Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Page 23 of 23 < 1 2 ... 21 22 23
Topic Options
#2878818 - 09/13/17 07:04 AM Re: Dig My Rig--Let's see your setup! [Re: Michael Wright]
vonnor Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 01/02/14
Posts: 650
Loc: Centreville, VA USA
So over on another forum, So_Godly (Sven) - don't know if he visits here, posted a pic of his rig with a very cool looking keyboard stand. He says it was made by Ruka back in the 90's. Anybody seen these before?

There's a few more pix at Cantabile Forums.

Can't even find this on Google pix.



~ vonnor


Edited by vonnor (09/13/17 07:07 AM)
Edit Reason: Redundant redundancy removed...
_________________________
Gear:
Nord Stage 2 - 76, Korg Kronos 2, Roland Fantom XR, Yamaha Motif Rack ES
Dell Inspiron 13: Cantabile 3

Top
KC Island
#2878927 - 09/13/17 02:07 PM Re: Dig My Rig--Let's see your setup! [Re: vonnor]
Dave Bryce Administrator Offline
KCFFL Champ '14, '16
10k Club

Registered: 09/24/00
Posts: 18914
Loc: Thousand Oaks,CA,UNITED STATES
Loving my current playpen rig. Way, way too much fun. boing



Left to right (top to bottom):
Korg Kronos, Crumar Mojo61 (with lower manual), Mellotron 4000D rack (under Mac monitor), Animal, DSI Pro2, Roland D-50, Kurzweil PC3K8, MiniMoog, Eventide H9 Max, DSI PolyEvolver (MIDI'd to Mini with Kenton interface), Kurzweil FORTE 7, Alesis Ion (triggering Mellotron).

dB
_________________________
snax

rockit ==> ReverbNation SoundCloud <==rawk


Professional affiliations: Amphion Loudspeakers Cloud Microphones Crumar/GSi elysia GmbH Roswell Pro Audio TK Audio...and Electronic Musician

Top
#2878937 - 09/13/17 02:32 PM Re: Dig My Rig--Let's see your setup! [Re: Dave Bryce]
Michael Wright Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 01/05/12
Posts: 2654
Nice room! like
_________________________
ignore noise
Website
Mike

Top
#2878941 - 09/13/17 03:18 PM Re: Dig My Rig--Let's see your setup! [Re: Dave Bryce]
Markyboard Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 02/10/01
Posts: 4897
Loc: Springfield, Virginia
Originally Posted By: Dave Bryce
Loving my current playpen rig. Way, way too much fun. boing



Left to right (top to bottom):
Korg Kronos, Crumar Mojo61 (with lower manual), Mellotron 4000D rack (under Mac monitor), Animal, DSI Pro2, Roland D-50, Kurzweil PC3K8, MiniMoog, Eventide H9 Max, DSI PolyEvolver (MIDI'd to Mini with Kenton interface), Kurzweil FORTE 7, Alesis Ion (triggering Mellotron).

dB


Love how the mini Seems to Lord over the room- very Wakeman like twothumbs
No Andromeda?

Top
#2878943 - 09/13/17 03:26 PM Re: Dig My Rig--Let's see your setup! [Re: Markyboard]
Dave Bryce Administrator Offline
KCFFL Champ '14, '16
10k Club

Registered: 09/24/00
Posts: 18914
Loc: Thousand Oaks,CA,UNITED STATES
Originally Posted By: Michael Wright
Nice room! like


Thanks. There's a bunch of recording stuff to the left of the Big Rig as well, and a few more keyboards and modules scattered about.



Originally Posted By: Markyboard
No Andromeda?

