Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2402442 - 04/09/12 09:32 AM Not enough gain in my preamps
Brilliant Offline
Gold Member

Loc: Port Arthur, TX, UNITED STATES
I'm just a home hobbyist. I've only got one mic, an SM-57

Recently I've been playing around recording my vocals, however I don't seem to have enough gain on my preamps. In order to get a good signal to my recorder (either an AW4416 or computer DAW) I have to crank the preamp & insert a compressor to boost the gain.

This leads to a lot of his in the recording. I can strip out the silent parts, but the hiss is audible even while I'm singing. I can eq it out, but I'm thinking I shouldn't have to.

I've heard many people rave about the preamps on the AW4416; & I've heard the pres on the mBox Pro 2 ain't bad.

So why am I getting all this hiss?

Yes, I've had this gear for a long time, just never tried to record vocals. Usually mic'ng a guitar amp & I've had plenty of gain for that, even have to use the pad sometimes.

Any ideas?

#2402490 - 04/09/12 11:56 AM Re: Not enough gain in my preamps [Re: Brilliant]
Griffinator Moderator Offline
TPS cook & bottle washer
20k Club

Loc: Lynchburg, VA, USA
Quite simply, an SM-57 isn't an ideal mic for recording vocals unless the vocalist is a real screamer and you need the extra headroom a low-output dynamic mic offers versus a condenser mic.

It would be worth your while to invest even the $60-70 in an inexpensive large-diaphragm condenser mic for recording vocals (you'll find it useful on acoustic instruments as well) to go with your 57, which is ideal for micing guitar amps, snares, hi-hats, and other extremely loud sounds.

#2402492 - 04/09/12 12:00 PM Re: Not enough gain in my preamps [Re: Griffinator]
Brilliant Offline
Gold Member

Originally Posted By: Griffinator
... you need the extra headroom a low-output dynamic mic offers versus a condenser mic.

Don't know if I follow.