Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Page 45 of 47 < 1 2 ... 43 44 45 46 47 >
Topic Options
#2888408 - 11/03/17 09:09 AM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: Jason Fry]
M_G Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 07/17/09
Posts: 553
Loc: Germany

Yes
_________________________
Studio: Hammond A3, Roland FP90, Prophet 6, Yamaha Montage 7, Reface CP, Moog Subseq 37, Korg Wavedrum, KR55pro, Neo Vent
Live: Korg Grandstage 73, HX3-KM Controller, Leslie 760 (11pin-mod), KP500S

Top
KC Island
#2888526 - 11/04/17 07:11 AM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: M_G]
hardware Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 03/04/14
Posts: 1499
Loc: Macau
4.25 is a BETA?
No problems.
Looks like a good step again.

Thanks
_________________________
Magnus C350 + FMR RNP + Realistic Unisphere Mic

Top
#2888543 - 11/04/17 09:11 AM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: hardware]
M_G Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 07/17/09
Posts: 553
Loc: Germany

No, 4.25 is the latest final version.
It's out since April and running very stable
and sounds great!
_________________________
Studio: Hammond A3, Roland FP90, Prophet 6, Yamaha Montage 7, Reface CP, Moog Subseq 37, Korg Wavedrum, KR55pro, Neo Vent
Live: Korg Grandstage 73, HX3-KM Controller, Leslie 760 (11pin-mod), KP500S

Top
#2889851 - 11/12/17 06:21 AM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: Jason Fry]
Gary75 Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 12/04/03
Posts: 1581
Got my module. Quick question. It seems I need to power BX3 on first then module otherwise it's not detecting notes if I power hx3 on first. Is that normal?
_________________________
C3/122,Rhodes,D6,Juno6,Wurlitzer 200,MPC1000,KP3,KorgBX3/HX3/145,KorgM1,Roland System1,SL88Grand,Moog LP

Top
#2889883 - 11/12/17 09:33 AM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: Gary75]
Delaware Dave Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 04/21/11
Posts: 3146
Loc: Take a guess ....
Don't know, but why do you care? If that sequence of startup works 100% of the time does it really matter? Just follow that sequence. It might be that is what is normal for your 15+ year old BX3 and has nothing to do with your HX3.
_________________________
57 Hammond B3; 69 Hammond L100P; 68 Leslie 122; Kurzweil PC3; GEM Equinox; Voce V5+; Neo Vent; EV ELX112P; GSI Gemini Desktop Module; www.dyinbreedband.com
www.thewildthingsrock.webs.com

Top
#2889904 - 11/12/17 11:10 AM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: Delaware Dave]
Gary75 Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 12/04/03
Posts: 1581
Scrap that it was something else in chain


Edited by b3boy (11/12/17 11:20 AM)
_________________________
C3/122,Rhodes,D6,Juno6,Wurlitzer 200,MPC1000,KP3,KorgBX3/HX3/145,KorgM1,Roland System1,SL88Grand,Moog LP

Top
#2890461 - 11/15/17 12:42 PM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: Gary75]
Gary75 Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 12/04/03
Posts: 1581
Had a few days with HX3. Sounds great, chorus needs some adjustment. It's on factory at the moment, and I would say it's not any better than the KeyB Duo Mk1 from 2008 I had, in its current factory state. Not a bad thing. But I'd expect to be able to get closer to my C3, if I could be bothered to sit in a cold garage side by side with them.
_________________________
C3/122,Rhodes,D6,Juno6,Wurlitzer 200,MPC1000,KP3,KorgBX3/HX3/145,KorgM1,Roland System1,SL88Grand,Moog LP

Top
#2890502 - 11/15/17 04:10 PM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: Gary75]
Pete the bean Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/30/11
Posts: 73
Loc: Canada
Originally Posted By: b3boy
Had a few days with HX3. Sounds great, chorus needs some adjustment. It's on factory at the moment, and I would say it's not any better than the KeyB Duo Mk1 from 2008 I had, in its current factory state. Not a bad thing. But I'd expect to be able to get closer to my C3, if I could be bothered to sit in a cold garage side by side with them.


