Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Page 1 of 3 1 2 3 >
Topic Options
#2496538 - 05/26/13 09:58 AM Lets talk about bad playing habits.
desertbluesman Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Near Phoenix Az
Here is mine;

I pick too hard on the strings, and spend lots of time playing lots of notes without pauses. So lately after hearing from other musical friends talking about moments of silence in any musical passage, it finally entered into my brain to start trying to add moments of silence to my licks.

Man it is hard to do when you are used to just jamming it out there note after note phrase after phrase without any pauses.

I was a bricklayer by trade, so after a day of handling hard heavy objects, I would have to force my hands to practice. Consequently my touch has been heavy all of my practicing days. Now that I have not laid any rocks, stones, or inserted baked and cast rectangular objects into walls for a while, it has finally dawned on me to lighten up..........

GP Island
#2496565 - 05/26/13 11:47 AM Re: Lets talk about bad playing habits. [Re: desertbluesman]
Larryz Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Hwy 49, California
Too many to list LOL. Some of which I refuse to give up, like fretting with my thumb...

#2496568 - 05/26/13 12:02 PM Re: Lets talk about bad playing habits. [Re: Larryz]
Bartholomew Offline

Loc: Montreal
Too many notes is my pet peeve with most amateur & semi-pro players so I intentionally avoid it - less is more. Too loud is also right up there along with having no rhythm.

Too fast usually means no feel in the music but it sounds tight because the notes are closer together. Several known players have been quoted as saying the space is as important as the sound. It's important to know what a "rest" is & when to use it.

My goal on any Lead is to plant the lines in the mind of the audience. Playing too many notes is a guarantee they won't remember anything.