Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2324365 - 07/25/11 11:39 AM Roland FP-4F Review
Jazz+ Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

I am a pianist and play a variety of Steinway, Yamaha, Baldwin and Mason & Hamlin pianos and Roland, Yamaha and Casio digital pianos on a daily basis . I have owned the the older FP-4 model for years and have recently purchased the newer FP-4F model. The piano sampling is improved with a better longer sustain, more legato response, a darker and fatter tone, seems more natural or "organic" sounding.... however the new FP-4F's action is very disappointing. It's sluggish and physically tiring to play. I can play Chopin Etudes on the old FP4 action with out straining but I become quickly tired on the over weighted new FP-4 action. It is a strain to play it for more than a few minutes. My wrist tendinitis came back after playing the FP-4F action for a for a few minutes. It feels stiff and resistant, the keys don't bounce back or move as fast as the easier to play FP-4 original action or as on my Mason & Hamlin grand or any of the acoustic pianos I usually I play for that matter.

Also, they have not included an editable Effects generator on the new FP-4F, whereas the old FP-4 had a sophisticated library of effects. Also, there is no volume balance control for when in Split Mode, so if the bass for the left hand is too loud or too soft you are stuck because there is absolutely no way to adjust the balance between the split sounds. They also did not include an On Off switch for the internal speakers.

KC Island
#2324374 - 07/25/11 12:13 PM Re: Roland FP4 Review [Re: Jazz+]
Michelle (ggurl) Offline
MP Hall of Fame Member

Loc: near San Francisco