Both need some work. The red one won't even boot at the moment. rolleyes

It's actually in the rack to the right of the pic, with a Quadrasynth (always loaded with my precious Vintage Synths QCard), another PEK and the PX-5S.



dB
_________________________
snax

rockit ==> ReverbNation SoundCloud <==rawk


Professional affiliations: Amphion Loudspeakers Cloud Microphones Crumar/GSi elysia GmbH Roswell Pro Audio TK Audio...and Electronic Musician

Top
#2878945 - 09/13/17 03:35 PM Re: Dig My Rig--Let's see your setup! [Re: Dave Bryce]
Aussie_Chicago Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 06/24/13
Posts: 579
Loc: Chicago, Illinois
Originally Posted By: Dave Bryce
Loving my current playpen rig. Way, way too much fun. boing



Left to right (top to bottom):
Korg Kronos, Crumar Mojo61 (with lower manual), Mellotron 4000D rack (under Mac monitor), Animal, DSI Pro2, Roland D-50, Kurzweil PC3K8, MiniMoog, Eventide H9 Max, DSI PolyEvolver (MIDI'd to Mini with Kenton interface), Kurzweil FORTE 7, Alesis Ion (triggering Mellotron).

dB


Wheres the Hammond A100 ?
_________________________
"Ive been playing Hammond since long before anybody paid me to play one, I didn't do it to be cool, I didnt do it to make a statement......I just liked it "

Top
#2878946 - 09/13/17 03:37 PM Re: Dig My Rig--Let's see your setup! [Re: BrandonBruce]
Aussie_Chicago Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 06/24/13
Posts: 579
Loc: Chicago, Illinois
Originally Posted By: BrandonBruce
I made a 360 pano of my music room:

My Home Rig 360


Awesome setup, very similair to mine. I should figure out how to do the 360 thing...
_________________________
"Ive been playing Hammond since long before anybody paid me to play one, I didn't do it to be cool, I didnt do it to make a statement......I just liked it "

Top
#2878947 - 09/13/17 03:39 PM Re: Dig My Rig--Let's see your setup! [Re: Aussie_Chicago]
Dave Bryce Administrator Offline
KCFFL Champ '14, '16
10k Club

Registered: 09/24/00
Posts: 18914
Loc: Thousand Oaks,CA,UNITED STATES
Originally Posted By: Aussie_Chicago
Wheres the Hammond A100 ?

In a different room.



Quote:
I should figure out how to do the 360 thing...


Me, too.

dB
_________________________
snax

rockit ==> ReverbNation SoundCloud <==rawk


Professional affiliations: Amphion Loudspeakers Cloud Microphones Crumar/GSi elysia GmbH Roswell Pro Audio TK Audio...and Electronic Musician

Top
#2878948 - 09/13/17 03:40 PM Re: Dig My Rig--Let's see your setup! [Re: JWhllr]
Aussie_Chicago Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 06/24/13
Posts: 579
Loc: Chicago, Illinois
Originally Posted By: JWhllr
Some updates. Primarily the Viscount Legend. Getting the 1122 connector to get the Leslie up and running with it, looking forward to that coming in! Kronos packed away hoping someone buys it. Electro 4 HP in gig bag to chuck in the car at a moments notice.



I am also using the 1122 from the Legend to run a 142. Perfect setup, to control both the Leslie and the internal sim to FOH if needed. I also have a Lounsberry Tall and Fat in the effects loop . Im also from Melbourne originally, my long lost son maybe ??? haha
_________________________
"Ive been playing Hammond since long before anybody paid me to play one, I didn't do it to be cool, I didnt do it to make a statement......I just liked it "

Top
#2878957 - 09/13/17 04:46 PM Re: Dig My Rig--Let's see your setup! [Re: Aussie_Chicago]
PianoMan51 Offline
Gold Member

Registered: 02/02/10
Posts: 855
Loc: SE NC marsh
Would it be conceivable for this forum to have a permanent topic:

For Family, Significant Others, and Friends: WHAT THE OTHER GUYS HAVE!

Think about it. "Honey, it's not too much to spend! Just go to KC and see WHAT THE OTHER GUYS HAVE!"

(For the sake of fairness, perhaps someone can de-misogynize my wording.) wave

Top
#2878958 - 09/13/17 04:59 PM Re: Dig My Rig--Let's see your setup! [Re: Dave Bryce]
The Real MC Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/17/05
Posts: 4561
Loc: Secluded Tranquil NY Wine Coun...
Originally Posted By: Dave Bryce

Originally Posted By: Markyboard
No Andromeda?

