Music Player Network Home Guitar Player Magazine Keyboard Magazine Bass Player Magazine EQ Magazine
Topic Options
#2287043 - 03/28/11 07:39 PM Ideal recording studio floor plans and acoustics...
Red1 Offline

Hello. This is my first time at this forum and this will be my first post.

Now, I have been thinking about building a house in the countryside a few years from now and putting an attachable recording studio alongside it. In the meantime, I have been amateurishly designing the floor plans. It will have a main studio room, a control room and a separate mastering suite. I have been told that in designing the studio room, it is the best idea to have non-parallel walls and/or angled ceilings, so as to keep the sound from reflecting off of one another. I also know, of course, that it is absolutely necessary to acoustically treat a recording studio as well. So with all of this in mind, I had an idea of designing a pentagon-shaped studio room, with the control room and mastering suite more or less of a rectangle shape, with one set of parallel walls about 6 feet longer than the other set.