Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Page 2 of 2 < 1 2
Topic Options
#2453176 - 11/30/12 02:05 PM Re: Stuck in a Rut. [Re: Fred_C]
p90junior Offline

Originally Posted By: Fred_C
Originally Posted By: _LittleBuster_
I am overwhelmed with all the advice and support.
To be honest I wasnt expecting this at all. Im gonna poke around on the site Caevan suggested(as well as here) and see where it goes. If I still have some trouble I am gonna try getting a teacher. I will get this and nothing can stop me.

Remember to enjoy the journey for the journey's sake. The road goes on forever, so take the time to enjoy the scenery, sniff the flowers, pet the dogs, and speak to people you meet along the way. Next year (2013) I will have been playing for 50 (!) years and I am still learning. It really is a beautiful and expressive instrument. smile

It really is the best instrument (if I may say so with bias). Portable, polyphonic, fingers directly on strings...

GP Island
#2453199 - 11/30/12 04:50 PM Re: Stuck in a Rut. [Re: _LittleBuster_]
Bill@Welcome Home Studios Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Originally Posted By: _LittleBuster_
Well guys, I am in a rut. I dont really know what to do.
First I will start with I have never taken any lessons, I am completely self taught.
I know my basic chords and a few scales, and I have even taken a Music theory class when I was in school.
I wouldnt call myself a novice, maybe one step up from there.
Basically I don't know how to make my own music. ...

I started out as an art major. One of my painting teachers said, "School? You don't need to be in school, you need to get a garret and paint!"

Stephen King, when asked, "How do you become a writer?" replied, "You don't 'become' a writer, you write because you have to write. You don't have any choice."

The point to both of these quotes is that if you have something to say, you need to start saying it in your chosen medium.