Both need some work. The red one won't even boot at the moment. rolleyes


Has the battery on the processor board been replaced? A dying battery can hose the firmware.

I had to replace the battery in mine some years ago. They have about a ten year life.

Top
#2878982 - 09/13/17 06:32 PM Re: Dig My Rig--Let's see your setup! [Re: The Real MC]
Dave Bryce Administrator Offline
KCFFL Champ '14, '16
10k Club

Registered: 09/24/00
Posts: 18914
Loc: Thousand Oaks,CA,UNITED STATES
Originally Posted By: The Real MC
Has the battery on the processor board been replaced? A dying battery can hose the firmware.

I had to replace the battery in mine some years ago. They have about a ten year life.

I suppose that's possible. It's the first one that was ever shown publicly at the 2000 NAMM show. Not a production model. You probably played it....

It won't get past the boot screen, so that could be a firmware issue. What kind of battery? Easy to replace?

dB
_________________________
snax

rockit ==> ReverbNation SoundCloud <==rawk


Professional affiliations: Amphion Loudspeakers Cloud Microphones Crumar/GSi elysia GmbH Roswell Pro Audio TK Audio...and Electronic Musician

Top
#2878991 - 09/13/17 06:58 PM Re: Dig My Rig--Let's see your setup! [Re: Dave Bryce]
BrandonBruce Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 04/26/16
Posts: 187
Loc: Ontario (ON)
Originally Posted By: Dave Bryce
Loving my current playpen rig. Way, way too much fun. boing



Left to right (top to bottom):
Korg Kronos, Crumar Mojo61 (with lower manual), Mellotron 4000D rack (under Mac monitor), Animal, DSI Pro2, Roland D-50, Kurzweil PC3K8, MiniMoog, Eventide H9 Max, DSI PolyEvolver (MIDI'd to Mini with Kenton interface), Kurzweil FORTE 7, Alesis Ion (triggering Mellotron).

dB


Killer setup and I like your other room with the Hammond and piano. I'm considering the lower manual for my Mojo 61.
_________________________
Hammond B3, 122 RV, PR20
Wurlitzer 200A, Rhodes Stage Mk I, Clavinet D6,
Mojo 61, Yamaha CP40, Yamaha DX7

Top
#2879005 - 09/13/17 08:23 PM Re: Dig My Rig--Let's see your setup! [Re: Aussie_Chicago]
JWhllr Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 08/30/15
Posts: 141
Loc: Melbourne, Australia
Originally Posted By: Aussie_Chicago
Originally Posted By: JWhllr
Some updates. Primarily the Viscount Legend. Getting the 1122 connector to get the Leslie up and running with it, looking forward to that coming in! Kronos packed away hoping someone buys it. Electro 4 HP in gig bag to chuck in the car at a moments notice.



I am also using the 1122 from the Legend to run a 142. Perfect setup, to control both the Leslie and the internal sim to FOH if needed. I also have a Lounsberry Tall and Fat in the effects loop . Im also from Melbourne originally, my long lost son maybe ??? haha


Hahaha, perhaps! How do you find the Lounsberry working with the 142? I'm at the point where I feel like my setup is just one step away from a real console soundwise, and that's a schelp I ain't happy with! I play boogaloo, funk, jazz (LHB all the way).
_________________________
Viscount Legend, Leslie 142, Nord Electro 4HP, Rhodes MK1 1977, Wurlitzer 200, Fender Deluxe Reverb, Moog Sub 37, Dave Smith Rev2, Nord Lead A1

Top
#2879051 - 09/14/17 03:32 AM Re: Dig My Rig--Let's see your setup! [Re: Dave Bryce]
Markyboard Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 02/10/01
Posts: 4897
Loc: Springfield, Virginia
Originally Posted By: Dave Bryce

It won't get past the boot screen, so that could be a firmware issue. What kind of battery? Easy to replace? dB


CR2032 - only it's the solder tab variety. Btw I'm not sure how a bad battery can "hose the firmware" unless the firmware is stored in the non-volatile S-RAM? Guess I'm due to be schooled by Michael - once again.

Good link here for changing over to a battery holder: I'll take this on shortly as I also need to replace a flaky pot.


Top
#2879128 - 09/14/17 08:02 AM Re: Dig My Rig--Let's see your setup! [Re: Dave Bryce]
The Real MC Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 05/17/05
Posts: 4561
Loc: Secluded Tranquil NY Wine Coun...
Originally Posted By: Dave Bryce
It's the first one that was ever shown publicly at the 2000 NAMM show. Not a production model. You probably played it....


I did play that one at the show. Shortly before that NAMM show, Peake brought over a blue panel prototype to Dave Kean's place where I was staying.

Originally Posted By: Markyboard
Originally Posted By: Dave Bryce

It won't get past the boot screen, so that could be a firmware issue. What kind of battery? Easy to replace? dB


CR2032 - only it's the solder tab variety. Btw I'm not sure how a bad battery can "hose the firmware" unless the firmware is stored in the non-volatile S-RAM? Guess I'm due to be schooled by Michael - once again.

Good link here for changing over to a battery holder: I'll take this on shortly as I also need to replace a flaky pot.



Yup, the 2x32 variety. Markyboard's link is accurate.

Firmware is stored in flash memory, but the battery backed RAM holds not just patches but some system parameters. If the battery goes south, the system may be unable to boot. Pretty common ailment for most gear, not just synths but effect devices too.

You have to be cautious unsoldering the old battery as they can explode from too much heat from the soldering iron tip. Leave this job to a tech; ask him to install a battery holder. Doesn't take much time so not an expensive fix. Battery holder makes it a lot easier to replace the battery, save your patch memory before you do this.

You can get longer battery life using the 2450 instead of the 2032. 2450 is the same voltage but double the mAh (milliamp per hour) rating. It's a larger battery so the socket has to fit it. I've been using the 2450 in place of 2032 with no trouble.

Good table of coin cell ratings

Tell your tech to be very careful with assembly of ribbon cables in the Andromeda. It is easy to offset a socket to the header pins by mistake. I did that and zapped the digital FX chip.

Top
#2879141 - 09/14/17 08:27 AM Re: Dig My Rig--Let's see your setup! [Re: The Real MC]
Franz Schiller Offline
Senior Member

Registered: 05/20/11
Posts: 351
Loc: New Jersey
I just started a new band, a synth/drum duo. Although I don't play the organ per se, I'm so used to the action and ergonomic, I still use the C2 as a controller. So I built a rack that sits on top that holds all my synth modules and stuff.

The KMI 12-step on the floor controls the iPad mini (Focusrite iTrack).

SynthRig by Patrick Suler, on Flickr


Edited by Franz Schiller (09/14/17 08:30 AM)

Top
#2879147 - 09/14/17 08:49 AM Re: Dig My Rig--Let's see your setup! [Re: The Real MC]
Markyboard Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Registered: 02/10/01
Posts: 4897
Loc: Springfield, Virginia

Beautiful Franz! I love well thought out compact ergonomics.
like


Originally Posted By: The Real MC

Firmware is stored in flash memory, but the battery backed RAM holds not just patches but some system parameters. If the battery goes south, the system may be unable to boot. Pretty common ailment for most gear, not just synths but effect devices too.

Never knew that. So it's not really firmware per se but still boot dependable critical parameters- interesting.

Originally Posted By: The Real MC
You can get longer battery life using the 2450 instead of the 2032. 2450 is the same voltage but double the mAh (milliamp per hour) rating. It's a larger battery so the socket has to fit it. I've been using the 2450 in place of 2032 with no trouble.


Never knew this either - thanks!

Top
Page 23 of 23 < 1 2 ... 21 22 23


Moderator:  Dave Bryce, Stephen Fortner