Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Page 1 of 2 1 2 >
Topic Options
#2449448 - 11/10/12 07:44 PM Do You Consider Yourself............
A McLeod III Offline

Loc: NawthEastern NC
.......an electric guitarist

.......an acoustic guitarist

or

.......a "guitarist"?

Just my opinion, it seems pretty damned limiting if you select just one or the other. Yes there are probably some techniques that are more prevalent between the two but.....

.......there are far more similarities than differences. Can the two really be distinguished? Personally, I'm a guitarist. I play and "teach" fingerstyle acoustic (classical and steel string), flat pick acoustic, electric (rhythm and lead). I feel comfortable in saying "I'm a guitarist". I have a lot of colleagues that heartily disagree with this logic however.

Your oppinions smile

GP Island
#2449451 - 11/10/12 08:05 PM Re: Do You Consider Yourself............ [Re: A McLeod III]
Dannyalcatraz Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: Dallas/FW Metroplex, Texas
Segovia probably wouldn't consider the electric guitar a guitar.

Me? I just call myself a guitarist.

My FLMS- Murphy's Music in Irving, Tx

http://murphysmusictx.com/

#2449469 - 11/10/12 11:36 PM Re: Do You Consider Yourself............ [Re: Dannyalcatraz]
Caevan O'Shite Offline
20k Club

Loc: The Great Spirit's Handprint o...
I'm a guitarist; though for a while now I've been more of an electric player than acoustic. But there was a time it was much the other way around.

~ Caevan James-Michael Miller-O'Shite ~
_ ___ _ Leprechaun, Esquire _ ___ _

#2449487 - 11/11/12 05:47 AM Re: Do You Consider Yourself............ [Re: A McLeod III]
Fred_C Offline
Gold Member

Loc: PA
Hi,