF8, YS200, CVP-305, CLP-130, YPG-235, PSR-295, MSR100, PSS-470. Korg Krome 61

Titano Virtuoso Converter, Resident Audio T4, Casio CT-370, Kimball Valencia/Broadway, Shure SM-57

Top
#2884527 - 10/11/17 07:55 PM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: Mighty Motif Max]
Fleer Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 08/21/17
Posts: 39
Cheers, MMM!

Top
#2884554 - 10/12/17 12:46 AM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: Fleer]
Roy68 Offline
Member

Registered: 10/11/17
Posts: 2
Hello guys, I have a question. I plugged the headphones in the sub output jack, of my FA 08, but I can't hear anything. What should I do? Thank you! just that on the manual it put the headphones photo in that output, and I wanted to try it ...

Top
#2884574 - 10/12/17 05:15 AM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: Roy68]
DanL Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 09/22/05
Posts: 4244
Loc: DE
I think you got this answered on the FA Facebook group? You have to route sounds to the sub output for anything to be heard.
_________________________
Live: Roland FA-08, Nord Electro 5d Nord Lead A1
Toys: Novation Ultranova, Moog LP, Roland SP-404SX, Roland JX10,Emu MK6
www.bksband.com
www.echoesrocks.com

Top
#2884596 - 10/12/17 07:37 AM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: DanL]
Roy68 Offline
Member

Registered: 10/11/17
Posts: 2
Ok DanL, I'll try it. Thanks

Top
#2919363 - 04/05/18 08:46 AM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: Roy68]
Nadroj Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 08/19/13
Posts: 1104
Loc: Edinburgh, Scotland
Just had a shot of the FA-07. Feels like a completely different instrument to the 06. I know it is, but the sounds even sounded different.

On my 06 the EPs are pretty much unusable for my tastes. On the 07 keybed however, they played like butter and gave me Nord levels of satisfaction. Pianos responded well, and organ felt smooth and satisfying. Half tempted to sell the 06 for the 07, it felt that much more playable. Fatar semi-weighted synth action apparently.
_________________________
Nord E4 SW73 | Roland FA-06

Top
#2919372 - 04/05/18 09:38 AM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: Nadroj]
RoccoD Offline
Member

Registered: 03/28/15
Posts: 21
Loc: New York
I did exactly that a few months ago...sold my FA-06 to get an FA-07. It was definitely worth the investment. The keybed action and the expanded number of keys was a no brainer, especially with the enhanced functionality of part group selection with the latest OS. It's my upper tier kbd in my live rig (on top of a MOXF8). In fact, it's good enough where I'm thinking of ditching the MOXF8 and just using the FA-07 (single board rig with Mainstage).

Top
#2919556 - 04/06/18 02:52 AM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: Nadroj]
stoken6 Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 05/12/12
Posts: 1887
Originally Posted By: Nadroj
Half tempted to sell the 06 for the 07, it felt that much more playable. Fatar semi-weighted synth action apparently.


I'd do it. You'll never look back! I tried my first 76-key synth as a teenager and lusted after one for years. That extra estate over my 5-octave boards was a real wake-up call..

I was so proud of my Ensoniq KS32 when I first got it. Heavy as anything, but an astonishing piano sample in 1MB.

Cheers, Mike.
_________________________
AX48.PM351.FC7.VFP2
One or two keyboards.

Top
#2919572 - 04/06/18 05:21 AM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: Brandon A]
aellison62 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/18/09
Posts: 391
Loc: Ohio
Originally Posted By: Brandon A
Hi all,

First time posting on the forums. I have a FA-08 that I use for both pads and organ sounds in the church band.

My question is this: What is the most ergonomic way to switch between the fast and slow Leslie effect?

Currently, I've set up the effect to latch on the S1 key, but it is a bit of a stretch at the end of the keyboard, and I have to take one hand off the keys. I would like to use a pedal to switch on/off the effect, but most keyboard-specific pedals are momentary. Is there a way to configure a momentary pedal to switch between fast and slow Leslie, or do I need to buy a more expensive latching pedal?

I'm open to other solutions if you've got them*, and I apologize if there is a simple method to do this that I couldn't figure out!

Thanks,

Brandon

*Note: I'd prefer not to buy a nice but pricey Leslie-simulator like the RT-20.


Brandon, welcome to the forum, your post kinda got lost for a while in this huge thread! I am not at my FA06 right now but I know for sure you can assign a switch pedal to control Leslie fast/slow speed. I can take a look later and offer a solution when I am at my FA06 or maybe someone else will beat me to it. That being said, I am really not impressed with Roland's rotary effect on their organs and I purchased a Lester K (not too expensive, can find used <$160). I routed the supernatural organs (there is about 5 programs of these) out of the sub out (without internal effects) and into the Lester K. It made a BIG difference.
_________________________
Kurzweil Forte 7, Roland FA06, Mojo 61, Kurzweil PC361,
Kronos X61

Top
#2919574 - 04/06/18 05:26 AM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: aellison62]
aellison62 Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 03/18/09
Posts: 391
Loc: Ohio
Also, Brandon, check out Roland Clan Forums, there is a section there specifically for FA- series with lots of questions and answers.
_________________________
Kurzweil Forte 7, Roland FA06, Mojo 61, Kurzweil PC361,
Kronos X61

Top
#2919577 - 04/06/18 05:51 AM Re: Roland FA-06 and FA-08 [Re: stoken6]
MotiDave Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 12/04/12
Posts: 1820
Loc: San Diego, CA USA
Originally Posted By: stoken6
Originally Posted By: Nadroj
Half tempted to sell the 06 for the 07, it felt that much more playable. Fatar semi-weighted synth action apparently.


I'd do it. You'll never look back! I tried my first 76-key synth as a teenager and lusted after one for years. That extra estate over my 5-octave boards was a real wake-up call..

I was so proud of my Ensoniq KS32 when I first got it. Heavy as anything, but an astonishing piano sample in 1MB.

Cheers, Mike.
Iíve been thinking about this FA-07 since it came out. I have an XF7 and MOXF6, the extra octave is nice.

On the flipside, the 6 can fly for free while the 7 usually costs $75 each way. I redesigned my set programs for my most frequent travel band to fit into the 6 layout, using more switching vs using more real estate. Now that i made the switch (same exact sounds), i use the 6 on local gigs too as its just easier to schlep in/out, it fits in a back seat horizontally, its less than half the weight, easier to one-hand on and off stage during fast set ups and strike ... etc etc.

FA-07 would be a great compliment for me and what i do. But then again, i think there might be something new and better coming out soon ... if I just wait a bit longer ... smile
_________________________
The baiting I do is purely for entertainment value. Please feel free to ignore it.

Top
Page 29 of 29 < 1 2 ... 27 28 29


Moderator:  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner