Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#2452785 - 11/28/12 10:30 PM Stuck in a Rut.
_LittleBuster_ Offline

Loc: Chattanooga, TN
Well guys, I am in a rut. I dont really know what to do.
First I will start with I have never taken any lessons, I am completely self taught.
I know my basic chords and a few scales, and I have even taken a Music theory class when I was in school.
I wouldnt call myself a novice, maybe one step up from there.
Basically I dont know how to make my own music. Is there some guide to what sounds relatively good together or do I need to just keep playing with until I find my own sound?
I havent played with many people, considering I dont really know how. For example, I was playing with my cousins band, nothing serious, While they were jammin away on their respective instruments I just kinda stood there. I didnt know where to go or even what to do. I felt like an idiot.
I dont have a problem with playing, I can generally play most of the songs I have tried to learn(through Tabs).

I just feel like I am missing something. All the things I have learned arent meshing together or something.

Can anyone give me some advice on how they took their guitar playing to the next level?

GP Island
#2452792 - 11/28/12 11:57 PM Re: Stuck in a Rut. [Re: _LittleBuster_]
Dannyalcatraz Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Dallas/FW Metroplex, Texas
We have a lot in common. While I have some formal training, it is almost all on another insturment, not guitar.

How I found myself on guitar...well, its an ongoing process. Personally, I started by learning songs I liked- and some I didn't- by others.

Then I found a tuning that unlocked my past education- something that probably doesn't apply to you- which increased my comfort and practice time.