A UHL X3 would save you the sitting in the cold garage!
_________________________
Yamaha CP1 UHL X3-2 QSC K10's

Top
#2890508 - 11/15/17 04:50 PM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: Pete the bean]
Delaware Dave Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 04/21/11
Posts: 3146
Loc: Take a guess ....
Interesting, in your post about this (1 page back) one of your specific questions was chorus. This is why I recommended the Gemini over the HX3. The Gemini chorus is great right out of the box, the best I've heard on any clone. Instead you opted for the less than optimal HX3 chorus that you'll be tweaking to get right for three months..... SMH ...
_________________________
57 Hammond B3; 69 Hammond L100P; 68 Leslie 122; Kurzweil PC3; GEM Equinox; Voce V5+; Neo Vent; EV ELX112P; GSI Gemini Desktop Module; www.dyinbreedband.com
www.thewildthingsrock.webs.com

Top
#2890536 - 11/15/17 11:15 PM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: Delaware Dave]
Gary75 Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 12/04/03
Posts: 1581
Had to look up what smh meant. Is it 'so much hate' or 'shake my head'

Like all of them, they are good enough, happy to take the upgrade on the BX3 and happy not to purchase a Crumar product

You may think the chorus is great out of the Gemini box, I may not have the same opinion. A lot of people think tne HX3 is 'great out of the box", I may disagree. Opinions are like.....well you know the rest.
That's rather a precise tweak time you have given me.

When I asked about the switch on procedure being normal, your first two words were "Don't know", but then carried on anyway. Any need to have even replied?
Don't shake your head too much, concussion is a serious risk.







_________________________
C3/122,Rhodes,D6,Juno6,Wurlitzer 200,MPC1000,KP3,KorgBX3/HX3/145,KorgM1,Roland System1,SL88Grand,Moog LP

Top
#2890537 - 11/15/17 11:44 PM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: Gary75]
Markay Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 01/28/12
Posts: 3113
Loc: Australia
Don't have any experience with the HX3 but lots of experience with midi and software.

So the power up sequence for the HX3 requires the controller to be on first so the HX3 can sense it, identify the type of controller and configure itself for it as part of the HX3 boot sequence.

If the HX3 doesn't sense the type of controller if the HX3 is powered up first then that just means the HX3 is not "plug and play", although I guess you could go into the HX3 settings and select the connected controller.

No big deal as Dave said, keep to the power on sequence of controller first then HX3 and all good.

No different to the recommended sequence for booting a board, mixer and powered speaker.
_________________________
MainStage | Axiom 61 2nd Gen | Pianoteq | B5 | XK3c | EV ZLX 12P
"He helped me onto the bottom rung as a musician, from which, I might add, I never ascended" Glyn Johns - Sound Man

Top
#2890547 - 11/16/17 03:15 AM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: Delaware Dave]
TomKittel Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 07/09/13
Posts: 600
Originally Posted By: Delaware Dave
Instead you opted for the less than optimal HX3 chorus that you'll be tweaking to get right for three months..... SMH ...


Says someone who opted for a less than optimal Voce V5 which has a useless Chorus....

;-)

Top
#2890549 - 11/16/17 03:34 AM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: TomKittel]
Gary75 Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 12/04/03
Posts: 1581
The chorus at the moment sounds more like my friends 1950's B3, once again not a bad thing, but having used an early 70's C3 for 20 years, there's more going on with the chorus than the B3 my friend has. Other than that tne tone is really good, better than the KeyB, the C2D I owned the last ten years. Running it through a Speakeasy preamp into a 145 which will be my gig rig.
_________________________
C3/122,Rhodes,D6,Juno6,Wurlitzer 200,MPC1000,KP3,KorgBX3/HX3/145,KorgM1,Roland System1,SL88Grand,Moog LP

Top
#2890572 - 11/16/17 07:27 AM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: Gary75]
Delaware Dave Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 04/21/11
Posts: 3146
Loc: Take a guess ....
Originally Posted By: b3boy
Had to look up what smh meant. Is it 'so much hate' or 'shake my head'

Like all of them, they are good enough, happy to take the upgrade on the BX3 and happy not to purchase a Crumar product

You may think the chorus is great out of the Gemini box, I may not have the same opinion. A lot of people think tne HX3 is 'great out of the box", I may disagree. Opinions are like.....well you know the rest.
That's rather a precise tweak time you have given me.

