Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2457484 - 12/20/12 06:59 AM Newbie here
soiu222 Offline

Loc: canada
Hello guys,i am new at this forum..some of my friends suggest to me that this forum is good and very helpful for you because i want to bacome a guitarist and thats why ichoose this forum..i hope you people help me and shared good and authentic tips about how i become a good guitarist...

GP Island
#2457495 - 12/20/12 07:25 AM Re: Newbie here [Re: soiu222]
Dannyalcatraz Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Dallas/FW Metroplex, Texas
I'm largely self-taught, but I took lessons for the better part of a year, and learned a hell of a lot of stuff...and faster than if I had jut been trying to figure it out on my own.

IOW, find a good teacher.

My FLMS- Murphy's Music in Irving, Tx

http://murphysmusictx.com/

#2457498 - 12/20/12 07:42 AM Re: Newbie here [Re: Dannyalcatraz]
Fred_C Offline
Gold Member

Loc: PA
Originally Posted By: Dannyalcatraz
I'm largely self-taught, but I took lessons for the better part of a year, and learned a hell of a lot of stuff...and faster than if I had jut been trying to figure it out on my own.

IOW, find a good teacher.

+1 on Danny's comments. IMO, a year's worth of lessons will do you a world of good. Find a teacher who teaches the genre of music you want to play . Not only will you have a much steeper (faster) learning curve, but you will probably avoid a lot of bad habits and errors in technique very early on. Good Luck and Welcome to the forum.

#2457516 - 12/20/12 08:45 AM Re: Newbie here [Re: Fred_C]
Fusker Offline
Platinum Member

Loc: Moscow, Idaho
+1 on both of the above,

Especially if this is your first instrument...

#2457573 - 12/20/12 12:28 PM Re: Newbie here [Re: Fusker]
Larryz Online   content
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Hwy 49, California