Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2412771 - 05/19/12 09:13 AM Tascam Portastudio 244
Chad Thorne Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/15/01
Posts: 6322
Loc: Pittston, Maine, USA
Just bought one of these at a yard sale this morning for $5.00. Here's my question: Assuming it works perfectly, how stupid am I?
_________________________


Top
#2412795 - 05/19/12 11:00 AM Re: Tascam Portastudio 244 [Re: Chad Thorne]
A String Administrator Offline
Admin
10k Club

Registered: 12/18/03
Posts: 12004
Loc: Ontario, Canada
I owned a Porta Studio 05, for years. I learned the basics of mixing on that thing.

To be honest, with digital interfaces on our computers, four tracks aren't really needed much anymore. However, the 244 is a nice little machine and wee worth playing around with, especially if it works and only cost you $5.
_________________________
Craig
The String Network Forums
My Music
My Pics

Top
#2412798 - 05/19/12 11:17 AM Re: Tascam Portastudio 244 [Re: A String]
Griffinator Moderator Offline
TPS cook & bottle washer
20k Club

Registered: 03/28/02
Posts: 20318
Loc: Lynchburg, VA, USA
Five bucks? Nah. Not stupid at all. Hell, it's a working cassette player for that price. Might need it someday to play a cassette!

Top
#2412803 - 05/19/12 11:27 AM Re: Tascam Portastudio 244 [Re: Griffinator]
Chad Thorne Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/15/01
Posts: 6322
Loc: Pittston, Maine, USA
Nope, I have a nice double cassette deck. I have yet to sort through my cassettes and digitize the ones I want to keep.

My thought was to fool around with analog recording and put one or more tracks through my Lexicon Omega interface, see what happens.
_________________________


Top
#2412804 - 05/19/12 11:44 AM Re: Tascam Portastudio 244 [Re: Chad Thorne]
Griffinator Moderator Offline
TPS cook & bottle washer
20k Club

Registered: 03/28/02
Posts: 20318
Loc: Lynchburg, VA, USA
If you've got some nice old CrO2 blank tapes, you can have a bit of fun with it. Don't expect miracles, but...

Top
#2426444 - 07/17/12 04:29 PM Re: Tascam Portastudio 244 [Re: Griffinator]
Chad Thorne Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/15/01
Posts: 6322
Loc: Pittston, Maine, USA
Update: Opened up the 244 today to discover the little belts were in place and seemed to be in good shape. Turned it right-side up, plugged it in, turned it on, and discovered..........

Hahahahahahahaha!

...I just needed to push on the control buttons a little harder! Everything works! I'm off to fetch a microphone. More later...
_________________________


Top


Moderator:  Griffinator, Griffinator