When I asked about the switch on procedure being normal, your first two words were "Don't know", but then carried on anyway. Any need to have even replied?
Don't shake your head too much, concussion is a serious risk.

If you're going to quote me then fully quote me. I don't know the answer because, as I said in my quote, it could be the HX3 being the reason there needs to be a specific order, OR, it could be the BX3 needs to be turned on first, not sure. But the fact that you had a procedure that worked the question doesn't seem relevant given the BX3 is in the mix and it could be that driving it. Turns out it was neither one. Even Markay said this: "..No big deal as Dave said, keep to the power on sequence of controller first then HX3 and all good.
No different to the recommended sequence for booting a board, mixer and powered speaker..."
_________________________
57 Hammond B3; 69 Hammond L100P; 68 Leslie 122; Kurzweil PC3; GEM Equinox; Voce V5+; Neo Vent; EV ELX112P; GSI Gemini Desktop Module; www.dyinbreedband.com
www.thewildthingsrock.webs.com

Top
#2890573 - 11/16/17 07:30 AM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: TomKittel]
Delaware Dave Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 04/21/11
Posts: 3146
Loc: Take a guess ....
Originally Posted By: TomKittel
Originally Posted By: Delaware Dave
Instead you opted for the less than optimal HX3 chorus that you'll be tweaking to get right for three months..... SMH ...


Says someone who opted for a less than optimal Voce V5 which has a useless Chorus....

;-)
another half quoter.... I also said it wasn't optimal but better than the XM2's which was awful which is why I kept the Voce and scrapped the XM2. And the Voce's chorus is not useless, the xm2's is useless though. What I actually opted for was the Gemini module ......
_________________________
57 Hammond B3; 69 Hammond L100P; 68 Leslie 122; Kurzweil PC3; GEM Equinox; Voce V5+; Neo Vent; EV ELX112P; GSI Gemini Desktop Module; www.dyinbreedband.com
www.thewildthingsrock.webs.com

Top
#2917576 - 03/27/18 12:39 AM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: TKN]
TKN Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 12/30/11
Posts: 156
Loc: Norway


Edited by TKN (03/27/18 12:40 AM)

Top
#2917577 - 03/27/18 12:49 AM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: TKN]
hardware Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 03/04/14
Posts: 1499
Loc: Macau
Thats was a fun demo.
Traditionalist with taser and good feet.

So is that an A100 and HX-3 sharing parts?
His expression controlled both sources so had either had 2 x separate on one both. Hard to tell as they follow each other a lot.

Bet hes got a fun gig.

_________________________
Magnus C350 + FMR RNP + Realistic Unisphere Mic

Top
#2917606 - 03/27/18 06:26 AM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: Pete the bean]
bill bosco Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/20/14
Posts: 400
you couldn't go wrong with an x3

Top
#2917614 - 03/27/18 06:55 AM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: bill bosco]
Throbert Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 01/22/09
Posts: 871
Loc: Colorado
soon as I have budget to spare.
_________________________
Triton Extreme 76, Kawai ES3, GEM RPX, HX3 module/
Drawbar controller, Lynx Aurora 8/AES16e, MSI Z97 MPower/
4790K, OP-X PRO-II, Pianotec, Komplete 5.
I need a UAD quad and an IEM rig. More VIs

Top
#2917676 - 03/27/18 12:22 PM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: Throbert]
LX88 Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 10/16/10
Posts: 1924
Glad this thread is open again... I have had my ( latest) HX3 for about a year now, and there is a lot to like about it.

