Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2454702 - 12/06/12 06:01 PM Modeling Amps?
Minte Offline

Loc: Madison
After playing nothing but classical for the last 10ish years,I just started playing electric again. The only amp I have is a vintage Fender sidekick reverb 20.

Are these modeling amps something worth looking at? If so,any recommendations would be much appreciated.

GP Island
#2454706 - 12/06/12 06:13 PM Re: Modeling Amps? [Re: Minte]
Larryz Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Hwy 49, California
Fender Mustang III...

#2454709 - 12/06/12 06:44 PM Re: Modeling Amps? [Re: Larryz]
picker Offline
10k Club

Loc: Near 12th Street and Vine...
Depends on what you want to do. They are quite versatile, and usually have some usable effects in the package. The programming of them can be pretty involved, and there are folks who don't think they sound quite natural. But, if you are looking for a practice amp with more than one sound in it, I'd say they can't be beaten for that. I like the Vox modelers myself.

#2454715 - 12/06/12 07:42 PM Re: Modeling Amps? [Re: picker]
russclan Offline

Partial to Tech 21 when it comes to modeling, their circuits are (supposed to be) all analog. I think they sound the best, but they're not cheap - the Trademark 30 is about $320. If I were in the market for a modeler, that's the one I'd get.

But, the technology is pretty good these days, and they all sound pretty good. The Line 6 Spider series are attractively priced, sound decent, and have built in effects.

Fender's Mustang III, as Larry mentioned, is nice too.

I think your best bet is to head over to the nearest GC and try them all out, and let your ears (and wallet) decide.

#2454721 - 12/06/12 08:37 PM Re: Modeling Amps? [Re: Minte]
Dannyalcatraz Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Dallas/FW Metroplex, Texas
Depending on your setup and goals, you may want to go with an amp and a multieffects pedal.