The CV adjustments nearly drove me crazy! I am glad I now have a Viscount Legend Live with no CV adjustment.

The HX3 CV ( 4.22 BTW) is good but I still think that the upper register could stand an update. Playback source is crucial but through some playback sources the vibrato " throb" is still too intense - starting around the highest " A" note through the highest " C".

The thing that separates the Mojo and the Legend is that there is none of this.

I do not have 4.25, not sure if that addresses this issue and I am also not sure that I am not the only one who notices this. The CV in the midrange is fine.

The thing I like about the HX3 and that makes me want to keep it is the clarity. The leslie sim is also excellent, but I still use CV alone the most - with no sim.

I would love to communicate this CV issue with some of the designers. Perhaps it can be resolved in my case. Tom at Diversi doesn't seem to get it... I have discussed it with him several times.

I am thinking of doing dual manual with HX3 lower and Legend Live upper manual. Best of both worlds....

Top
#2917700 - 03/27/18 03:26 PM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: LX88]
bill bosco Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 01/20/14
Posts: 400
the 4.25 was a very good update , did alot for the overall tone ,
, the c/v , not so much . the c/v sounds good and strong
in a loud stage mix though , not digital and nothing thin anywhere ,
and that's with the rotors stopped . very hammondy in that regard

Top
#2917752 - 03/27/18 09:59 PM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: bill bosco]
hardware Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 03/04/14
Posts: 1499
Loc: Macau
I use the Scope XITE-1 because for years you can use the SDK and tweak, create the synths, FX, Dynamics and mixers to your Hearts content.
Keyboard should release an SDK so everyone gets exactly what they want.
_________________________
Magnus C350 + FMR RNP + Realistic Unisphere Mic

Top
#2917822 - 03/28/18 09:26 AM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: hardware]
LX88 Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 10/16/10
Posts: 1924
I agree the HX3 works pretty well in a live context. Speaker selection and volume level have a lot to do with tone and response.

I have said many times - with clonewheels I generally like to use a full range speaker without a high frequency driver in the Mix.

With something like the EV Force 12'' ( somewhat of a classic I suppose) I get all the frequencies with none of the shrillness.

In an ideal situation, some EQing would be nice but in the real world, most of the time its just plug in and play.

The easiest thing to do is just plug into something like a powered monitor. For clonewheel 9 times out of 10 I will throw a t shirt over the horn, and see if I can't get what I need out of just the woofer.

That's why percussion volume control on the Legend Live is so neat. On the HX3 the percussion volume is deep into the edit screen, but adjustment is do-able.

The HX3 is a handy little thing to have. I can get a good practice session out of it using a cheap old Casio as a controller, using presets. Or I can add it to a board like anything Yamaha that has crappy organs and get a variety of organ sounds scrolling through presets.

Top
#2918058 - 03/29/18 12:59 PM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: LX88]
LX88 Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 10/16/10
Posts: 1924
I am finding that there is another way to smooth out the CV on the HX3.

Back the drawbars off from 888000000 to 777000000 or even 666000000. Then adjust percussion volume accordingly.

This takes care of the " throb" issue in the upper octave. It sounds relatively similar but pulling those bars out all the way on the HX3 creates a problem in the CV to my ear.

I do this all the time on my B-3, to increase the bass. I don't know why I didn't think it might affect the CV in the HX3 but it does. It smooths out those upper octave issues.

The HX3 CV is starting to sound pretty good. It only took me about a year....


Edited by LX88 (03/29/18 01:01 PM)

Top
#2918066 - 03/29/18 01:26 PM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: LX88]
davedoerfler Offline
KCFF League Champion 2017
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 12/27/12
Posts: 7870
Loc: the swamp
Originally Posted By: LX88
The HX3 CV is starting to sound pretty good. It only took me about a year....


Better late than never. smile
_________________________
The lack of insight in musically interesting progress displayed in this thread is ugly and mind numbing.
TV
It's easy to make a bad sound. Sometimes you can make a great sound.
Trent Reznor

Top
#2918123 - 03/29/18 06:49 PM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: LX88]
Al Coda Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 08/31/08
Posts: 4345
Loc: out in the sticks
Originally Posted By: LX88

The HX3 CV is starting to sound pretty good. It only took me about a year....


Yeah,- its a long way to the last 3 or 4 upper octave keys ...

coffee

A.C.

Top
#2918152 - 03/30/18 02:32 AM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: KRK]
Throbert Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 01/22/09
Posts: 871
Loc: Colorado
_________________________
Triton Extreme 76, Kawai ES3, GEM RPX, HX3 module/
Drawbar controller, Lynx Aurora 8/AES16e, MSI Z97 MPower/
4790K, OP-X PRO-II, Pianotec, Komplete 5.
I need a UAD quad and an IEM rig. More VIs

Top
#2918202 - 03/30/18 09:49 AM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: Throbert]
mate stubb Offline
Grand Poobah of the Trebuchet
10k Club

Registered: 10/26/03
Posts: 16222
Throbert, I'm completely confused.

Are you saying you are going to jumper pins from input to output midi jacks?

Doesn't sound right to me either. Even if you are only talking about normally unused pins that you want to use to carry power, the founding principle of midi was that the inputs are optically isolated, no? I don't know how all this would work.
_________________________
Moe
---
Kawai Novus: "Please feel surprised even more."

http://www.hotrodmotm.com

Top
#2918210 - 03/30/18 10:31 AM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: mate stubb]
LX88 Offline
Platinum Member

Registered: 10/16/10
Posts: 1924
Throber-

What is the controller you are referring to? Until I know that , I am not sure what this is about...

I had a friend who used to get Hammonds and then immediately start to tear them apart.A few times he got things to work ( like adding percussion to a Hammond model H) but in the end, all he had was a Hammond junkyard.

And on gigs , he really used to p..s people off because he had to do an individual - most of the time loud- soundcheck on his new " creations".

One time I watched him tear apart a very low serial number 1937 Model BC.I checked the Hammond age list and only a few people like Sal Azzerelli had older instruments than this. It should have been in a museum.

Fortunately, I rescued my model 30A Leslie from him - which had been paired with the BC.

He seemed to think that any Hammond that didn't have percussion or any leslie that didn't have two speeds was basically worthless or should be " modified".

For now, I am content to noodle on my HX3 or Viscount Legend solo in my backyard. The weather should be nice for the next 6 months or so in Oregon...

Top
#2918212 - 03/30/18 10:50 AM Re: HX3 MIDI expander module [Re: mate stubb]
Throbert Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 01/22/09
Posts: 871
Loc: Colorado
The HX3 module supplies power to the drawbar controller on pins 1,2 and 3. Pins 1 an 3 are normally
not used for MIDI data. Pins 1 an 3 are +VDC pin 2 is shield ground or -VDC. The HX3 modules in/out
port would be configured via jumpers as an out port, so both the drawbar controller and the module
would be sending data to the MIDI interface input.Tom at Diversi sent my diagrams to Christian at
Keyboard Partner

From: KeyboardPartner <info@keyboardpartner.de>
Date: Friday, March 30, 2018 at 6:31 AM
To: Administrator <info@diversi.us>
Subject: Re: FW: Jumpers on PL10

Hello Tom,

this wiring should work. There's only one small mistake (which doesn't matter so much): Pin 2 of the
MIDI Interface INPUT should not be wired to ground. According to MIDI Standard only outputs are
wired to ground.

Regards
Christian

So with Christians correction it comes out like this:
_________________________
Triton Extreme 76, Kawai ES3, GEM RPX, HX3 module/
Drawbar controller, Lynx Aurora 8/AES16e, MSI Z97 MPower/
4790K, OP-X PRO-II, Pianotec, Komplete 5.
I need a UAD quad and an IEM rig. More VIs

Top
Page 45 of 47 < 1 2 ... 43 44 45 46 47 >


Moderator:  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner